We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely break with Shearings at the Glenburn Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A lovely hotel. Probably one of the best belonging to Bay Hotels. The one thing that can be always guaranteed with Bay Hotels is the relaxing atmosphere as you walk in. The reception staff were very attentive and efficient. The lift was very modern, no creaking (something worth a mention if you've ever stayed at some of the other Bay Hotels). Our room, on the third floor, was quite spacious and had undergone some modernisation. Very clean. It had a great view of the bay with the ferry coming in. The facilities in the room were good, the normal kettle, tea and coffee....and a teapot, which was quite unusual. The bed was very comfortable.
The meals were good, the waiting staff were nice and friendly. The Hungarian waitress, whose name I can't quite remember, was lovely.
The communal rooms were lovely, comfortable and very clean.
If anything let it down it was the lack of space to park cars, although we were lucky and managed to park in the grounds when we needed to.
All in all it was an excellent hotel. The staff were a credit. Very well run. We will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for your fanatstic review, I'm not sure some of my colleagues would agree with your first line but it's nice to get some bragging rights over them. We really pleased you enjoyed your break with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Although the interior of the hotel has obviously seen better days, the newer parts of the hotel like the dining room and the ballroom, as well as the exterior are excellent.
My room was in need of some repair here and there but more importantly, was spotlessly clean.The rather old TVs with only 6 channels could do with updating.
The food was excellent and the (mostly young Eastern European) staff a credit to the hotel - always friendly and polite.
The entertainment in the ballroom was good, the resident house band were far too bland for me , but the resident host/compare/all round entertainer - Gary was really good. Not only was he a good "turn" but he worked hard at it, you could tell he doesn't just turn up, "go through the motions", perform and go, he grafted and genuinely cared if people were enjoying themselves-again a credit to the hotel and the Ray Charles tribute act was excellent - very funny but finished a little early.
The cocktail bar and lounge basically isn't what it says and needs refurbishing and could possibly do with the big TV showing sports events - on a wet Sunday afternoon with nowhere to go, the chance to have an afternoon drink and watch whichever match was on would have been very appealing and I feel the hotel misses a chance of increasing bar takings at such times.
If the hotel wants to broaden its' appeal to also attract a slightly younger market as well as the more "experienced" market that it caters for really well ,it could do with installing wifi and I'd also recommend vending machines scattered throughout the hotel and on each residential floor-the opportunity to buy a cold drink and snack anytime day or night without having to move far from your room would not only be handy but also very profitable.
Most importantly though, the hotel gets the important things right, it is excellent value for money, with staff that are efficient, friendly and they seem to genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. The interior could do with refurbishing but is spotlessly clean and the food and entertainment is good. I've seen other complaints about this hotel , but I couldn't agree with them. it's not full of 80 year olds either , which is something I've seen on a few reviews.
Thanks all at The Glenburn for a really good weekend,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Many thanks for the great review you have posted on our site, we really appreciat you taking the time to do this. It's nice to see, despite a couple of things you feel we should look at, you felt we get the important things right, I will be delighted to pass on your comments to all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Glenburn for 4 days on a National coach holiday. The views are stunning and whilst the hotel, in places, shows a need for refurbishing we were comfortable and very well looked after. The staff were all excellent; efficient, attentive and friendly and the entertainment was surprisingly good. It was a nice change to have all the meals served to us and the food was plentiful, piping hot and very tasty. All in all, to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sggoldthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

It's great to see you have enjoyed your short break with us, and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on our site, and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having just arrived back from this brilliant hotel, we wish we're back. We booked this short break with National Holidays for four days, and our holiday started the minuet we got on the coach. As soon as we had picked up at all the pick-up points, the driver introduced his-self as Clive and told us where we were heading and where we would be stopping. He was very polite and knew quite a lot of knowledge about the areas we were passing. When we got to the ferry terminal we had to get off the boat and go up to the deck where there was a small shop which sold tea,coffee and snacks. By the time we had a cuppa we were at our destination and from the ferry terminal the hotel was only 5minuets away. The Hotel is quite a large one, but it never took us long to get checked in. The rooms had tea and coffee making facilities which we replenished every day and there was always plenty of HOT water. When we went down for our evening meal we were greeted by a young gentlemen and he looked after us for our meals during our stay. He was very polite and couldn't do enough to help. We found out he was Polish and his name was Slowak. The food was of really good quality and there was plenty. There was a good choice as well. The evening entertainment was of high standard. On Friday there was a Elvis Tribute act which was really good and on Saturday there was a Everly Brothers Tribute act which were very good. On Sunday Gary the entertainment host sang. There are different tribute acts on every Saturday and I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Many thanks for the fantastic review you have posted on our site, you really seem to have enjoyed your break , especially the entertainment. I'll be delighted to pass on you kind words to the staff and especially Slowak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had an excellent weekend at the Glenburn in Rothesay. The food, staff, entertainment + facilities were all excellent. It was a tribute to the everly brothers weekend and it was very good. The resident band performed both Friday and Saturday and were also very good. The service in the dining room was very efficient and staff were so pleasant .The bedrooms and some of the paintwork in the hallways needed touching up but I wouldn't let that bother you as everything else is of very high standard. We will definitely return and it was excellent value at only £69 per person for 2 nights half board.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post this fabulous review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the cabaret weekends are very popular and we recieve some great feedback.
our in-house duo are called Limited Edition, Marianne & John and our resident compare is called Gary, i will pass on your comments to the entertainers and to the restaurant team. we look forward to seeing you again soon, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We're just home from a weekend at Rothesay's Glenburn Hotel (2-4 November). Can not fault it. Staff friendly, food excellent and plentiful, room very clean, and there was entertainment of music, bingo, and films if that was what was wanted. Lots of space for a big crowd, a 'quiet' lounge, the views from the hotel are magnificent: and the autumn weather for 2 of the 3 days was beautiful. It was amazingly cheap at £69. Quite unbelievable for this weekend's holiday.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that it is all-important at this time of year, since bedrooms are only for sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Many thanks for writing your response we really do appriecate it. We have great staff and it is lovely when this is recongnised by our guests. We like to think that we do provide good value for money with our breaks and our entertainment program is proving very popular. Once again thank you for a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here last weekend (Fri/Sat/Sun night 26/27/28 Oct 2012). We booked via Laterooms.com and it cost us £128.00 for Dinner, Bed & Breafast AND evening entertainment. Although the room we were allocated was OK, we decided to pay an extra £117.00 to upgrade to a Superior room with sea view. Even with the extra, we thought the whole weekend was reasonably good value for money.
Meals: Breakfast was good: lovely poached eggs and cumberland sausages. Dinner was variable (but not bad) although the choice was a little limited. Justin, our waiter for the three days, was reasonably attentive.
Bar: The lounge area was comfortable and the bar staff polite and friendly.
The entertainment was the star of the show (and not expected): Limited Edition was pretty good, the Detroit Twins were excellent and full of energy - really brought Motown back with their energetic moves. Gary was great, particularly on Sunday when he had trhe room to himself.
Reception: On arrival Leanne(?) was helpful and friendly. The rest of the time the Reception staff seemed to like to hide in the back.
Our Superior room: 210, was not really that superior. It was reasonably comfortable and definitely spacious. However, the cheap plastic table lamps, and iffy TV reception were under par.
Parking: I was scared to move the car once I'd parked it. One night I had to leave the car on the sea front below the hotel!
Walking up on the hill behind the hotel was great.
Would we stay here again? At these prices - definitely. At full price, whatever that is, I'm not so sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the entertainment and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Gary and Leanne. If you are coming to the Glenburn again you can per-book carparking at £5 a day that way you don't have to worry about finding a space. Once again thank you for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
114 reviews
8 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
1,007 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
315 reviews
10.8 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range: $70 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing