We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect, loved this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“perfect, loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wanted to visit Bute for years, and found this hotel through trip advisor.
It is more or less opposite the ferry terminal, and parking was no problem, found a space directly outside.
Booked in with no problems at all and given keys to our room (201), gorgeous views, spacious, spotlessly clean, good supply of tea/coffee etc, fresh fruit and water too, massive bath and lovely powerful shower, radiator in room and bathroom too, plenty of toiletries and even a shoe shine kit!
Restaurant small but very very nice, table with lovely view, food was amazing, presented to perfection and absolutely mouthwatering!!!
Hotel was fairly quiet, but staff very attentive, without being overpowering.
Breakfast was divine!!! waitress was on her first day, but was lovely, very polite.
checked out with no issues, and we were delighted that the bill was lower than we first thought, as the dinner charge was deducted from the total (we had pre paid the table d hote menu).
will certainly return here, hoping to go back in the summer, 100% recommended, thankyou victoria hotel!!

Room Tip: sea view room was lovely, amazing harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouseguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    74
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
38
94
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went to Victoria Hotel for a dinner. Hotel is perfectly situated, with great view from the restaurant. Decor was nice old style restaurant with table cloths. Food was delicious, great detail, perfectly cooked fish, absolutely mouthwatering food. We had to try deserts as well, absolutely delicious. Definetly will be back if will be around. Complimets to the chef.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hotel was very clean - and warm, I had a room with a fantastic view across the bay. The full Scottish breakfast was really superb, everything was cooked to perfection and the coffee was plentiful, freshly made and delicious.
The staff more than helpful when I had to leave at short notice , but I was lucky enough to return to Bute after a few days and did not hesitate in returning to this Hotel. I would recommend it and will stay when I return to Bute.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our second visit this year. Once again room was spotless, I would dearly love to know how they keep the towels so sparkling white. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Had seaview room as before and being blessed with lovely weather the view is wonderful with sun sparkling off the water. Our only disappointment after reviews we had read was we had our first night evening meal in the hotel. My husband had the lamb chops, one of which was so overcooked, to be fair another was cooked in its place , I had the haddock and it was overcooked as well. As we were only people in dining room at time there was no excuse for this. On the second night we ate in a restaurant within a minutes walk which was so much better. We did so enjoy our visit to this lovely island which gave us a much needed relaxing break

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room, note that the bedrooms are on second and third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your nice review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We never like to hear of any guests being disappointed and we are a little surprised on your comments about the restaurant. Generally we receive very good feed back (pardon the pun) and as you observed we are always happy to replace a dish without question. If you don't eat you don't pay - it's as simple as that. It's a pity you never mentioned at the time as it's very much in our interest to ensure your total satisfaction. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from an anniversary overnight stay and meal with family. We booked four rooms and table for evening meal. Rooms very comfy and well appointed, we had sea views which was a bonus. The meal was superb as was the service. Breakfast also superb. Not extravagantly priced, but of a high standard. Great live entertainment at night, solo singer with backing tracks, very professional and great fun with the audience (us)..All said, great place to stay and enjoy. Hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirfindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEDFORD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 4 most enjoyable days at this hotel in September.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable with beautiful sea view, and the prices were very reasonable. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room.
Breakfast was a selection of cereals, and/or fruit, and/or yogurt, and then an excellent selection of up to 7 items - egg, tomato, beans, mushrooms, bacon, fried bread, hash fries, black pudding.
Tea or coffee or fresh fruit, toast and bread.
The Hotel is ideally situated, only a stones throw from the ferry terminal. If you did not have a car it would be no problem to walk to the Hotel.
Lovely Island for walks, and many interesting places to see.
Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. There are no lifts, but staff are available to help with suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LONNIELEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Spectacular view overlooking Rothesay bay, comportable hotel, friendly staff, excellent food.
Hospitality was first class. Well worth a visit, Bute is a lovely island and Rothesay has a lot to offer its visitors.

Room Tip: Rooms to front overlooking Rothesay bay cannot be beaten
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
18.6 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
14.5 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing