We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The views from this hotel are magnificent, I just wish we had booked a sea view.
Going with National holiday coach Monday to Friday, the room we had was overlooking the back lawn, it was twin beds, very comfortable and a large bathroom with shower in the bath, loads of hot water and enormous towels. I loved the tartan carpets on the stairways and corridors.
After a delicious evening meal we went into the lounge bar for our coffee and whiskey then at 8pm the bar closed and we had to move to the ballroom if we wanted another drink.... this took us away from the magnificent views and into a back room with loud music and bingo!
The staff were pleasant and friendly I would love to go again.

Room Tip: We did not have a seaview which is a must as far as I am concerned. We had room 335 which was overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appletree80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Many thanks for your review and great to see that you enjoyed your break with us. Yet again the views from the hotel get a mention and rightly so in your words magnificent. And we would love to see you again and hopefully some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    360
    165
    61
    48
See reviews for
140
468
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orrell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

we travelled on the 21st April with Shearings for a lovely 5 day break at the Glenburn, and it certainly was an enjoyable break. The hotel was lovely and comfortable we had a side room, number 215, it had a view of the sea which we were not expecting so this was a nice surprise and a good size room too. The food was very good and plenty of it , waiter service was excellent we could not fault any of them as they all had served us at least once. The entertainment was of a good standard, especially the young scottish dancers and bagpipes which we enjoyed thoroughly bar staff were very polite and pleasant. would recommend the glenburn hotel .

Room Tip: would recommend room 215 for view and size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Many thanks for a great posting always good to see when guests mention the staff and I will make sure they are aware of your comments. Thank you for your remarks that you would recommend the Glenburn Hotel we really do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Lovely old hotel, but tired, don't book sea view if they give you room 205 very small and dark, we paid extra and finished in a disabled room,not happy, staff in dining room very good, not much to do in Rosthesay, sad as it good by nice.

Room Tip: Not sure did not see others
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sorry to see that you did not like the room that you were allocated and the second room that you were offered is disabled friendly but also gets used as a twin sea view room. Many guests love this room as it has big with two huge windows at the front and to the side offering fantastic views over the bay. Once again sorry you stay was'nt as enjoyable as you would have liked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have just spent 5 days at the Glenburn on a National Holiday. It's a beautiful old hotel and the public areas (downstairs bar/lounge and the upstairs bar/entertainment room) have been renovated and are lovely. We had a bedroom on the 3rd floor overlooking Rothesay Bay and the view was stunning. However, the room itself was a little bit of a disappointment. Spotlessly clean but quite small and we couldn't open the window more than a couple of inches to enjoy the view better as the window sashes were broken.

The restaurant is efficiently run and, apart from our last morning, we never had to wait long to order. The staff are attentive and polite and the food is good, with a variety of choices.

A visit to Mount Stuart a few miles down the road is a must. If it's not included on your tour excursions then catch the service bus on the road just below the hotel. The house is absolutely spectacular and one of the finest I have visited.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable break and I look forward to my next at the Glenburn!

Room Tip: A room at the front (for a supplement) is well worth it for the views. However, the rooms at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our site. I will make sure your kind comments are passed on to the relevant departments. Mount Stuart House is fantastic and easy to get and as you say well worth a visit. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from the Glenburn hotel food fantastic ,all staff brilliant so well mannered and helpful.Nice room on 3rd floor overlooking the water .Going back in July it was that good ,Assistance Manager so helpful connecting us to free wi fi ,

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely comments on our site and it is always great to see when guests return to the Glenburn. Hopefully the weather will be good when you return in July and we look forward to seeing you then. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Thank you for a lovely break, third visit we enjoy the hotel very much, homely, relaxing, and thanks to the wonderful staff, especially the lovely lass on reception,its always a pleasure to return, hope to see you all again soon, Jan and Lionel ( we came up with Harry around 6 weeks ago, what a great driver and person he is. Thanks shrearings you certainly have got it right

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments that you have posted on to our site. Great to see that you have returned for a third visit and enjoyed your stay with us once again. The lovely lass on reception will be Lee-anne and I will let her know that you have mentioned her. Hopefully you will be back for your fourth visit sometime soon. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

we,ve used national holidays for the last 7 years and have never had a bad holiday, especially at their prices. we have just returned from a 5 day break at the glenburn hotel in rothesay. the hotel is beautifully situated and due to it being an old building is a little bit tired BUT this simply adds to the charm. the rooms were lovely and clean and nice and warm. the manager and staff were superb, the food excellent with a great choice. the service was as good as a 4 star hotel. the views were to die for and we even saw deer in the hotel grounds. we have done 15 national trips and this was probably the best. scenery is amazing. can,t recommend this hotel enough, ignore the negative reviews as people are wanting 5 star service foe 3 star prices. definitely coming back again. steve and bev. darlington

Room Tip: try and get room with a view as worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review on to our site. The deer that you seen are a family of 4 which have stayed on the grounds for a number of years now and are a favourite of our guests. I will pass your lovely comments about food and staff to all concerned and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing