We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveler rating
356
440
206
73
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
440
206
73
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach driverour waiterdining roomsea viewshearings holidayentertainment roomevening entertainmentwaiting staffrestaurant managerbeautiful buildingrefurbished roomlimited editiongreat entertainmentsteep hillworked very hardmeal timesexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
1,030 - 1,035 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The GLENBURN is a Shearings hotel,and caters mostley for their clients, not quite sure about the previous comments, but we had a great time.
Fair enough some of the decor and furnishing is a little dated, but for what was paid for our 5 day stay,there is no way hundred of thousands could be paid out for ALL the renovations to be done at once.You have the option of upgrading your room.
My room was 109 with full sea view this was stunning. and was spotlessly clean with piping hot water, the room was cleaned every day,we also had room 242 which has a large bathroom and side sea view also spotlessly clean. Some noise could be heard from the entertainment in the evening, but this stopped at 11pm,couldn't comment on the bar service as we did not have a drink whilst we were there.
With 3 coaches in, the service in the dining room was first class, Many Thanks Christof and all the kitchen and waiting staff. the food was great and everyone was friendly.
Our coach driver Alan was also great, very knowledgable about the Island of Bute and all the countless other places we visited.
I can only recommend our holiday and look forward to our next shearings holiday...

Room Tip: This is ideal for Shearings customers,
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennielHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

It was great to get your comments after the poor report we received previously, it really put a spring back in our step. It helps to know we are still heading in the right direction.

With all that great weather we were had during your stay you must have seen some great sunsets from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The hotel is in need of a major refurbishment (million's), carpet's are worn/tatty, chairs in bedrooms & 'the lounge/bar area' have foam busting out & the facilities are poor. The room's (we had 103 originally) are like an institution, more tired than you'll be & are poorly appointed & cleaned. The bathroom was horrible. We upgraded to a superior room (for Superior think Standard anywhere else) for the princely sum of £39/night. I didn't want to pay £39/night to be there never mind as a supplement!

Evening meal finishes at 20.00 sharp, there is no room service & there was 3 Shearings coach loads there with us on all-inclusive deals. This meant that there was a 20-person long queue for the bar & the slowest ever bar staff serving. Think 20-minutes every time you want a round of drinks! Oh & prices are HIGH!

When we moved from 103 (hovel) to Superior (NOT) room 106, we almost moved closer to the PA system/speakers & the Artiste. So we paid for a room with live sound in your room & NOT by choice. To get our 8-month old son to sleep & remain so was a joke, This god awful din continued until 23.30

The view from the hotel over the bay & towards the highlands is stunning, to be fair the staff were friendly & Bute is a naturally beautiful place. However I'd never return to the damp dump which is known as the Glenburn Hotel.

There's a sign at the ferry port in Rothesay which says 'Haste Ye Back' but I just couldn't see the irony!

Stay there if you are either deranged, unstable or just like third best.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DHindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Staff were courteous and helpful. We went on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast coach package by Shearings. Food was excellent service fast and good varied choice. We paid a little extra for a sea view room on the top floor which was very quiet, clean and had excellent views. The location is excellent for Rothesay - 10 minutes walk and there is loads to do on the island (We visited Mount Stuart House, went for a couple of long walks, a coach tour of the island and visited a local pub to try the Whiskys !) The best thing about the break (4 days) was everything! The worst, hard to say really, I hope they can keep it up as the short holiday was also excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_and_Lilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Booked a stay at the Glenburn with friends for a nice relaxing break. We have always had a great time at the Glenburn and look forward to our stay. Unfortunately, on this occasion ,one of our party could not go due to a family illness and had to stay behind in Glasgow to be at the sick relative's bedside. We informed reception on our arrival that our friend would not be arriving and were told to phone Shearings and explain the situation to them which we did. We were then told to write to Shearings and again explain. Weeks later, we received a reply from them stating that as we hadn't taken out insurance for this break, they were unable to offer any kind of compensation. We saw the cleaner changing towels in the unoccupied (by us) room so someone else must have booked in and been given the room meant for our friend. Think this was very mean of Shearings to not offer compensation. We could have invited another friend to come along if we'd known or even grabbed someone from the promenade who could have done with a break at the Glenburn. but being honest doesn't always pay! So not only did our friend lose out on a break - she also lost her money! Pretty heartless under the circumstances we think! However, we have no complaint against the Glenburn as they are all great and make us very welcome but be warned if this misfortune happens to you, there will be NO compensation unless you take out insurance! The winners were Shearings Hotels getting paid twice for a room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MagsB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

I am sorry that your friend was unable to join you on holiday as planned. I do appreciate that this must have been disappointing for you all. When a booking is cancelled at a late stage it is not unusual for there to be some form of cancellation charge. Often customers can claim this back through their holiday insurance which customers are always advised to take out these days.
If a customer has no insurance we will always look to see if there is anything we can do to assist but we cannot always make a refund. If your friend is still unhappy I would recommend that she contacts our Customer Care Department again and asks them if there is anything else they can do.
I hope that despite this you did enjoy your stay and that you will come and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Glenburn Hotel
We booked this only ten days before we travelled with Shearings, this was our first Shearings for over thirty years as it went downhill in the early eighties.
What an improvement feeder coach was on time changeover at Gretna was good
On arrival we were given the key to room 121 a large comfortable room on the corner of the hotel we had a sea view and overlooked the green area at the back of the hotel and saw deer every morning
The room was in desperate need of a refit the curtains were difficult to open and close and to go to the bathroom involved climbing three stairs so you had to be careful at night when everything was swaying after being in the bar and drinking free drinks all night
The food at the hotel was varied and enjoyable the service was good, although at times the eastern European staff had difficulty understanding the British
The bar was often not staffed before evening dinner the lady who ran it kept disappearing which resulted in large queues
In the evening it was well staffed and with it being all inclusive it needed the extra staff
The entertainment was not that good but you cannot have everything we had a good crowd so there were plenty of laughs
Our coach driver Alan was very informative pleasant and possibly the best we have ever had
On our return day we were told via a notice in the reception cases outside your room for 7-00am breakfast at 7-15 and on the coach for 8-05 it was a rush but everyone was on the coach
When the driver did not turn up a guest went to find out if there was a problem, returning to tell us we were not going till 8-55
We were told it was a typing error they had put 8-05 instead of 8-55 we had to disembark and wait in the lounge other guests were saying this was a ploy by the hotel to get you to vacate your room early so they could get the chambermaids in to clean etc
Looking at it I think they are possibly quite right
Rothesay must have been a little gem in its heyday but like so many other UK places many shops are closed down and boarded up
Bute is a pretty place we had sunshine everyday our trips out were good except just like 40 years ago you are taken to isolated Edinburgh wool retail outlets for a couple of hours in the hope you will spend your money there
Shearings and other coach companies need to get with it these places may have been okay for our grannies but not for people of today
For what we paid it was truly good value the only down side is why do they and so many other UK hotels employ so many foreign staff

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Glenburn, we really do appreciate you doing this.
It was lovely to hear that you had given the Glenburn a 'second chance' and am pleased that you seem to have been generally happy with your accomodationand the services you received.
We are always looking at how we can improve what we do and your suggestions about your room and staffing levels are very useful.
I would just like to reassure you that the mixup regarding the coach departure times was just that, a mix up. We do not have apolicy of trying to get guests to vacate rooms earlier than necessary. Once again thank you, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Glenburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews