We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveler rating
361
447
216
73
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
361
447
216
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach driver our waiter dining room shearings holiday sea view entertainment room waiting staff evening entertainment beautiful building restaurant manager elvis tribute refurbished room great entertainment worked very hard meal times steep hill excellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day National Holiday to the above hotel in Rothesay. The Island is beautiful. However the hotel room was disgusting. The bathroom was dirty with hairs all over the floor, dirty sanitary wear in the bin, a hole in the sink. The bed cover over the bed was dirty and had been turned over. The bedroom window was filthy dirty with years of dirt stuck to it. After complaining to the hotel we were told we could not change rooms as the hotel was full. We were told to wait one day and the room would be cleaned by the time we returned from our trip. That was not the case on going out the next day a man with a step ladder was entering our room we thought to clean it, however that was not the case. In fact the man entered our room smoking!!!
No amount of complaining did any good, in fact one member of staff told me off for showing other customers photos of our room as well as being extremely rude and calling me a liar. If we were offered a free holiday there we would not go back to that hotel. On a more positive note the food and entertainment was good as well as the waiting staff in the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I'm sorry that you encountered problems during your stay in the Glenburn, but would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond to the comments made. The defficiencies in the cleaning should not have happened and I apologise for this, however they were rectified the next day, this was verified by the assistant manager who checked the room after the cleaners had been in before you returned from your trip. The maintenance man was the member of staff with the step ladder. He doesn't smoke, and as it has been against the law in Scotland since 2006 no staff would be smoking in the hotel as they are well aware of the law. I also think it dissapointing that you have exaggerated the conversation had at reception stating that a member of staff had called you a liar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from a three day break in Rothesay staying at this hotel. After staying here last year having a very enjoyable stay we could not wait to return.
Disappointed doesn't even come close the most rude unfriendly reception staff who could certainly do with some updated or refreshing of their customer service skills.
The room in which we paid a £21 supplement to have a view of the sea was lovely but we had the room upstairs last year with the same view without the supplement!!!
The room was dated, dusty and mouldy with wallpaper peeling at most corners of the room, the window had to be wedged open with a block of wood (provided by the hotel) ??
The cold water tap on the bath got stuck as it was rusty making the bath over flow. Also previous guests socks down the back of the radiator.

The food portions were very small and not the warmest. The only thing good about the restaurant was the manager ( very friendly chap).

I am so disappointed in this hotel as couldn't wait to return and safe to say I wont in the future!!!!
Rothesay is such a beautiful place and its very sad that such a main feature on the island is letting it down.

Room tip: book a b & b
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deborah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn, and the problems you beleive you encountered with the staff. As you will see from a great many other postings the staff are generally praised very highly for their service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Everything that has been said about this hotel is true. We had a brilliant stay and we enjoyed the entertainment every night . Didn't think the drinks were too expensive. It's a beautiful building but some of the areas in the hotel need freshening up . We will return .

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Many thanks for your review its lovely to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a beautiful building with a fantasic views over the bay which you never tire of. I will pass onto the host your comments on the entertainment and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

First time in Rothesay and had a nice stay at the Glenburn. The room was fine and the staff were very friendly and efficient especially at breakfast and dinner time. Considering the break was so cheap we were very surprised at how good the food was. Every meal was tasty and served hot to the kitchen staff's credit.

The drink was very expensive though and we opted to go out elsewhere at night. We are not one of these tight couples you get but you were talking around £16 for 4 drinks where as the local pubs were around £10 max and we weren't willing to pay those prices for a 2nd night.

Price of drink aside we had a peaceful break and were happy with the hotel. Rothesay is a lovely island and I am sure we will be back again and will stay at this hotel. Will definitely get a room upgrade next time to get a sea view of the beautiful waterfront :-)

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments so nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer very good value for money and if you are staying with us again I would recommend a sea view. Sorry you found the drinks a little expensive. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. Once again many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have recently returned from a shearings 5 day holiday staying at this hotel. Found it satisfactory, one of the better run Bay hotels, nice room and good service, staff very helpful, food adequate but some decent veg wouldn't go amiss! but all in all value for money, would definitely go again.

Room tip: Back room looked out onto lawns where a group of young deer grazed most mornings and evenings a pretty sight to greet you on awakening
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write your review. It is nice to see you acknowledge the good service and the staff they all work very hard and always do their very best to please. The deer that you seen at the gardens at the back of the hotel actually live on the grounds all year round so they have become part of the Glenburn team. Once again thank you for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews