We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Nearby Hotels
St. Ebba B & B(Rothesay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howards Way(Rothesay)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardyne(Rothesay)
$94
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Argyle House(Rothesay)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveler rating
329
418
189
68
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
329
418
189
68
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour waitercoach driverdining roomnational holidayssea viewshearings holidayentertainment roombay hotelsevening entertainmentworked very hardwaiting staffshearings hotelsrestaurant managerelvis tributebeautiful buildinglimited editionbar prices
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just back from the weekend at the glenburn hotel.the hotel is situated very close to the ferry and shops which is good.the hotel is great and the new showbar is a fantastic place to have a drink, listen to great music and have a dance .great idea well done.the rooms are big and very clean.the staff are friendly and would like to thank archie the waiter in the dining room always has a smile on his face even at 8am in the morning.i have read a few reviews and would like to point out that all ages go to this hotel.we had such a nice time we are booking in again next month for 3 nights not 2 .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunworshipper012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Many thanks for the great review you have posted on our site we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. We're very pleased with the new entertainment area especially now our cabaret weekends have started for the winter months. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our Archie, he really is a favourite with the guests. I'd also like to thank you for your comments regarding the age group that stay at the hotel, to read some others you'd think it was little more than an old folks home, which really is misleading, some people just can't accept they're no longer kids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break with Shearings. The hotel was fantastic, food excellent as was the service. The staff were so helpful, it was a real treat staying here. The entertainment was first class. Our room was lovely, very clean and fresh towels everyday. Our coach driver Brian was excellent, very informative throughout the whole of the trip, nothing was too much trouble at all for him and he made the journey so enjoyable. For those reading negative reviews I would say we were completely satisfied with this hotel and would go back to stay anytime. Overall great hotel, great value for money and we had such a good time, thank you to all the staff at the Glenburn for making our trip such an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Try and book a seaview room if possible, well worth the extra money, supplement of £18 per person with Shearings
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

It's great to get such a fantastic review such as yours, and I'm delighted to read how much you've enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn. As the GM of the hotel I know how important it is to have a good team and I'm very fortunate to have such friendly staff working here, and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to them. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on our site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and i spent a very enjoyable 4 days at this hotel on a shearings coach tour,8th to 12th of october. Never been to Rothesay before but found it to be a very beautiful location. We were blessed with lovely weather,and one day we walked around the bay to Port. Ballatyne ,about 3 miles,beautiful .Another day we walked in the other direction ,again spectacular views. The trip around the island was very interesting,and the scenery magnificent. The hotel was good with nice side views of the bay ,room 341 spacious and very clean,. The showbar was new and very smart and the mc gary very competent,and entertainment was quite good and enjoyable. The restaurant .and food was also good as was the waiter service. To sum up no complaints about this hotel ,my advice is book and enjoy.

Room Tip: choose a sea view ,spectacular
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianandchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Many thanks for the lovely review you have posted on our site, I'm delighted to see that you have enjoyed your break with us. The island really is lovely and a great place to explore with the stunning scenery and varied wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned after a Mon-Friday stay at this hotel. The staff were very good and helpful, nothing was a problem. We were with National Holidays and our driver Derek was excellent. We have had a fabulous time. There was a good choice of menu and plenty of variety. Yes the hotel was a little shabby in parts but it was very clean. It must cost a fortune to keep a place like this decorated to a high standard, some of the rooms have been upgraded and you can stay in them for an extra charge. The taxi from the ferry costs £2.90 which I would think would be the minimum charge. This was our first visit to the Island and we shall certainly be returning. This very beautiful island is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Extra charge for rooms with a bay view but worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldenoldie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are please that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass on you comments to chef am sure he will be pleased. again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

we stayed at the Glenburn four nights, at the end of the day you get what you pay for, having said that they could do so much more to clean the place up, lots of chipped paint work every where, the rooms were very basic dull and weary in our room the curtains were rotten and badly stained, the sink was blocked and dirty water coming back up the plug hole, on the third day the shower packed up completely.the coached trips were a waste of time as the drivers did not speak at all, they had no knowledge of the area which was very disappointing as we had paid good money for them, one driver even confessed to never having done the trip before and had been brought over the night before to fill in,the food was very basic and a lot of it was either frozen or out of a packet, never again with Shearings as they own all the Bay Hotels we will be giving them a wide berth in the future.

Room Tip: don't bother
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

I'm sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn, as you can see from the many reviews before and after yours this is not normally the type of comments we receive, especially regarding the food. I apologise for what would appear to have been a disapointing stay, but would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews