We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely two night break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely two night break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her 28th and 29th June. We had a superior room on first floor and it was superb. Views to die for. The entertainment on Saturday night very good although we did not participate on the Sunday night. The function hall in on first floor and very modern with a splendid view of back gardens. There's a nice bar area on ground floor with doors to nice Victorian verandah with sea views, tables and chairs and it's a sun trap. We had very good weather which just made our stay. The food was fine something for everyone. The only complaint was we did not get very good table service and had to ask on both occasions re dinner. If you want a treat go for superior room or at least a sea view. We would not hesitate to return and Bute is beautiful as they say

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind thoughts on our site. On the whole you have enjoyed what the hotel and the island has to offer and as you say great weather always helps. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the service you received in the restaurant and I will look in to this. Once again thank you for your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    349
    164
    60
    48
See reviews for
138
455
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Weekend visit with a group of friends and family. Fantastic time! A big thanks to all the staff for making our weekend so enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend break. Will definitely visit again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
What a lovely review many thanks for posting your thoughts on our site. I will pass your thanks on to the staff nad hopefully you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

went for mid week break with shearings,as reported in other reviews found the hotel in need of some tlc,having said that i noticed some recent improvements.our room was top floor we paid extra for a sea view which was well worth the money.the food was good overall,apart from being told at least once every night that something that i wanted was no longer available,another little niggle was that we did not seem to have a waiter designated to our table no66,one night we waited half an hour to order,when i asked one of the waiters,paul,if they were short staffed he said no but immediatley took our order and looked after us that night.the hotel is stunning from the outside with good location,i would advise people with mobility problems to avoid this hotel.the entertainment was good overall,the host was one of the better ones at bay hotels.we would reccomend this hotel and may well return.thanks to staff for an overall enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: pay for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bassyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for for taking the time to write your review. The sea views are worth paying the little extra for the views are second to none. I will pass your thanks to the staff and again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have just returned from this hotel with shearings.I visit this hotel 20 years ago what a big disappointment.the dining room is only open from 6.30 to 7.30 as we were late geting to the hotel due to the coach being late and missing the ferry it was a mad rush to get to the evening meal.that was monday 9/6/2014 wednesday 11/6/2014 ordered lunch people coming in after us were geting served final got served only the tea we ordered did not come had to ask were it was. thursday12/6/2014.Breakfast time 20 minutes to get a bowl of cornflakes surly it could not get any worse evening meal a disaster half an hour with just a breadroll when to reception to ask if we were going to be served told the head waiter would come over i had to stop him my self only to be told give him a couple of miniutes which we did got fed up of waiting and walked out it makes you mad when people are coming in to the dining room 20 miniutes after you and they are on there secound course and you have only had a breadroll. went back to reception to ask for a complaint form only to be told they dont have any.friday 13/6/2014 the head waiter was there and what response from him nothing the only ones to say sorry were the waiters so if you are given table 24 right by the kitchen doors were every waiter as to pass you dont have this table. I think all week must have friday the 13th

Room Tip: seaview on the 3 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on our site. Sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Glenburn but as you will see we don't really get many complaints about service.
Once again my apologisies that you found your stay with us disappointing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a week in the Glenburn Hotel in June 2014. I immediately liked the old world glamour of the place. The long, carpeted corridors and high ceilings reminded me of 'The Shining'! We were on a Shearings' trip, and were provided with b/b and evening meal. Both were substantial, quite tasty, and served promptly and efficiently. (Look out for the chap I named 'the Scottish Manuel' if you go; he flies around the dining-room in a tottering gait, red in the face, but apparently enjoying his work!) Six of us sitting at two not-very-big tables meant that mealtimes were a bit cosy, but by placing the menus on the floor we managed.
The bedroom was large, the shower excellent, and the bed comfortable. We didn't think it was worthwhile paying the extra for a sea view as we don't spend much time in the room, but we had a great view of a young deer who was sunbathing on the back lawn one day.
At this time of year, before the schools had broken up, the vast majority of the residents were retired, and the entertainment reflected this. I wondered if the young couple in the next room, and the three young ladies on a short break, had even heard of some of the acts whose songs were performed. There were several sessions of Bingo prior to the usual entertainment, and, as a quiz fan myself, I thought that they could have introduced some variety into proceedings by having at least one evening quiz.
In several places around the hotel there were signs that the place had lost much of its former grandeur. Many of the stair edges were getting threadbare, and in some places patched up with gaffer tape. However, it was clean, comfortable, and spacious, and the staff were helpful and friendly. There was a 'Fawlty Towers' touch to some of the interior signposting, though, with the snooker room, for example, apparently being in two different directions, and another lounge that we failed to find at all! Also, we felt they need to examine their arrangements for tipping; there was no communal box for the waiters, and we must have been served at different times by at least five different ones. In the end, we tipped the one who had served us most often, but we would have been happier if we had had a designated waiter - even if it had been the Scottish Manuel.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a shower you must specifically ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quizrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Many thanks for your posting on our site and thank you for some of the lovely comments that you have made about the Glenburn. As you will have seen the deer to get a few mentions and they stay with us all year round. Good to see that you found your holiday good value for money and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Glenburn hotel in the Isle Of Bute was the location of our 5 day holiday with Shearings..the trip from newark on the coach took us nearly all day but it we stopped every 2 or 3 hours for a break,and what a surprise when we saw this beautiful old hotel from the ferry...we were very excited to have a beautiful view of the water from our room...the hotel was full of old world charm..the food was great and the restaurant manager was always ready with a smile and a funny anecdote to tell us..we met some lovely people who were on our coach trip and had some good laughs with them...the entertainment and the singer were fabulous and we adored the Piper and the Dancers...on the way bnack we stopped at Gretna Green which was a delight...all in all a really good trip at a fantastic price.

Room Tip: The only downside were the mattress on the beds which I think are probably ready to be replaced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and mentioning the staff. The views from the hotel are beautiful as I have said in other postings it is worth having a room with a view over the bay. Hope to see you again and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Anyone visiting the Isle of Bute would find this a great base. It is by no means opulent, but we have stayed 3 times now and find it great for a weekend break. You are well looked after and the entertainment each time has been great, bit cheesy at times, but fun and there has always been a good crowd there. Food is fine and always good choice. It isn't the best Hotel in Rothesay, but is does come with a package of entertainment, the rooms are clean and have all you need and the food is OK. For a weekend break and a base to see this lovely island you could do worse

Room Tip: superior rooms are a lot classier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank young1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and enjoying your third weekend break with us. We do believe that we provide great value for money breaks and we would hope to see you again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing