We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from shearings hotel break.read some bad reviews,very worried what we would find,as soon as we got inside made to feel very welcome.room with sea view was lovely.food fantastic excellent choice,plates always hot,as was the food,well cooked,the chef is fantastic,waiters Archie and Paul although busy,always polite and funny.staff in the hotel couldn't do enough for you,cleaners always spoke to you and we had clean towels every day.cabaret first class,Debbie was brilliant,loved the pipers and dancers.only down side was Colin our driver first coach trip we have been on were the driver didn't say anything about Scotland he had no knowledge at all .sorry lochs and glens for us next time,drivers tell us about Scotland and do excursions every day.

Room Tip: Room310 sea view very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripper243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and also mentioning our staff they really appreciate when they get a mention and I will be sure to pass on your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the entertainment and yes Debbie is fantastic and she is a regular with us if you fancy seeing her again. The views across the bay are fantastic and it is worth having a room with a view. Once again thank you for taking the time to post onto our site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    356
    165
    60
    48
See reviews for
140
463
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just spent a three night break here - the hotel is very impressive, overlooking the bay. It is, I have to say, a little tired and threadbare in places, but my room was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable with a great view. The food was lovely with a varied choice for each meal, and our waitress worked her little socks off. Excellent value for money and a good location, perhaps 15 minutes walk from the centre of Rothesay. Perhaps it would not be so easy for anyone with mobility problems and no transport to get into town, as it involved a walk down a rather steep bank, but for me the location was marvellous and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our site. Appreciate your comments on the waitress, comfort and the food I will make sure this is passed on to the relevent departments. We have done a considerable amount to the hotel over the years but a building of this size it is ongoing. But once again thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Glenburn at the beginning of September and thought that it was a clean, spacious,friendly hotel. The breakfasts were excellent as were the dinners, and the staff efficient. The rooms were quite old fashioned but warm and clean. We did find the creaky floors annoying at first but it didn't exactly ruin our stay!
The holiday was great value. We relaxed, had fun, explored a place we'd never been to before and met some lovely people. What's not to like!?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Many thanks for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your break at the Glenburn and really appreciate you posting your comments on our site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie in Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I are just back from a three night stay at The Glenburn. I'm a line dancer and I was in Rothesay for the 21st Linedance Festival weekend. We have stayed there a couple of times and enjoyed staying there. This trip was different. We were staying in Room 406! There is no shower, a huge crack in the bathroom sink and the toilet pan was right up to the edge of the doorway. The window rattled all night and kept me awake. When I approached the receptionist and complained about the missing shower she was very sarcastic and told us how to use the spray hose attached to the taps while sitting in the bath. Our waiter in the restaurant, Zoli, was perfect. Very polite, efficient and a credit to this hotel. The food was very good and there was a menu to choose from. I would think twice before booking the Glenburn Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. I was in Room 406 which is on lower ground level. A strange numbering system!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I'm sorry your stay was not completley to your satisfaction, but appreciate the kind comments you made regarding the food and the staff. We do have several rooms where we are unable to install proper fixed showersand felt that by fixing the spray to the taps we were at least reducing the problem of there not being a shower. If booking again if you mention at the time of booking your preference for a shower we always try to ensure these requests are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

we had a short break in the Glenburn hotel Rothsey Isle of Bute, the food was good but the Hotel is looking a little tired, I went there 15 years ago and it was lovely but little seems to have been done to it apart from moving the Entertainment upstairs, their were a lot of old people their and our bedroom had 2 steep steps up to the bathroom which was a bit risky in the middl of the Night when we were half asleep, the staff were lovely and nothing was to much trouble. We found parking a little restricted, their was hardly any spaces as all the Coaches parked in the grounds. overall we had a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirleyh187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our site. It was nice of you to mention the staff, they really do appreciate being recognised by our guests. We have done quite a considerable amount to the hotel over those 15 years, but with a building of this size it's an never ending task. We do have a refurbishment programme in place and as you say the entertainment has been moved upstairs to the ballroom, which for many years was not in use and was totally refurbished last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a Shearings 5 day break. The hotel had lots of character which I liked. The staff were very helpful and the food was very good with a choice for breakfast and dinner. Excellent value for money. Our driver Roy was excellent very informative and witty which was good. The only little fault was the towels were not changed in the week. If this is a retirement home then reserve us room 243 with the beautiful view in 15 years time and we will gladly watch the world go by!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room you wont disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunlover51Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I'd like to thank you for the lovelyreview you have posted on our site, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. I'm delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay. I was amused to see you've still got 15 years to go before retiring here, you'd think from some of the other comments posted on our site the majority staying here were already living on borrowed time.
Once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night Friday to Monday superb stay at the Shearings Glenburn hotel-Rothesay. The hotel compliments the island (of Bute) overlooking the bay. The promenade gardens are beautifully well kept. The hotel is awe inspiring as you stand on the promenade and look across and up. First impressions--a building of beauty, quality and character. Cleanliness comes to mind--the foyer, rooms, lounges and ballroom etc. constantly being "looked after" by the staff. To manager Robert Cameron--please convey our thanks. The dining room is very well laid out and thank you to David -- restaurant manager, and to our waiter Vytas, but especially to (head) chefs Gordon and Richie for nourishing and well presented meals. To Anna, Karen and Mellissa -- courteous, helpfull and obliging. All in all, a memorable (value for money) weekend.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Many thanks for the fantastic review and the lovely comments you have posted on our site, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this and are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your short stay with us. It's really good of you to praise the staff so much, they really do try hard, and it will be a great pleasure passing on your remarks to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#1 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing