We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr J Docherty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hi just returned today 12/08/13 from Rothesay were we stayed at the Glenburn hotel.On arrival at the hotel first impressions were very nice but sad to say thats where it ends reception very poor in dire need of an make over.Rooms were ok also need bringing into the 20th century dining room was set out like a school diner hall instead of a restaurant meals were very poor when you ordered your meal it was on the table within a minute obviously it was all ready cooked and sitting on a hot plate waiting to go.Staff were very good working under extreme hard conditions they coped very well.Not that I could say that about the bar staff very rude when we complained about our drinks basically were told that was the way it was,I went to complain to the reception staff and she wasn't interested we feel very disappointed with this hotel I think management should take on board some staff training in how to deal with people and a little bit of manners and a smile wouldn't go a miss i certainly would not recommend this no doubt management will come up with some bull if they reply once again people do not go to this hotel

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I am sorry to read your comments expressing your disappointment on your recent stay. Contrary to your belief, the meals are not sitting on hot plates waiting to be brought out,, meals are plated as and when staff call them away. The bar staff were only doing their job which is not easy when guests complain about prices which they have no control over. Prices are set at our head office and are not unreasonable. As you may notice the great many comments made on our site are not in the same vein as yours. And that 's no bull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day National Holiday to the above hotel in Rothesay. The Island is beautiful. However the hotel room was disgusting. The bathroom was dirty with hairs all over the floor, dirty sanitary wear in the bin, a hole in the sink. The bed cover over the bed was dirty and had been turned over. The bedroom window was filthy dirty with years of dirt stuck to it. After complaining to the hotel we were told we could not change rooms as the hotel was full. We were told to wait one day and the room would be cleaned by the time we returned from our trip. That was not the case on going out the next day a man with a step ladder was entering our room we thought to clean it, however that was not the case. In fact the man entered our room smoking!!!
No amount of complaining did any good, in fact one member of staff told me off for showing other customers photos of our room as well as being extremely rude and calling me a liar. If we were offered a free holiday there we would not go back to that hotel. On a more positive note the food and entertainment was good as well as the waiting staff in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I'm sorry that you encountered problems during your stay in the Glenburn, but would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond to the comments made. The defficiencies in the cleaning should not have happened and I apologise for this, however they were rectified the next day, this was verified by the assistant manager who checked the room after the cleaners had been in before you returned from your trip. The maintenance man was the member of staff with the step ladder. He doesn't smoke, and as it has been against the law in Scotland since 2006 no staff would be smoking in the hotel as they are well aware of the law. I also think it dissapointing that you have exaggerated the conversation had at reception stating that a member of staff had called you a liar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from a three day break in Rothesay staying at this hotel. After staying here last year having a very enjoyable stay we could not wait to return.
Disappointed doesn't even come close the most rude unfriendly reception staff who could certainly do with some updated or refreshing of their customer service skills.
The room in which we paid a £21 supplement to have a view of the sea was lovely but we had the room upstairs last year with the same view without the supplement!!!
The room was dated, dusty and mouldy with wallpaper peeling at most corners of the room, the window had to be wedged open with a block of wood (provided by the hotel) ??
The cold water tap on the bath got stuck as it was rusty making the bath over flow. Also previous guests socks down the back of the radiator.

The food portions were very small and not the warmest. The only thing good about the restaurant was the manager ( very friendly chap).

I am so disappointed in this hotel as couldn't wait to return and safe to say I wont in the future!!!!
Rothesay is such a beautiful place and its very sad that such a main feature on the island is letting it down.

Room Tip: book a b & b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deborah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn, and the problems you beleive you encountered with the staff. As you will see from a great many other postings the staff are generally praised very highly for their service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Everything that has been said about this hotel is true. We had a brilliant stay and we enjoyed the entertainment every night . Didn't think the drinks were too expensive. It's a beautiful building but some of the areas in the hotel need freshening up . We will return .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Many thanks for your review its lovely to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a beautiful building with a fantasic views over the bay which you never tire of. I will pass onto the host your comments on the entertainment and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

First time in Rothesay and had a nice stay at the Glenburn. The room was fine and the staff were very friendly and efficient especially at breakfast and dinner time. Considering the break was so cheap we were very surprised at how good the food was. Every meal was tasty and served hot to the kitchen staff's credit.

The drink was very expensive though and we opted to go out elsewhere at night. We are not one of these tight couples you get but you were talking around £16 for 4 drinks where as the local pubs were around £10 max and we weren't willing to pay those prices for a 2nd night.

Price of drink aside we had a peaceful break and were happy with the hotel. Rothesay is a lovely island and I am sure we will be back again and will stay at this hotel. Will definitely get a room upgrade next time to get a sea view of the beautiful waterfront :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments so nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer very good value for money and if you are staying with us again I would recommend a sea view. Sorry you found the drinks a little expensive. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. Once again many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have recently returned from a shearings 5 day holiday staying at this hotel. Found it satisfactory, one of the better run Bay hotels, nice room and good service, staff very helpful, food adequate but some decent veg wouldn't go amiss! but all in all value for money, would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Back room looked out onto lawns where a group of young deer grazed most mornings and evenings a pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write your review. It is nice to see you acknowledge the good service and the staff they all work very hard and always do their very best to please. The deer that you seen at the gardens at the back of the hotel actually live on the grounds all year round so they have become part of the Glenburn team. Once again thank you for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and i stayed at the Glenburn Hotel for 5 days with National Holidays w/c 22-07-13.On the whole we had an enjoyable stay.Our room was large,clean and tidy as was the bathroom.The downside was the view(there wasn,t any). We had a large brick wall and what looked like steelwork from some kind of air conditioning system.As for the food, on a scale of 1-10 we would give it a 7.(not enough veg).The staff were very good. Our waitress was excellent.The lounge area was enormous with plenty of seating.For the smokers out there, smoking is allowed on the balcony which is covered and has plenty of seating and tables. The views from the balcony are fabulous. My wife and I did not see any of the entertainment so we cannot make a comment, Our tip is if you want any kind of view avoid room 117.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Many thanks for writing your comments on our Tripadvisor site, it's nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay, although I'm sorry to see you weren't completely happy with your room..
We do have fantastic views from the hotel, but unfortunately not every room can face these views, as with all buidings, they have a front and there has to be a back too. Once again many thanks for taking the time to write your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
113 reviews
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
315 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#2 of 17 in Rothesay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range: $93 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing