We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Guest Wing

View from front of Main House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from front of Main House
The Guest Wing entrance The Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View from front of Main House
The Guest Wing entrance
The Living room
Living room
Living room from other angle
Modern Kitchen
Dining for 8
Open Plan Kitchen
Downstairs Bathroom
Bathroom from other angle
Upstairs Bedroom with en-suite
2nd Photo
En-suite to upstairs double bedroom
The Main House and Gardens with 'The Guest Wing' at the Rear of building
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom 2nd photo
Dorma Bedding
Double Bedroom Downstairs
2nd photo
Bunk Bed Room with view of Deer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inspirati...
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The First Wing is about a 20 minute walk from the ferry and was very easy to find due to the monkey puzzle trees in front garden. There was plenty of parking on the driveway and it was very easy to access the quiet main road..
We were a group of six 60+ year old women and we were all delighted with the high standard of very comfortable accommodation. Everywhere was immaculate and was furnished to a high standard with lovely bedding and towels. The kitchen was well stocked with very nice dishes and cutlery and could not be faulted. There was milk in the fridge, coffee and tea in containers and fresh flowers, and toiletries in the bathrooms. There is no dishwasher but we managed fine!
The owners were extremely helpful yet unobtrusive. They recommended the Glenburn Hotel which we visited the following day and had one of the best afternoon teas we have had!
This property is extremely good value for the money we paid and we would fully recommend it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope you will return. Carolynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
So nice to receive your lovely comments and I hope the children managed to spot the seal during your stay xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
YorkDaisy
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect self catering, perfect setting.”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were 8 women staying together for 4 nights and The Guest Wing suited us down to a tee. The apartment, with 4 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms is very spacious with plenty of room for us to spread out. The kitchen had everything we needed as well as space around the table for us all to eat comfortably together.
Carolynn was very friendly and her son was kind enough to drive one of us into town and back for emergency shopping.
The setting was beautiful with a lovely little back garden. We also made use of the front garden and plenty of chairs were available for us to enjoy the outstanding view. The town is easily walkable and we made use of the friendly local taxis.
Thank you Carolynn & family for such a fantastic stay. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thank you girls and glad you enjoyed your stay. We all need emergency shopping now and again xx especially on holiday xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYNNE R
Ostend, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed April 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted with a very warm welcome from John and Carolynn they were the perfect hosts always on hand without being intrusive..The whole place was absolutely spotless we couldn't fault anything. It was all the little touches that made it so special, fresh fruit on the table, fresh flowers,coffee,sugar,milk, and all the lovely fresh towels etc...the place was so peaceful and quiet right next to the beach and only twenty lovely minutes walk into Rothesay...loved the whole island so much to see and do.. Thank you both so much for your hospitality it was second to none.. Thanks for letting us share your wee bit of secret Scotland!!!! Sorry but we will certainly be back!!! CHEERS AGAIN........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Liked least: Having to leave and go home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. It's always a pleasure to have such lovely guests. I'm glad you all had a great stay and that you enjoyed The Guest Wing so much. Hope we have the pleasure of seeing you all again.
Carolynn & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb stay, made to feel so welcome”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Due to the calmac ferry strike the owner was very accommodating in letting us stay over in the Thursday evening so we could attend a family wedding. Friendly owner, lovely place. Great for exploring the Isle of Bute, I will defiantly book again. Ps sorry Bill broke your bottle opener

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
We are always happy our bottle openers are put to good use. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJC52
Cardiff, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation - very good value”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend. The accommodation was very comfortable, freshly decorated and had everything needed for a nice stay. There were four of us, but would be plenty of room for 6+. Not much of a view from the Guest Wing windows, but just outside, a lovely view across Rothesay Bay. It was about a 15 minute walk into the centre of town. John and Carolynn were very welcoming and friendly hosts. The Isle of Bute is lovely, and we had no problems with midges in mid-June. We would stay there again, without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds, sitting room and nice bathroom
Liked least: Wi-fi access limited to part of kitchen nearest the main house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Lovely meeting you and delighted you all enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinGill...
Kinross, Perthshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more perfect”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The accommodation is spacious, comfortable, modern and well-suited to larger parties. Its location is perfect for exploring the island. It is very reassuring to have the owners literally next door to deal with any problems. We had a couple of very minor niggles which were dealt with instantaneously. The owners are the friendliest and most welcoming people you can imagine. My dad left on the Friday to go to Glasgow Airport, and because this coincided with the owner also travelling there, my dad got a lift from Wemyss Bay to the airport! They also let us bring our 3 guinea pigs (in their outdoor travel hutch). I can honestly say that my week at The Guest Wing was one of the most relaxing and fun holidays that I have had for years, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you for a wonderful time and we will most definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large spacious property and very friendly owners.
Liked least: Wi-fi was a bit temperamental.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Thank you for your kind words and we always like to help if we can. Happy we were able to drop off your dad at the airport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing