We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveler rating
356
440
206
73
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
440
206
73
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach driverour waiterdining roomsea viewshearings holidayentertainment roomevening entertainmentwaiting staffrestaurant managerbeautiful buildingrefurbished roomlimited editiongreat entertainmentsteep hillworked very hardmeal timesexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and i stayed at the Glenburn Hotel for 5 days with National Holidays w/c 22-07-13.On the whole we had an enjoyable stay.Our room was large,clean and tidy as was the bathroom.The downside was the view(there wasn,t any). We had a large brick wall and what looked like steelwork from some kind of air conditioning system.As for the food, on a scale of 1-10 we would give it a 7.(not enough veg).The staff were very good. Our waitress was excellent.The lounge area was enormous with plenty of seating.For the smokers out there, smoking is allowed on the balcony which is covered and has plenty of seating and tables. The views from the balcony are fabulous. My wife and I did not see any of the entertainment so we cannot make a comment, Our tip is if you want any kind of view avoid room 117.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Many thanks for writing your comments on our Tripadvisor site, it's nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay, although I'm sorry to see you weren't completely happy with your room..
We do have fantastic views from the hotel, but unfortunately not every room can face these views, as with all buidings, they have a front and there has to be a back too. Once again many thanks for taking the time to write your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the first time we have travelled with Shearings and to one of their own hotels. Although the hotel is a little rough around the edges you can clearly see that it is being renovated bit by bit the ball and dinning room have not long been done up, so we found it nice and it will look great once completed. Our room had a lovely view across the water the bed was clean and so was the bathroom, the food was excellent, varied and well cooked and so was the service the staff were lovely and always keen to help. I would definitly recommend this hotel, but be aware it is a 200 yr old building so enjoy the character and for the price we paid it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

It's great to see you enjoyed your first Shearings visit and we really appreciate you taking the time to write your comments on our site. Our main aim is to offer great value holidays and it's nice to see our guests acknowledging this, and many thanks for the great comments you made about the food and service you received, I'll be sure to pass this on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just back from another enjoyable weekend and the added brilliant weather made our stay even more enjoyable .It is over five years since we last had a break at the Glenburn .My wife and I knew that the hotel is tired and in areas require refurbishment but we did think the ballroom which has been refurbished to a high standard and is on par to a five star hotel The bedroom was a bit tired and required a redecoration beds were spotlessly clean and comfortable plenty hot water at all times of the day my wife had a problem with the hairdryer which she reported on the first night on way to dinner the receptionist took note and said she would have that attended to the following morning to our surprise whilst we were at the entertainment that night the hair dryer was replaced can't get better service than that .The dining staff were very efficient ,great service and excellent quality hot food served with a great choice menu absolutely no complaints .We will be back soon a big thanks to all staff and the entertainment team for making a great weekend for my wife and myself

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Many thanks for posting your review on our site, it really is very much appreciated. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your short break at the Glenburn, and will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff, and we look forward to seeing you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Two couples took a three night special deal over the weekend. We had all stayed at the Glenburn before but a long time ago. First impressions were very poor as the reception area is very dull and has that peculiar odor common to hospitals and old folks homes. The route to our room was not much better and the room itself was very tired with creaking floorboards that felt like it was only the carpet preventing one falling down a hole. It is a bit sad to see this grand old lady of a hotel sliding into her dotage.
However, knowing that this is a hotel catering for the low cost coach trip holiday market and not expecting too much we did enjoy our stay. The ballroom has been fully refurbished to a good standard and so has the dining room. The food was better than expected with the starters and mains being of very good quality though the sweets were of the "school lunch" variety.
What really made the difference was the excellence of the staff. They were all wonderful. Service was swift, reliable and cheerfully delivered. Every request was promptly dealt with to our complete satisfaction.
These are people making the most of an old and challenging building to provide cheap and cheerful accommodation to mainly elderly holiday makers and they do it very well. If you accept it for what it is you will be well satisfied but if you are looking for modern luxury accommodation look else where.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks very much for having taken the time to post your comments on our site, we really appreciate you doing this. We are getting round to refurbishing the hotel, we had some rooms done this year and have started planning for several more early next year. It's really good to see that you appreciated the value we offered, and the comments about the staff are greatly appreciated and I'll be sure to pass them on. Once again many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just had 2 nights mid week in the Glenburn and thoroughly enjoyed it as we only decided the day before that we would go. Surprised this hotel doesn't do their own mid week 2 night breaks as once the coaches are in they know which rooms are empty. They only do Fri-Sat or Sat-Sun. We booked ours with Late Rooms. We arrived on the island on the 12 o clock ferry from Wemyss and it was pouring with rain so they let us check in early .Fortunately it was a lovely sunny warm day next day. The room we had was very nice on the ground floor. It was a large room with very comfy beds and super clean bedding. The bathroom looked as though it had been renovated and the towels were white and fluffy.. The food was excellent with very good choices for breakfast and dinner. Nothing was too much trouble for the dining room staff or any of the other staff. Lovely lounge areas and a super ballroom with good entertainment I have read some reports on here that make me think I didn't stay in the same hotel that they did. What do people want. The hotel is a bit tired in places but it is very clean, good rooms comfortable beds and excellent food.What more could you ask for. Some people are never satisfied.

Room Tip: A sea view room is available
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillygilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Many thanks for the fantastic review you have posted on our site, it really is good to see that you enjoyed your couple of nights with us. I'm delighted to see such positve comments about the staff, they really do work hard and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews