We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the Glenburn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You can't beat the Glenburn!”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I have never had any complaints about the Glenburn. It is excellent value for money. The chef should be commended for the excellent variety and presentation of meals. I have always found the service to be first class in the restaurant. All the Hotel staff are very helpful, efficient and pleasant. The Hotel is in an excellent location with beautiful views. I wanted to go back in October but the Glenburn is fully booked.
Why must people complain when they are paying a very reasonable price? 'Get a life' I say!
I, personally, can't wait to get back to the Glenburn!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    360
    165
    61
    48
See reviews for
140
468
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Well we booked the saturday before we went paying just £159.99 plus £20.00 for sea view room - and we had a great time. Brill value for money and only the 2nd time we have been with Shearings. the room was rather dated but functional and had a brilliant view. we also had a very cheeky seagull who come every day and actually tapped on the window for food, how funny was he! The hotel was fine and in the most lovely setting. the staff were great with the exception of one lady receptionist who was rather tardy. The trip to Mull of Kintyre was great, went on 2 car ferrys, views fantastic however Campbelltown was a big let down. Mostly because it is just an ordinary place and does not cater for tourists. A long way to go for so little. The coach driver did many photo stops at some brilliant places, was very informative and alas is told by Shearings where he has to take us. I would recomment that Shearings make the lunchstop at Tarbet as that looked lovely and cut down the travelling time around Kintyre. We would use Shearings again and the weather was fab.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We booked a late deal four night stay with Shearings - dinner, B&B, two coach excursions for £150 each inc a £20 premium for sea view room. At that price expectations should and must be modest. The hotel is in a great location - the sea views are breathtaking. Rothesay, Ascog gardens, Ardencraig gardens and Mount Stewart House are all well worth visiting. Local walks are rewarding. Our sea view room (#300) was well furnished, clean and the outlook was spectacular.
The public areas in the hotel are tired and in need of some TLC. The dinner menu offered an adequate selection, the standard of cooking was good factory canteen. The hotel staff were uniformly pleasant, helpful, polite and conscientious. The nightly entertainment was intrusive.
Shearings know their customer base and are offering wonderful value. Modest expectations will not be disappointed at the Glenburn. We will give Shearings another go and look forward to an equally pleasant holiday.
Nudgermanchester

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nudgermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed at the Glenburn for 5 nights. Rooms clean and comfortable but don't expect more than a towel and soap in the bathrooms. Restaurant service was slow when David Menzies was not around; he is an efficient and friendly restaurant manager and got my mother and me a table on our own after we discovered that the table you received on your first night is the one you have for the rest of your stay (we were put on a table for 4). (We're not unfriendly, just preferred to eat at a table for 2.) There's a beautiful, long outside terrace at the Glenburn with seats and tables which we soon found to be swiftly colonised after the evening meal by the smoking contingent. There are two 'token' non smoking tables outside but frankly who would want to sit in the jet stream of 50 smokers ? It floats about all over the place of course and we found ourselves amongst the many non smokers attempting to find somewhere to escape the fumes and enjoy the setting sun. We were defeated as the only seats (a small wooden bench on the slopes) was chilly. We are not entertainment junkies but we did enjoy the fairly short spots of Scottish Country dancing and a piper; could not comment on the other evening shows but from what I saw it seemed to consist of the same guy playing music to dance to.. I thought the food was pretty good; however we never received a hot cup of coffee or tea; it was always lukewarm: a la France. We usually left our full cups on the table and made hot stuff back in our rooms. On the whole Reception was friendly and efficient, though we were unimpressed by one receptionist who continued to laugh and chat on the phone while 40+ people returning from a trip queued for their keys (no apology.) This following comment has nothing to do with the hotel but as it is a Shearings owned place it might be worth mentioning that we did not feel we had good service from our coach driver. He had a number of older folk on his coach (including my 88 year old mother) yet he only occasionally stood by the coach door as we got off. He drove us along almost the full length of the Mull of Kintyre with no historical or even general information; he just pointed out some seals and told us that a Beatle used to live there. He dropped us at Campbelltown (the main town) with no indication as to which direction we should go for the town centre; where the toilets were or what might be worth seeing. On the homeward leg he did not explain in advance where we would be stopping. I was a little annoyed that he did not inform us that there would be a fairly long stopover at Gretna Green on our return journey. A number of folk were lamenting that they had hurriedly bought presents on the ferry, thinking it was their 'last chance' to buy when in fact there were a number of shops and eating places at Gretna. On the whole, despite my gripes, it was an enjoyable holiday. Bute is a lovely island.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

In the aftermath of the Icelandic ash cloud and two days waiting at Heathrow airport, having returned home with a planned Egyptian touring holiday in tatters, a phone call to Shearings to enquire about any late availability presented the chance to join a coach two days later and a 5 day stay at The Glenburn. An expectant mediocrity was soon dispelled once we arrived on The Isle of Bute and The Glenburn Hotel which belonging to Shearings could have been "adequate for a captive audience", however nothing was further from the truth. Not 5 star but not 5 star prices either and the hotel was extremely comfortable and offers exceptional value for money, particular mention should be made of the wide choice and quality of food served in the restaurant, the friendly attentive staff and the varied nightly entertainment for guests. A Shearings holiday to The Glenburn also involves two included trips out and one optional extra trip for a reasonable charge, the three trips offering travel around and off The Isle of Bute with scenic tours around Loch Lomond, Dunoon, Loch Fyne and the Western Clyde shoreline. Overall a fantastic holiday and one to be recommended. Only one minor criticsm of services at The Glenburn was the extremely bitter coffee served with and after meals, come on Shearings change the brand.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I have just returned from a 4 day break with Shearings and I can honestly say it was great value for money. My partner and myself had a room which was very spacious and clean with a wonderful view over Rothesay Bay , a full change of towels every day and the hospiality tray replenished to full. Only complaint was if you have noisy neighbours which we did, you hear every sound, but when they moved out it was shear bliss and we could have an unbroken nights sleep.
Now for the good points of which there are many , the hotel has many features altho' tired in places it still has all its original victorian features which are stunning, the dining room is huge , the food is amazing, and decent size portions, and our waiter Archie was an absolute star, he worked so hard to please us always with a smile and a wee chat, we have no complaints here. There is very reasonable bar snacks and meals available throughout the day with drinks.
There is a lovely little bar with cheery friendly staff who always had time to pass the time of day with you, the entertainment room is of adequate size with a good dance floor and good acts , we personally did not use this facility as we preferred to walk up the road a bit to the Struan Bar where it was quieter , but if you like a lot going on then the hotel on an evening is the place to stay .
We had a lovely tour around the island which is a must , there is a public bus service to Ettrick Bay where there is a lovely beach and a tearoom .
There are lots of steps up to the hotel or you can walk up the steep hill and the gardens to the front are beautiful and there is a little roe deer who comes to say hello in the morning .
We had two drivers Harry and Mike both very funny men who made our trip very enjoyable , we would definately return to this hotel and this resort .

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stunning location and imposing building with friendly and helpful staff. Good food and fast, efficent service in the restaurant. Excellent value for money. On the down side, Glenburn was built to make the most of the magnificent views across the Clyde but as the windows hadn't been cleaned in a long time, the views are muted.

The main public area - the bar should have had a perfect view through the grounds to the river but the coaches park next to the building obscuring the views. They should be parked out on the road.

The interior hasn't seen a paint brush for many years and there are holes in the plaster in places.

With a bit of simple maintenance, the hotel could be improved.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saabsolutely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing