We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I paid £29 for a double room with en-suite, breakfast included. Although the decor was a bit outdated and there was no way you could control the temperature of the shower. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I'm delighted to see you were pleased with your stay at the hotel, value for money is one of our main aims and it's always nice to see this appreciated. Thanks for your posting, and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    372
    178
    66
    49
See reviews for
147
498
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely hotel, bedroom very nice, lovely bedding, food was good and the waiter service brilliant, would recommend to anybody. We went on a Shearings holiday and enjoyed every minute. This hotel is not a modern one and there are areas that really need a facelift eg. the stairs carpet was worn at the edge of each step which is not a good thing and consider this quite dangerous and should be recified. All in all would return without a doubt. Thanks Glenburn and Shearings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on our site. It's always good to get your comments on your stay at the hotel. I noted your comments about the carpets, at present the priority is bedrooms, 12 of which were done in January. Unfortunately with the economic climate we are in at present we can only do a little bit at a time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

just returned from a five day holiday to this hotel,i have nothing but good things to say about this hotel,lovely staff,great food and all in all a very good hotel,would reccomend to anyone thanks glenburn hotel and thanks to tour operator shearings.

Room Tip: get a sea view room highly reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godders45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for the great review you posted on our Tripadvisor site, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your stay here and will pass on your comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I spent a weekend here in September my Second visit, it was a twin room very small but fitted our Needs, the staff are very friendly and the Hotel was almost full. It would appear it is now a place for the retired older people and the place looks like it needs some updating. we played Snooker in the Snooker room but sadly table was torn and everything a bit dated. its a shame some real investment in this Hotel could make it the best in the Clyde coast as it was many years ago. the views are second to none anywhere in the World not just Scotland its just a bit sad nobody seems to be able to see what you have there. I still enjoyed the expierence though.

Room Tip: you need to get a front Room the view will take your breath away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnglencairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on our Tripadvisor site, I'll be sure to let the team know how pleased you were. We do invest in the hotel, but in the current economic climate it's just not possible for the real investment you mention. As you possible noticed from many other postings it would appear many of our guests feel we do offer great value for money, by keeping the prices as keen as we do it doesn't leave a lot for major projects, so progress is a little slow. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The booking was last minute and proved to be a great decision. The trip was through Shearings Coaches and our set off point was at Normanton. One point I will say at this stage is that if you are going on this sort of trip then take your own car to the set off point. It does save a lot of time getting home from there.
The trip to the hotel was quite long and involved a cross country trip to Washington Tyne and Weir. If this is a regular pick up point then as a regular driver I would say this adds at least an hour onto the journey. In our instance we had a breakdown en-route which was quickly rectified by the efficiency of the firm and the coach drivers.
Once at the hotel after the journey, we were quickly in for our evening meal and were pleasantly surprised by the meal. It was very good and served very quickly.
Our room was, as previously described by Maureen, tired. A point I cant argue with but the cleanliness was excellent. Drawing the curtains in the morning opened up to us the full vista from the hotel of the bay. STUNNING. Once we had taken our breakfast which was very filling, we ventured out and saw for the first time the full frontage of the hotel. It is a sight to behold, the frontage is wonderful and commands a superb position on the hillside. The interior also has some character features. The town is moments away and there are several shops to see and the tourist information is based just past the ferry terminal.
We cant comment on the tour to Dunoon as we didnt go but others who went said it was ok and they had enjoyed the trip more that Dunoon itself. The informational tour of the island you get as part of the package is very good and interesting.
Both drivers we had were good at their job and interesting to listen to.
As far as the hotel is concerned there are areas that are dated. but the cleanliness overrides that. The staff are not just efficient, they are friendly, attentive and helpful. In particular I would pick out our waiter Slawek. Great sense of humour, speedy and works very hard. When we asked was he Polish his comment was, "Yep another one" and that with a scots accent was really amusing.
Shearings offered this to us on a five day break, four nights, full breakfast, three course evening meal and four free branded drinks per person per day. (insane), for very little money. The value of what you get here is extremely good and I would recommend this hotel and the break to anyone.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a sea view. Even in Standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davecee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Many thanks for the fanatstic review you posted, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and it's great to see you thoroughly enjoyed your break on Bute, it really is a lovely island. I noted your comment on the hotel being tired, we do have a program of refurbishment, and had several rooms done this year. Unfortunately with the economic climate we're living in at present it's just not possible to do everything at once, but each year we do invest back into the hotel. Once again many thanks for your review and I'll pass on your comments to Slaweck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed Feb 2013 ok some of its decor is "tired" but overall great value for money. Staff pleasant. "Dave" great extremely helpful 10/10 for his service . Food excellent. Entertainment very good. going back in March as such good value.

Room Tip: worth extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I was really pleased to read your posting and delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay, It's nice when people appreciate the value for money breaks we offer at the hotel. See you in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights, booked a sea view & was upgraded to a superior room which was very basic & in need of refurbishment, I was very disappointed as this was a xmas present for my partner & felt it was a let down,, windows were filthy toilets on ground floor disgustng with toilet seats missing & a traffic cone @ out of order cubicle, food was very basic we only dined once for evening meal & once for breakfast , that was enough, all the years we have came to Rothesay we have wanted to stay in the Glenburn , unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I was dissapointed to read your posting on our site, but appreciate the opportuhity to respond to your comments. I'm a bit surprised regarding your comments about the superior room, basic and in need of refurbishment. It is not that long since we had these rooms refurbished and as for being basic, I'm not really sure as to what more you would expect to have in them as they have all the facilities advertised. You mention there being a traffic cone in the toilets. This is a yellow warning cone advising people that the floor may be wet and therfore a slip hazard used by the cleaning staff. There was a toilet out of order which was repaired when the maintenance man returned from his rest days. I'm sorry the food on offer did not suit your taste, but as you may notice from the many of the postings before yours and indeed the posting after, it's clear that it meets with the approval of the vast majority of our guests. We are not four or five star rated, we don't pretend to be something we're not. What we do try to offer is excellent value for money and it would appear that most of our guests who stay appreciate this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#12 of 18 in Rothesay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing