We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Visited with the extended family to celebrate my dad's 70th birthday.
The Glenburn is a striking building with a breathtaking view over the Firth of Clyde. Inside, the decor in the communal areas requires substantial rejuvenation in order to bring it up to the standards you might expect of a 3-star hotel. However, some of the rooms have been upgraded to modern standards, so I expect the public areas will follow in time.
Dining was inconsistent for the duration of our stay. There were a couple of tasty dishes and a couple poorer offerings. The cooked breakfast was acceptable and came in a portion that didn't induce guilt for having two over the course of one weekend. Unfortunately, I made the error of requesting Frosties as a 'starter' one day. It must have been the end of the box as each mouthful had textures of sawdust. Again, the inconsistent standards seem to fall short of a 3-star establishment.
This brings me to the level of service you can expect at The Glenburn. Overall, I'd say that every member of staff that I encountered genuinely wanted to deliver good service. However, the more timid might have been discouraged by the brash approach adopted by our waiter. He seemed harassed when taking our orders and wasn't shy of enforcing his way of doing things. I must stress, though, that we overcame the initial shock and found him to be a very genuine individual, if somewhat lacking in tact. In other areas, the service was very good - for example, each morning, the night porter delivered a jug of warm milk for our little boy.
I would return to the Glenburn Hotel, but I hope that the management take an iron to some of the inconsistencies. It could be up there with the very best.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank featherFLAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our site. As you say the views over the bay are breathtaking and as you will see from other postings this gets mentioned a lot. Sorry to see that you found some of your stay not up to what you expected but can I mention that we are not a 3 star hotel and we do not claim to be. I wil discuss with the team the other issues that you had and we do appreciate the kind comments that you have made about the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 990 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

On arrival we were pleased with our room on the third floor, had side sea view, but as bay curved, it was a full on view of sea and mountains.
Room spacious and comfy, sash cord broken so we had to prop window up to get some air and the shower uncontrollable, going from hot to cold as it liked. However we were happy! Dinners and breakfast served promptly by busy waiters, Gabriella, I think, made sure my husband had his glass of milk on table ready for him.( medication requirement ). We did not enjoy all entertainment, Gary a bit childish for our liking, but it takes all sorts. Enjoyed the pipers and dancers. I would definitely come again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Many thanks for your review by all acounts you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look in to the issue with the shower and I am really sorry for any problems that this may have caused. I will let Gabriella know you have mentioned her. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

fantastic views, entertainment boring, food ok, waiters lovely!, bedroom dirty with thick dust around edges of carpets, cracked washbasin no shower screen or hook for shower-head had to hold in hand, lumpy bed. room 406.Lovely Island

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our site. Sorry to hear that you found parts of your holiday not enjoyable. This room has a hand held attachment it is not classed as a shower this is why you did not have shower screen and so on. I will speak to the housekeeper about the other issues that you have mentioned with the bedroom. Once gain thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We visited this hotel during June 2014 and had mixed feelings about our stay. The hotel exterior is stunning and in a scenic location overlooking the bay but inside looks a little dated and tired.
The food was excellent value for money and there was plenty to do inside the hotel (cocktail bar, ballroom etc) but you step outside the hotel into a time warp. The shops in Rothesay are also tired and run-down and the island itself seems to have been forgotten (see pic of tourist information centre). If you are looking for a hotel to rest in, then this is the place (apart from the fact that my bed was very uncomfortable) but if you want some adventure or something to do then I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LenHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Many thanks for your posting. As you have said you have mixed feelings about your stay with us but did enjoy the location of the hotel and the good value for money holiday that we provide. My apologisies that you found the bed uncomfortable we could have changed it for you had we known. I will pass your kind comments on about the food to the Head Chef. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her 28th and 29th June. We had a superior room on first floor and it was superb. Views to die for. The entertainment on Saturday night very good although we did not participate on the Sunday night. The function hall in on first floor and very modern with a splendid view of back gardens. There's a nice bar area on ground floor with doors to nice Victorian verandah with sea views, tables and chairs and it's a sun trap. We had very good weather which just made our stay. The food was fine something for everyone. The only complaint was we did not get very good table service and had to ask on both occasions re dinner. If you want a treat go for superior room or at least a sea view. We would not hesitate to return and Bute is beautiful as they say

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind thoughts on our site. On the whole you have enjoyed what the hotel and the island has to offer and as you say great weather always helps. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the service you received in the restaurant and I will look in to this. Once again thank you for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Weekend visit with a group of friends and family. Fantastic time! A big thanks to all the staff for making our weekend so enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend break. Will definitely visit again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

What a lovely review many thanks for posting your thoughts on our site. I will pass your thanks on to the staff nad hopefully you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

went for mid week break with shearings,as reported in other reviews found the hotel in need of some tlc,having said that i noticed some recent improvements.our room was top floor we paid extra for a sea view which was well worth the money.the food was good overall,apart from being told at least once every night that something that i wanted was no longer available,another little niggle was that we did not seem to have a waiter designated to our table no66,one night we waited half an hour to order,when i asked one of the waiters,paul,if they were short staffed he said no but immediatley took our order and looked after us that night.the hotel is stunning from the outside with good location,i would advise people with mobility problems to avoid this hotel.the entertainment was good overall,the host was one of the better ones at bay hotels.we would reccomend this hotel and may well return.thanks to staff for an overall enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: pay for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bassyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for for taking the time to write your review. The sea views are worth paying the little extra for the views are second to none. I will pass your thanks to the staff and again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
113 reviews
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range: $90 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing