We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints at all. The Glenburn is wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Recently returned from the Glenburn and had a wonderful time. Am tired of reading the negative reviews sent by some guests about the Glenburn. How much are these guys paying for their stay? The way they go on you would think they are paying a fortune! The Glenburn is probably the cheapest place to stay in Rothesay and the BEST! Spotted one couple examining the famous 'Tartan carpet' and peering through doors! Get OUTSIDE and enjoy your holiday and stop looking for faults! Well said to the last reviewer sirfindo about the 'brigade'! We always have a great time and were fortunate enough on this occasion to have our favourite waiter Archie to serve us. He is a gem and an asset to this hotel. Thanks to the management and all staff for doing such a great job. Well done. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MagsB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Many thanks to you for the lovely review you posted on our Tripadvisor site, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. One of our main policies is to offer value for money and it really is good to know that people realise this and appreciate what we are doing. Once again many thanks for taking the time to comment on the Glenburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

809 - 815 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

Always wished we could stay at the Glenburn, finally got the chance. It is still an iconic building on the island and you can see it has been a place of real quality. On arrival, no one to be found at reception, a walk through the huge lounge area to the downstairs bar, revealed, no one to be found..?. Eventually, sorted out with room, although not superb by any means, it was clean and the bed was ok. The Glenburn is home to the vast economy class coach tours, this has to be commended in this present economic climate, last face it, it is sink or swim time for more than just hotels, you have to diversify. Unfortunately, the majority of the customers seemed hellbent on getting their holiday for next to nothing, and this was the grand topic of all conversation. Gary, the entertainment manager, was hilarious, he has a great voice and is very funny, worth a visit on his own. Cooked breakfast was good, although cold. Served quickly and efficiently. All in, it was well worth the visit and would hope to return when the buy none, get ten free brigade are long gone.

Room Tip: If you see buses, drive on. Or you will find yourself in a strange twilight zone, where you seem out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirfindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on our Tripadvisor site. I'm sorry to see that you feel the guests who travelled on the coaches were maybe not entitled to be in the Glenburn, which would be a bit of an odd opinion to have given the Hotel is owned by Shearings who are the biggest holiday coach operator in Britain. We certainly haven't diversified to the coach business due to the recent recession, we have in fact operated this way very successfully now for more than twenty years, swimming through, and surviving, many previous recessions thanks to our coaches which are our core business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay here and it was actually ok. We had booked a weekend package of dinner, bed & breakfast for £79 and after reading other reviews wasnt expecting too much. The hotel itself is very very tired. There were 9 of us in our group and we had 4 rooms between us. Each of the rooms were clean enough although all the furnishings and the decor dated back to the 80's and were in desperate need of a makeover. In fact, other than the ballroom, everywhere in the hotel needed a thorough makeover! However, in saying that, the food was ok (not brilliant but edible enough) and the staff were very attentive and efficient in their duties. We had to make a complaint about a tap in our bathroom not working and by the time we got back from our breakfast it had been fixed - very impressed with that!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k_coulson0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our Tripadvisor site, I'm sorry to see that you appear to be a bit disappointed with the hotel. You do mention you get what you pay for, however we really do believe we offer great value for money and as you may have noticed from many other postings most people would agree. Once again many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

i have just returned from a weekend at the glenburn hotel and must say everything about it was excellent.from the staff to the food and entertainment.great value for the money we paid.i will certainly be back.thanks to everyone at this hotel.........

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maryann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Many thanks for the great review you gave the Glenburn, we're delighted that you enjoyed your break and I will pass on your kind words to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on a National holidays trip that the carpet was threadbare and the curtains were badly ripped. Also friends with us stayed in 219, their curtains were also ripped.
The food at this hotel was really good and the staff were very friendly. I borrowed an extra pillow though and it had blood stains on it. Given a little care this hotel would have been given top marks. It has a lovely view over the Clyde and has character. The evening entertainment is varied and enjoyable.
National holidays let us down badly with this trip and probably would not go with them again.

Room Tip: Avoid room as carpet is dangeerous to elderly people, they would trip on the carpet as it is threadb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ste56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Im sorry you were not happy with your room, we do have an on going programme of refurbishment, but as you can imagine with a building of this size it is impossible to do everything at once. I am pleased to see that apart from your room you were happy with the other aspects of your break. Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on our Tripadvisor site

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Just came back from a five night stay at the Glenburn and i must say that it was a pleasant stay , the staff were excellent nothing was too much . The room was very comfortable and clean and the food was very good with a multiple choice , entertainment was excellent , the Scottish dancers and pipe band were very profesional , all in all a lovely holiday at a great hotel with caring and professional staff

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank reddoor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

What a smashing review!, it really is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn and I'll be sure to let the staff know what you wrote on our Tripadvisor site. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Went on a 5 day Shearings trip,great value for the money even considering we paid extra for an upgraded room with a sea view.The room was very comfortable with ample drawers and wardrobe space for our clothes etc. The public lounges and dining room were very spacious and well decorated and the concert room on the first floor with its own bar was ideal. On arrival at the Hotel shearings gave all their guests a £25 credit voucher which could be used used to pay for drinks etc,at the Hotel,we found this a useful contribution to our drinks bill.The Hotel is built on a hillside and it takes about 10 minutes to walk into Rothesay. When returning on foot older guests would find it a little daunting to climb the short but steep hill back to the hotel.The views across the bay from the Hotel are beautiful.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank niltrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

I was delighted to read the coments you posted on our Tripadvisor sight, it really is good to get feedback from our guests and it's really nice to know that you have enjoyed your break with us. I'm pleased to see the in house credit voucher came in useful too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
114 reviews
8 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
1,007 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
315 reviews
10.8 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range: $70 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing