We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Tribute Weekend at the Glenburn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
greenock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Great Tribute Weekend at the Glenburn.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Last weekend we had a brilliant time at the Glenburn. The tribute was Neil Diamond and he was terrific. So good in fact, that my wife was convinced he was miming.
As usual, the hotel was spotless, rooms were big and plenty of space. staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was great as usual.
The hotel is just a short stroll from the town centre and the views are terrific.
All in all its a great weekend break, we will be back again soon.
The four free drinks on the Saturday night were very welcome, although, it would be better if the premium brands were included as well, even if it meant getting three drinks instead of four,

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view from the front of the hotel. You will just love the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poppygreenock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on our Tripadvisor site, it's great to see you enjoyed your weekend with us, and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    362
    170
    62
    48
See reviews for
142
477
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay, travelled on a 4 day coach hol from Preston (National - also part of Shearings and Bay Hotels). Hotel is in an impressive location, with excellent views across Rothesay Bay to Loch Striven.

Parts of the Hotel are in need of a little / lot of refurb. Stayed in Room 321 on the 3rd floor, and inside situated room overlooking the back of the hotel.Room was fine, no major problems, although the shower was tempermental. Mind you from past experience this is par for the course with Bay Hotel properties.

Food - Well you pay so much and you get so much - Breakfast excellent - no hassles, set menu. Dinner - a curate's egg , 2 out of three were not too bad. The third a definite reminder of school dinners. Still given the overall cost, I cannot complain.

Also included were 4 drinks vouchers per person for use on the Saturday night, certainly these vouchers more than made up for the poor Sunday Dinner.

Entertainment - Overall it was entertainment. More 2 to 3 star than 5, the Elvis tribute was poor, Neill Diamond pretty good, and the Female Singer / Comedian on the Sunday not too bad at all.

I would also add the Rothesay is certainly not the centre of the universe,apart from a number of traditional Scottish Pubs (sawdust in the floor types) and a couple of resturants, there is not a lot to do. So the entertainment on offer was the only action available.

Would I return, yes but probably May or October.

Room Tip: Seaview if possible the views are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joerusshamilton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on our site, it's good to see that you've enjoyed your short break with us. I'm glad that you felt your break was good value and look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another 5 day self drive to the Glenburn Hotel Rothesay , although hotel in need of a little TLC it offers great value for money. On arrival we were again allocated room on the second floor (213) a spotless room with fresh linen and towels with a nice view. The staff in restaurant were very efficient ,serving a good choice and quality of food well done to Dave and his team.The entertainment provided by Gary (Elvis) and James are a highlight of this hotel excellent each evening making this break in our opinion .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your posting and your return visit to the Glenburn. I have already passed your comments onto Dave and he will make sure they get passed onto his team. As for Elvis he is a star and has already had a lot of mentioned this year. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

we stayed at the Glenburn Friday to Monday a long weekend we stayed as a family of 9 all adults we all loved it the bus driver harry was funny just make sure your not late haha the rooms are lovely and clean an was well heated all hotel staff were lovely great customer service! are waiter was called Paul he was lovely the food was excellent was a 3 course meal with a great choice breakfast was lovely to entertainment was fantastic Gary was the best! really enjoyed Elvis just think there should of been more bingo on. there was free wi fi in the lounge which was good then there is a room to play table tennis and a different room to play snooker we all loved the tartan carpet overall a fantastic stay we all didn't want to come home will differently be going again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
What a great review and thank you for taking the time to write onto our site. I will pass your comments onto all concerned including Elvis. And please do make sure you come back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My first Shearings holiday -4 nights 5 days in Rothesay Isle of Bute,went prepared for the weather which was overcast, wet, windy with a bit of sunshine thrown in with 2 glorious rainbows. The Glenburn must of been fantastic in its heyday but like most places needs a bit of tender loving care. Fantastic views, when you have been out exploring come back via the road rather than the steps- a bit easier on the knees. The staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble, free wifi in the lounge, food and drink was good, I would of preferred more fresh food rather than frozen but for the price well worth the money as was the trip to Dunoon just for the views alone, plenty to do, not many places open due to it being winter but I did go for peace and quiet. Entertainment was available every night after Bingo or there is a quiet lounge. Just one word of warning, they have a bright red tartan carpet on all stairs and hallways so bring your shades. I was on the 3rd floor and had a visit from a seagull hoping for breakfast every morning. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for writing your review. As always it is good to see that guests enjoy the fantastic views that the Island has to offer. It sounds by all acoounts that you have found the experience relaxing which is good to see and many thanks for your kind remarks about the staff. I will make sure these are passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from our first outing with Shearings - a 5 day stay at the Glenburn Hotel in Rothesay. Overall we felt the Glenburn Hotel provided good value accommodation, food and entertainment which was delivered from its friendly and attentive staff - especial thanks to Gabriella and Adam. Wifi is now available in the main reception rooms.

Room Tip: Room 433 was initially very cold and although has a bath it lacks a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoefromWakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Many thanks for your posting. It is good to see that you have found your holiday with us good value for money which is always our aim. I will let Gabriella and Adam know that you have mentioned them. Thank you once again for your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Have just returned from Monday to Friday 5 day break win Shearings. This Hotel was the usual type we have experienced before, in need of some refurbishment but clean and generally warm In the public areas. Our room was particularly cold with no central heating and just one small radiator to heat it, the only heating in the bathroom was the towel rail which more than often didn't work, and switched off after two hours. Whilst I'm sure if we had mentioned this to reception they would have found a solution we put up with it, we didn't spend an awful lot of time in our rooms anyway. The tog rating on the duvet must have been pretty high, because once in bed you were lovely and snug!

The food was of the usually standard, served quickly and efficiently by experienced waiters. Overall the staff throughout the Hotel were helpful, kind and professional who did their utmost to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We found the atmosphere relaxed and a little 'laid back' which was exactly what we wanted/needed

The Island itself offered spectacular views, but the town itself sadly was a little run down with many of the shops closed down or boarded up. I couldn't even find a shop that sold Rock for friends and family back home!

The tour round the Island by our driver Harry was interesting and informative and he looked after us very well

Overall - if your expectations are not too high as with most Shearings Holidays, this was a wonderful 5 day break which we enjoyed and would not hesitate to return to in the future

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniseT107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Many thanks for your posting. It is always good to see when guests comment on the staff and we do have a good team at the Glenburn so thank you for that. We would hope to see you again in the future once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing