We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Barrhead Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what a delight”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

decided to re-visit the Bay Glenburn Hotel in Rothesay. Had been years ago but it was quite run down. Well it was superb. We paid fro a standard plus room and it was. My sister came with us and paid fro a single but actually got a corner twin which had a great view and very spacious. Food and service were excellent. Choice on menu terrific. Drinks not too expensive and entertainment was just great.

Excellent value for money

Room Tip: pay for the up-grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on our site. Its always good to see guests return and enjoy what the hotel has to offer and the standard plus rooms which have just be refrubished this year are lovely. I will pass your comments onto the team and once again many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    367
    174
    62
    49
See reviews for
145
484
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brynford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

stayed at the Genburn hotel in Rothersay from Monday 9th of Sept to the13th Sept. went on a Shearings coach holiday.the food ,shows and cleaniness was excellent.the staff were also friendly and helpful and Garry the compere was also fantastic.Beautiful Gardens.This is my second holiday there in 6 mths and would go back tomorrow and would highly recommend it to anyone. HILDA AND PAM.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Its good to see that you have returned for a second holiday and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. I will pass you kind comments onto the Gary and the staff. Once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a lovely 5 day holiday here with National Coach Holidays. You know your holiday has truly started when your crossing over on the ferry and you see your hotel towering above all others looking so majestic. Ferry terminal is only 10 mins away from hotel. Checking in was very quick and we found our room easily. We had a sea view room. This was well worth it has the bay and the mountain view was so gorgeous to see. To wake up to this view was fantastic. Room was clean and tidy and cleaned everyday with new towels when needed. Meal time was a little daunting. food was good with good portions but the hotel was very busy so there was some waiting time between courses. Staff very friendly. Entertainment every night and for the women games of bingo. Rothesay only a small town but we spent 4 hours going around all the shops, museum and castle. There are 2 ways to get upto hotel by road or many steps, dont use steps if your asthmatic or frail unless you do it in small stages and enjoy the gardens. My wife found this out the hard way.

Room Tip: sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
What a great review, many thanks for posting it on our site. We really are lucky with the outlook we have from the hotel and so fotunate to sit where we do. It's really good to see you have enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week's holiday at the Glenburn Hotel on the beautiful Isle of Bute. We hesitated over the option to upgrade to a superior room but decided to take a chance on the standard and use this as benchmark for possible future holidays. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our standard room was large and bright with a lovely view across the bay, a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom. The Glenburn itself is a majestic edifice in a spectacular position overlooking Rothesay Bay with views of Loch Striven beyond. The meals exceeded our expectations - plenty of choice and always piping hot. The service by the waiting staff was outstanding and the speediness quite incredible when one considers the number of guests in the dining room. Our assigned staff were quite exceptional - our primary waiting staff were Javi, Rita, Andrea and Slawek; they worked so hard but never stopped smiling; they were attentive and gracious and eager to please. Javi, in particular, impressed us, it was only his second week at the Glenburn yet he had already mastered the serving methods applied in the Glenburn; if he thought we might have to wait a minute or two he would inform us (and it was never more than a couple of minutes wait) - this in itself is an excellent customer service skill demonstrating a genuine interest in the customer. We also observed that Slawek was very encouraging to the less experienced staff. The reception staff were very helpful and Debbie, the Deputy Manager, was extremely helpful with local information. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and cheerful. Just two suggestions for the management - hooks for outdoor coats and a tray and coasters for teapot and mugs. We will definitely return to the Glenburn soon.

Room Tip: We found the standard room perfectly comfortable yet we may just have been lucky getting the sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for the great review you have posted on our site, I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your break with us. Your comments about the service the staff offered are really good and I'll be sure to let all of them mentioned know what you have said. Coasters and hooks, we'll look into that. Once again many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

stayed for a weekend break good food warm room excellent entertainment . glenburn is an old lady it was an old hotel when i was a child ! and like the baby boomers showing her age . !

but you get what you pay for . pay the extra for an upgrade well worth the extra.!
our thanks to christina and murdo our dining companions hope to see you both again!!

Room Tip: pay for an upgrade well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tansy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for the very balanced comments you posted on our site, it's good to see you appreciate our trying to offer value for money breaks. As for the Stately Old Lady, well she's not the only one showing her age a bit, there's one or two of us working here that are too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My Sister and myself visited this hotel for a five day break on the 2-9 2013. We arrived at our hotel to be met on the bus where our names were called out in alphabetical order where we went to to collect our keys with out any waiting around. As a member of staff noticed us struggling ing with our luggage he took our cases from us and delivered them to our rooms. Fantastic choice of starters main meals and desserts, all served hot with a good choice of veg. Waiting staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure you had what you wanted nothing was a trouble. We paid extra for a room with a view and at 1st were a bit upset to have to pay this. But after seeing the view from our bedroom we realised how worth while it was to pay the extra and would def do so again. Entertainment was fantastic and Gary was so friendly and funny he made our holiday a time we will never forget. Breakfast was as good as dinner with plenty of choice. Rooms were spacious and clean and comfy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will def be returning. Only down fall I could find is that they could perhaps consider having a ramp up to the main entrance as there were a lot of people including me had problems dragging their luggage up the stairs on arrival and down the stairs on departure.

Room Tip: well worth paying extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the great revue you posted on our site, it's really good to see you have enjoyed your break at the Glenburn and I'm delighted to see your def going to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed here to celebrate our first anniversary together. From the outside the hotel looks splendid, sitting on an elevated position with lovely gardens with benches to sit on to look out over the sea and enjoy the stunning view. The interior of the hotel itself is quite dated. Corridor carpets in some areas were thread bare and needed replacing. There is a spacious lounge area with bar and fairly large dining room with plenty of tables which were allocated to guests for the duration of their stay. We had a large double bedroom which was at the back of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of wardrope and cupboard space. A hairdryer was provided and there were tea/coffee making facilities available. There was an over bath shower in the bathroom as well as a heated towel rail. Plenty of towels were provided and these were replaced every day. The three course evening meal was a choice and a menu was always on the table. Guests however could view that evenings menu on the board directly outside the dining room late afternoon. Breakfast also came with a menu and this was served to guests at the table. At no time did guests help themselves to food in the dining room. Evening entertainment was in the newly refurbished ballroom and this was good with Marianne and John who sing, play guitar and keyboard and in particular Gary McKean who was fantastic as Elvis. Bingo was also played with good money prizes.

However this hotel is let down by the smell of urine as you enter reception which comes from the Gents toilet at the entrance. Also if a particular course on the evening menu is not to a guests taste then no alternative is available. I was also unfortunate to find a dead beetle in my soup. The hotel car park should be free to guests rather than charging them £5 a day to park their car.

From the main road there is a very steep incline up to the hotel via several flights of stairs so it is not for guests with mobility problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gelascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It's good to see that on the whole you have enjoyed your break at the Glenburn. The smell from the gents public toilet is not something that has been brought up before, and all that can really be said is, it is a gents public toilet. We are always happy to offer alternatives should you not see anything on the menu of the day that you like. I can only apologise for the beetle in the soup, and I will be speaking to both the chef and the waiting staff about this. The parking charges were introduced to enable guests to guarantee themselves a parking space when the hotel is busy, however there is parking just outside the hotel should anyone not wish to pay for parking. Many thanks for giving me the opportunity to respond to your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#12 of 18 in Rothesay
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing