We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay in the hotel again!!!!!! Stay here at you Peril!!!!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Irvine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would never stay in the hotel again!!!!!! Stay here at you Peril!!!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Had a terrible time at this hotel. Booked it last minute and found out there was a Jazz festival on. Paid £80 for the room (with no en-suite) and were told to leave the bar as it was tickets only!!!! I think having forked out so much for so little it was a total disgrace we were told to finish our drinks and go somewhere else!!! As for the shared toilet it was filthy and we complained to staff about urine all over the floor and toilet seat!!! This is one place I would NOT reccommend to anyone wanting to visit this island. Having stayed in many local hotels around Scotland which have been smaller and cheaper this is by far the dirtiest and most unwelcoming by a long shot!!! I have even had second thoughts of going to Trading Standards it was that bad!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jpo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I haven't actually stayed in the hotel, just eaten there. Its 1 of the best places to eat on the Island.I've eaten in there loads of times & never once had a bad meal.The staff are brilliant & attentive.Its very family friendly & has baby changing facilities.It has a wide choice to choose from & caters for all tastes & very reasonable priced.A few of my favourites are the lunch bowl (soup & toastie/sandwhich) for £4.95,steak sandwich & the bruschetta & not forgetting the Club sandwich also £4.95, I ' ve had a club sandwich at the Hilton in Strathclyde which was twice the price & wasn't half as nice.If you're on Bute & looking for a no frills good food resturant then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKARLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2008

hotel rates to high for this place wasnt worth it,rooms cold and shabby,no en~suite had small walk to toilet and shower ,staff ok but not cheery or welcoming,food good and reasonably priced'and disco at night good fun,great location as just across road from ferry, a basic place with no frills so ok for young groups

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolsglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothesay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Preston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

In short, room was OK (looked like it had been recently decorated) and breakfast was OK but this premises needs to decide whether it is a hotel or the late night entertainment and drinking den of Rothesay. Until 2am the whole place shook to the sounds of Karaoke and the chances of getting any sleep were zero. Add to this, that the main square was immediately outside and full with with alcopops kids who couldn't get in for the karaoke and you had noise attack from every direction. In short don't get off the last boat and see this as the first hotel - go to your right and the tourist info centre has a list in the window of places with rooms available for the night. Wish I'd known as I might have got some sleep!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hogsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#13 of 18 in Rothesay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: 4 High Street, Rothesay PA20 9AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is situated prominently beside the harbour with spectacular views over Rothesay Bay. Offering good quality budget accommodation and excellent food, it is very popular with groups interested in fishing, walking and golfing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Esplanade Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing