We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great wee getaway”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
“A great wee getaway”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Victoria Hotel is just a stone's throw from the ferry terminal, which is really handy and overlooks the fountain, putting green, Information Centre and cinema. The breakfast was lovely with a great choice on the menu and we decided to eat in the Hotel in the evening and, even though it was a different chef from last year, when we were there, the standard was still very high.
I had chicken stroganoff on Friday and my husband had a mixed grill. Both were very tasty and not a crumb was left. On Saturday night we had fish and chips with a lovely side salad. Again, it was very tasty and fresh. There are also comfortable lounge areas if you just want to have a drink with friends. The room was bright, clean, warm and comfortable.The staff were friendly, professional and very helpful and I would recommend the Victoria to anyone going" Doon the Watter" for a break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are warmer if travelling, as we did at end of March when still cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    77
    24
    12
    2
See reviews for
38
98
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I chose to stay away from the city and commute in whilst working in Glasgow by ferry and train 1 hour 45 minutes journey. This option was a well rewarded experience relaxed for the next days work, no stress of city stereotyped hotels it was clean, good food, nice view and a ferry to work. The staff were really friendly helpful and as I left before breakfast even offered and supplied a 'packed meal ' for the trip.
I would recommend this for anyone in the area as an option in combining a holiday experience with work and it was better priced including the fares.
Well done all at the hotel and Calmac and many thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view well worth it and the morning view is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A lovely venue overlooking the winter gardens and Rothesay Bay. The jazz and the food were excellent but the organisers must pay attention to some minority jazz issues. Penman Jazz have a fairly steady following in the Glasgow area and play at The Rothesay Jazz Festival. The Jazz Festival has been notable over recent years for it's steadily declining numbers and I feel part of this must be put down to the inability to satisy several minority issues. In particular one of these issues must be the provision of a small but dedicated dance area at each venue. Part of Jazz is dance and Penman Jazz, as do all jazz bands, encourage this. While attending the Jazz Festival last year there was a distinct lack of space/ provision for dancing. This was again evident at the Victoria Hotel. While there was an excellent dance floor it had been used as a table area. I can see the opportunity of the Hotel maximising profits by serving food but the overall effect of tables remaining on the dance area after dinner being served is to slowly marginalise minorities, who, over a period of time drift away as has been the case at The Jazz Festival.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thescotsmanglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your constructive review and favourable comments about the hotel which is always a great boost for our staff. We agree that The Penman Band do encourage dance and on their next visit, we will need to give a little space. Your kind of comment we like, although just one thing, let us know at the time and see if we can do something. We are not adverse to change on the day if guests are up for it and it enhances their enjoyment. You're obviously a keen jazz fan so stay with us. The Bute Festival Commitee are extremely dedicated to the cause and during these difficult times they have, in our opinion, stabilised and placed the festival on an excellent footing going forward. The island is a great location for a festival and recent Jazz Festivals have been a huge success. What's on offer this May should be no different so look out your dancing shoes and we will look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had yet another great visit last week to this lovely hotel. We upgraded to a sea view room and it was worth every penny. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The staff were very pleasant and accomodating - even when we asked for and early breakfast. Worth every penny!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are with the little extra as the views are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Booked this hotel for b&b through Itison deal. Also booked for dinner in the hotel restaurant on Saturday evening 15th February. We were absolutely delighted at the service, the cleanliness, the attention to detail like Eden toiletries, bottled water, fresh fruit, various hot drink options as well as the usual tea and coffee, a couple of little chocolates etc. The towels were lovely, fluffy and white. The bed was so comfortable too. The meal we had in the restaurant was simply delicious, we both had king prawn tempura (the best we've tasted) then I had roast lamb with puy lentils and my husband had chicken stuffed with sun dried tomatoes and mozzarella wrapped in parma ham on a mushroom and leek risotto. Delicious..... we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was nice and quiet and we were also on the third floor...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kil
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We are just back from using the itison deal for 2 nights and have very mixed feeling about this place, even if it was the off season.

Firstly, the staff with a few exceptions were very polite and generally helpful.

According to previous threads the hotel had a refurb 7 years ago, however our room was very dated with the exception of the TV and the bathroom floor. The shower head had been replaced and did not fit the holder, leading to it spinning and spraying all over the room. Indeed on the second morning it took so long to have a shower that when the fire alarm went off we were told, quote: "the steam from our shower tripped the fire alarm"
The radiator clicked and gurgled the entire 2nd night (we turned it off the 1st night due to the noise, but it was too cold; 3degrees without double glazing) to the extent it woke us up during the night and I am a heavy sleeper. I was going to report this to reception when we checked out but we never even got a 'how was your stay" purely a "thanks" when we handed the key over.
Pleased we got this on a deal, would not have wanted to pay full price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Well there you go. Just when we thought we could please everyone! In reality we do cater for all ages and our staff are excellent with children. We're not quite sure what you mean by "not for anyone under 40".
The Victoria dates back to circa 1880 and we have tried to maintain features of that era whilst also offering comfortable and modern surroundings.
Unfortunately fire alarms are an absolute necessity and can be set off by smoking and excessive steam. Whilst we are sure it was accidental, it is of paramount importance that we check the location to ensure it is a false alarm. We have now checked the shower head and found it to fit perfectly. We have also checked the radiator and could not detect any fault. Yes, things will go wrong and equipment will sometimes breakdown or become defective. We do want to know at the time so that we can assist in remeding any problems. This is why we leave a note in each room encouraging guests to "let us know". It is important that we strive to make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, sometimes we have to accept critisism which by good fortune is not reflected in most reviews.
We sincerely hope that you enjoyed most other aspects of your stay at The Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Four of us stayed overnight at The Victoria Hotel Rothesay on Monday 3rd February 2014.
Althought we have used this establishment on many occasions for lunch we have not stayed overnight for a number of years and certainly long before its refurbishment and present management.

The first thing that strikes you in this Hotel is the quality of staff all of whom are efficient, friendly and helpful.
Our room 301 was on the third floor with wonderful views looking out over Rothesay Bay and the Argyll Coast. The room was spotless and the bed excellent. The en-suite facilities were well
presented with lots of toiletries and lashings of hot water. No overnight noise was heard from the room.

Dinner in the evening was served at the first floor dining room which also looks out over the sea. The menu is extensive and the food very good indeed. Service at the table could not be faulted and I commend the lady who looked after the dining room and bar at the same time with such consummate ease.
Breakfast was really all that one could wish for and we were served by an amazing lady called Ella who regularly made sure that we wanted for nothing.

Some reviews have made the fair comment about the lack of a lift to the different floors but I am sure that the staff would be more than happy to ensure that your luggage was delivered smartly to your room. However the stairs could could be a problem for the aged and infirm.

To sum up The Victoria Hotel is a small cozy and unpretentious Island Hotel that does just about everything well and I would heartily recommend this establishment when visiting Bute

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarnacleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for your review.
All the staff do really try hard to please and it gives them a great boost when they get this response.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing