We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveler rating
356
440
206
73
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
440
206
73
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach driverour waiterdining roomsea viewshearings holidayentertainment roomevening entertainmentwaiting staffrestaurant managerbeautiful buildingrefurbished roomlimited editiongreat entertainmentsteep hillworked very hardmeal timesexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife Jean and I stayed at this hotel for a Friday to Monday tour, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and on this beautiful Island.
The Hotel and staff are lovely, special thanks to Rita our lovely waitress who served our lovely meals, to the cleaning staff and to all the bar staff, not forgetting the managers /manageresses
who met us as we got off the coach.
The hotel is lovely and we loved the lounge and bar that looked out over the bay where we seen some fantastic sunsets.
No complaints at all, room was lovely. Thanks to everyone on this 'Island of Dreams' hope to return in the future.
Stan & Jean Spence Consett, County Durham.

Room Tip: If you pay a bit more for a sea view it is a lovely view. someone said the best rooms are on the ground floor, we had a rear room and it was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. The outlook from the hotel over the bay is second to none and it is lovely when guests appreciate the views. I will pass your comments onto Rita she will be delighted to know that she has been mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went with National holidays had a seaview room hotel a bit tired but you can see that its n done up bit by bit the hotel may have been tired but the enthusiasm and excellence service from all the staff more than made up for it the food was fab and you even were waited on hand and foot I would definitely go back again as the isle of bite itself is beaut!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2giffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a great review. We have a great team of staff here at the hotel and it is lovely that you have experienced that. We have a refrubishment plan in place for the bedrooms but as you can image with the size of the buliding it takes time. I will pass on your great comments to the staff they will appreciate them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from another break at the Glenburn. Had a lovely time as usual. Meals were excellent. Our Polish waiter Slawek was very smart, friendly and efficient when serving tables. It was great to see Head waiter David and Archie again. Great guys! We had great rooms too. Absolutely love being at the Glenburn. Great staff in all areas of the Hotel. Thank you all. The only possible addition I can think of to an already great Hotel would be a method of internet access in rooms, whether wired or wireless, but this is very much a personal choice and does not detract from the Glenburn experience in the slightest as there are plenty of other things to do in Rothesay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagsB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for posting your review its great to see that you know some of the staff so well. We are lucky that we have had some of our staff with us for a good number of years. I will pass on your comments to Davie, Archie and Slawomir they will appreciate it. And the good news is we are getting Wi Fi in October. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

After I recently had a total knee replacement my wife and I decided to take a Shearings mid week break to the beautiful Isle Of Bute, from the start of the break to the end of the break our driver Dave made us really welcome onto his coach, we stayed at the Glenburn Hotel in Rothesay, the hotel is dated but everything was really clean and everything worked, all the staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly and can not do enough for you, the food was very nice and plenty full, we would definitely stay at the Glenburn again, in all the holiday was superb from start to finish and we would definitely recommend this Shearings break to anyone.

Dave and Pat from Halifax

Room Tip: Its well worth the suppliment to get a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave_S74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Many thanks for writing your review so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have great staff at the Glenburn and they always do their up most to make guests stay as comfortable as possible. Hopefully we will see you again and thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

just home from a short break and enjoyed every minute from the minute we joined the coach at gretna with the driver roy very helpful n pleasant . the meals were excellent and had great waitress sandra nothing was any trouble to her.. beds spotless n bathroom too .bedroom was a bit tired looking. room 309. but the view we had more than made up for that and i wasnt expecting it to be 5 star for the amount we paid so it wasnt a problem to us thoroughly enjoyed every minute and the staff were a credit to you we will certainly be back again to stay oh and the entertainment was excellent too thank you all x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcdowall_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. The views over the bay are fantastic its worth having the sea view. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the staff concerned and hopefully you will return some time soon. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews