We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveler rating
356
440
206
73
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
440
206
73
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach driverour waiterdining roomsea viewshearings holidayentertainment roomevening entertainmentwaiting staffrestaurant managerbeautiful buildingrefurbished roomlimited editiongreat entertainmentsteep hillworked very hardmeal timesexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
1,098 - 1,103 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2009

we travelled to the Glenburn for three nights stay
rooms clean and comfortable with everything you need including hairdryer
we diidn't have an iron and phoned reception Iron and iron board came five mins later also extra pillows nothing was a bother to them and all staff were very helpfull and polite
entertainments Friday night Sally was brilliant as was her hubby Pete on Saturday night , as well as Debbie Farrel
who was stars in your eyes lookalike Shirley Bassey
on Sunday night Mikey was a star brilliant entertainment everyone enjoyed his singing and jokes and Irish patter
our meals were second to none and the waiters curtius and polite
its my second time at the Glenburn and I'll be back

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanportglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Six of us travelled with Shearings from the north east to Rothesay on Mon.13th April.
The coach journey with suitable stops and a very informative driver made the journey part of the holiday.
The 35min.ferry trip to the island gave us our first view of the Glenburn hotel on a small rise just outside the town of Rothesay.
Our first impressions were confirmed when we arrived in our rooms on the first floor, Our cases were on the beds in a room which was comfortable , if a little tired.
The facilities were all there, Tv,Kettle,Hair drier,radio etc.
We had arrived just in time for dinner which was terrific. Choices of 3 starters,3main courses & 3 sweets then tea or coffee in the lounge.
This set the theme for the next 4 nights when we enjoyedevery meal including breakfast.
Excursions to Dunoon, Inverarey Loch Lomond and around the island compleated a very enjoyable holiday including the varied entertainment in the lounge each evening.
The staff and Shearings employees all worked very hard to make everyones holiday memorable, They all Succeeded.i

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeordiePensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We booked up for a tribute weekend to celebrate our friends 40th birthday before reading the reviews. Im delighted to say that we found some of the poorer reviews were absolute nonsense. The Hotel is ideally placed on the front (promenade) with superb views, it was clean, the rooms were spacious with comfy beds, the staff were always friendly and helpful, the food was terrific and the bar prices wont empty your wallet.
There is entertainment in the hotel at night and the resident singers try to accomodate all tastes and age groups,(30+ to 90+ when we were there). The tribute night was Elvis and he was on stage for 1 hour and 20 minutes, ( SUPERB) This is a hotel where, if you want it to be good, it will be! and if you dont, it wont! Dont come to the Glenburn if you are looking for things to go wrong, its an old Hotel that has character, and if you want new fitted wardrobes, Plasma tvs in your room and a spa bath, you will be disappointed. There is good news and bad. The bar in the hotel shuts at 11.30 pm on both Friday and Saturday night. Good news, a taxi into Rothesay takes 3 minutes and costs £2.50 and the bars are open quite a bit later and thers also entertainment on there. We will definately be back soon, Cracking golf couse within 5 minutes as well, just gets better and better.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poppygreenock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We had booked this weekend break to celebrate our friends 40th birthday before we had read the reviews on this site. While we were determined to have a good time, we couldnt help but have a wee bit of apprehension.
We arrived on 3rd April 2009 for the Elvis Presley tribute weekend, checked in, unpacked, had dinner and had a discussion about whether we were in the correct hotel.
Some of the reviews on this site are a load of nonsense. "Yes" this is an old hotel, which in our opinion, added to the character. If you are looking for a hotel with fitted wardrobes that are brand new, double glazing, plasma tvs in your room, you will be disappointed.
But, if you are interested in a hotel that is ideally placed, within walking distance of the shops and pubs, with beautiful scenery, friendly staff, good food from a varied menu, very clean rooms with comfy beds, and bar prices that wont empty your wallet, as well as an entertainment team that will try to accomodate everyones taste, (30+ to 90+ maybe older) then this is the hotel for you. There is a downside, the bar closes at around 11.30 pm, yes, on fridays and saturdays as well!, but the pubs in Rothesay dont!. £2.50 in a taxi. OH, AND BY THE WAY, ELVIS WAS TERRIFIC. AND HE WAS ON FOR AN HOUR AND TWENTY MINUTES. We will be back shortly for a different tribute weekend, dont miss it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoppyGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

went with wife on shearings 5day tour 09/03/2009 hotel ok a bit dated room 412 ground floor level was good and clean free bar 5hours drink all good value entertainment was very poor over piped us with 2nights pipers and 1 night scottish dancers and 1nite actual singer who was good food seemed ok till Thursday dinner 2hours later wife was violently sick she continued to through up for 11hours and was very poorly on bus home dont know what caused it but it did not affect me it was strange but taking everything into account even without the sickness would not go there again or recommend it to anyone else

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackpoolvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews