We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Nearby Hotels
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colintraive Hotel(Colintraive)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kames Hotel(Tighnabruaich)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal an Lochan(Tighnabruaich)
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveler rating
329
418
188
68
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
329
418
188
68
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour waitercoach driverdining roomnational holidayssea viewshearings holidayentertainment roombay hotelsevening entertainmentworked very hardwaiting staffshearings hotelsrestaurant managerelvis tributebeautiful buildinglimited editionbar prices
Filter
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Ok the hotel is old and could do with a makeover but look past that and its a magnificent victorian hotel with elevated views over Rothesay bay. My wife and I stayed at the Glenburn Friday to Sunday at the end of August 2013. Like every year we both had a fantastic time. The rooms are clean and well laid out. Didn't have a view of the bay but no matter the covered terrace to the front of the hotel was a great place to relax , have a drink and watch the ferries and yachts come and go. Its a short stroll into the town centre along the sea front. The staff at the hotel were as usual friendly, polite and eager to please. The service in the restaurant is instant. Had a ball and will be definitely be back next year..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your review and by what you have written you have enjoyed your stay with us. Its good to see the different departments getting mentioned and I will pass your comments onto both the housekeeping and restaurant staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

On our fourth vist to the Glenburn with Shearings we were welcomed by Lazlo from the mangement team who gave us the usual information and procedures then on to reception for an efficient registration. As the weekend passed it was noticeable that Lazlo always seemed available.
We had treated ourselves this visit to a Superior Room and we were not disappointed with the decision. Compared to previous rooms it seemed enormous with plenty of floor space around two sizeable twin beds, a spacious wardrobe, dressing table, two easy chairs, a table, flat screen TV and a luggage rack. The modern en suite contained a large selection of toiletries.
The lounges were comfortably furnished as was the restaurant and entertainment room, the corridors and stairways are obviously next for refurb but some of the picky comments from previous contributors are churlish.
A ninety minute time span for meals shouldn’t cause anyone problems and the food was good and well presented. The soups were very substantial and hot, and I particularly enjoyed the pork.
All the staff we encountered were pleasant and efficient.
Since this was an Entertainment Break we were not disappointed with the evenings. The residents Gary (Elvis) and Limited Edition were very good as usual and the Detroit Twins were superb. There could perhaps have been more effort to provide something during the afternoons, on our previous visit we had dancing and racing.
One slight niggle, the Glenburn seems to be one of the few hotels that allows guests to reserve their seats in the entertainment room. Making an effort to get in early and being confronted by a number of tables covered with coats, drinks etc doesn’t usually happen elsewhere.
However another excellent stay the Glenburn.

Room Tip: Upgrade!!! Front rooms are a must but if you wan't to splash out then you won't be disappointed with a Superior room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Many thanks for posting on our site. The superior rooms are lovely and its nice to see that you decided you would treat yourselfs to one and they are worth the extra you pay. With regards to guests reserving seats we don't actually allow this but point taken and we need to be more aware of this. It is good to see when guests appreciate that we have a refrub plan in place and with the size of the building it takes time.
I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff and the entertainment team and once again many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in the "Glenburn" from the 25th October to 27th and loved it. Big rooms, very clean and comfy beds, Great views across the bay. Just a short stroll from the town and some good pubs.Good food from a varied evening menu. The Highlight of the weekend for us was the tribute act on Saturday night, The Detroit Twins were fabulous. We had waited for weeks to see them and were not disappointed. They were everything we had hoped for and more, the dance floor was packed when they were on. If you are thinking of coming over on a tribute weekend.....dont think about it.....book it!. You wont be disappointed. We will be back SOON.

Room Tip: Dont miss the sea views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppygreenock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Many thanks for your writing your review. It is really good to see that you found the bedrooms spacious and enjoyed the great views across the bay which you will see from other posting this gets mentioned a lot.
The Detroit Twins are indeed fantastic and by all accounts everyone seemed to enjoy them that weekend. Glad that you have found the menu varied and we always do our up most to provide good value for money. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent a nice weekend at the Glenburn Hotel with National Holidays from Oct 11th -- Oct 14th and had a terrific time, we had a seaview room that was spacious and comfortable on the 2nd floor with fantastic views and the Hotel itself was very comfortable with great staff and very good nightly entertainment, they have a nice restaurant with very attentive friendly staff serving very good filling meals and all in all I thought the Hotel was first class.
Another plus was the National Holidays coach driver a local who lived on the island Harry who was 1st class and was full of knowledge about the island and was always extremely courteous and cheerful all in all a lovely 4 days.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view we paid £ 21 each but it was well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Many thanks for a great review and once again the amazing views from the hotel are being mentioned and rightly so the are fantastic. We have a excellant team of staff at the hotel and I will pass your kind comments onto them. Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed overnight on 17th. Room was great but slightly hot. Bed really comfy. Have rarely come across friendlier or more humerous staff who couldn't do enough for you. In particular the restaurant staff at breakfast. (Must mention Paul, as he, and the rest are a true asset) The evening entertainment, a Mr James Knight, was stunning and performed a West End Musicals set. If only to see him it is worth a visit. Find out the dates he is there and make a point of going. The WHOLE stay was fantastic. Will most certainly go back given the quality that is on offer.

The food was excellent with a good choice of dishes and great taste to suit all and good vegetarian selection

Room Tip: rooms on first floor very comfortable and warm. Nice and quiet hotel with stunning wiews over the bay
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for a great posting on our site its good to see how much you enjoyed our entertainment in particular James Knight who has been singing at the hotel for a good number of years now. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and I will pass your kind comments onto both Paul and the kitchen staff. Many thanks for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews