We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view but could do with modernisation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great view but could do with modernisation”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I’d booked this for a Friday evening in July and had asked for a room with a sea view. This was duly provided at a price of £124 including breakfast. The welcome from the receptionist could have been warmer, and this coupled with the absence of a lift and a demand for the balance of the room cost upfront, made for rather a negative initial impression.

At the price charged I was hoping for a stunning room, but I think most of the price must have been on the basis of the view, as the third floor room was nothing special. As steep (though you have to take into account that this is a Victorian building) and rather threadbare climb to the room, which itself had no feeling of luxury. The furniture was fairly basic and cheap looking, and though the bed was comfy enough, it was quite small by modern standards. The décor was rather Spartan – plain walls painted pure white. There was no phone, so it was not possible to call room service or book a restaurant table other than by using your mobile to phone the hotel’s outside phone. The bathroom, though a decent size, was rather old fashioned, having a shower curtain over the bath and its walls being wholly covered in plain white six inch tiles. The overall impression of the room was that it required some investment to bring it up to modern standards.
On a more positive note, though we did not have high hopes for the restaurant, we were persuaded to give it a try partly on the basis of positive reviews on Trip Advisor and partly because we could not be bothered going out. It turned out to be a good decision, as the food was lovely and the service excellent. There was a good choice of dishes and the price of food and a decent bottle of wine were very reasonable indeed, given the quality. Breakfast, too, was good, with the hot courses being prepared to order, which I always prefer as it means they are normally served hot.

Overall, I’d say this hotel is worth considering if you are staying in Rothesay, though it does seem that you are paying a premium for the view, as the rooms (on the basis of this stay, at least) are not necessarily of the standard that you might expect at that price point. It’s certainly worth considering eating here, though, as the food was of a good standard and good value.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a front facing room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks for your comments and I hope we see you back again. It looks as if you booked when the hotel was full. We always try to offer excellent service and I am pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and found it reasonable value. On your next visit if you have date options, we regularly offer room deals dependant on occupancy and season. These can be excellent value and you will find them on our web page,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    76
    24
    12
    2
See reviews for
38
96
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had dinner here at the recommendation of a B and B owner, and she wasn't wrong. Pasta main course for just £7 early evening, with fresh fish, scallops, prawns etc, truly scrumptious.

We ate downstairs, which might be called Ghilles, sitting on big comy leather couches, heartily recommend t.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Four of us stayed overnight on Rothesay to give us the opportunity to visit Mount Stuart plus some relaxing time.

The paint on the hotel frontage is peeling although I attributed that more to the sea air.
The entrance is off the street. No designated parking, but we managed to park outside on the street.
There is no lift which we were aware of.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
Room was comfortable, if basic, but with seaview. It was spotlessly clean.
The bathroom had avocado suite, but again clean. Lovely supply of toiletries.
Beds were comfortable although no headboards which I found strange.
If staying for more than a night or two, there would be a problem with wardrobe and storage space.
Breakfast room was bright. Breakfast was good and served with a smile. Small cereal, fruit and juice choice buffet style and good range on the hot menu.
Ghillie's restaurant looks like a time warp cafe. Red/blue/Chrome tables and chairs with blue/white neon lights around the bar. Upstairs in the restaurant it looked old fashioned and 'dark', so overall, not enticing at all, so we ate elsewhere.
There was a jazz musician scheduled for 9pm so we returned for that, but he did not started until 10pm.
It is very central - across from fountain and flower beds and just along from the square, so very convenient. Other places looked nicer but were further out. I guess it depends on your mobility and needs. Staff were friendly and it was old but clean. They were also helpful when making our reservation.

I would stay again for the convenience. Would love to see it modernised and a bit more contemporary in Ghillie's.

Thanks to the staff who made our stay welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firewalker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks for your comments. It is very important to us that guests enjoy their stay at The Victoria and it is good to hear that our staff were friendly and efficient. I am just a little bit confused with your comments about the restaurant which is the same room that we serve breakfast. Approx. 5 years ago The Victoria re opened after a major refurbishment. It is an old Victorian building and the concept was that whilst working under obvious restrictions to create a comfortable hotel, we maintained as many of the original features as possible. I look forward to welcoming you again and who knows next time we may entice you to dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had lunch there which was very good value. The service was very good, there was only one waitress on duty and despite the bistro being fairly busy she was helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had a nostalgia trip to Rothesay this weekend and oh dear, oh dear, oh dear!!! Ghillies Bar below the Victoria Hotel had great cocktails and we went up to the restaurant for dinner - ordered the Asian Tapas style curries, HUGE mistake - service was shockingingly slow and when food came it was disgusting and we had to return the whole meal (6 of us) Left and thought we will just have fish suppers and nowhere open at 9.30 at night??? Island gorgeous but will be hard to attract visitors for longer than a day unless they have emotional ties tot he island

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thanks for your comments.We are always disappointed when we receive a bad review as we generally try to please at all times.It is good to note that you enjoyed Ghillies cocktails which we specialise in making.Our tapas style Ghillies menu is very popular and can be eaten in Ghilles or upstairs with wonderful views over Rothesay Bay.Obviously it did not work out this thine and we regret not being able to give you a first class experience. I do hope that by offering to change the dishes that you returned and by providing the starters and children's meals at no charge, you will consider your complaint was dealt with in a satisfactory manner albeit not concluded in a way either of us would have wished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The photo of the Hotel is deceiving as the flower beds shown are across the main road. The Hotel did not have any car parking and was without a lift and 40 steps with luggage and no offer of help to carry it was very difficult. The sea facing room was generous in size but the en-suite was tired with dirty grout in the tiles and the bath plug hole was full of body hair, the towels were frayed and worn - we had to ask for replacements . The dinner was good but expensive.

Room Tip: higher rooms have a good view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thanks for your comments.The award winning flower beds are indeed across the road from the hotel and are always well maintained.The photo was supplied by a guest who admired the gardens and the excellent view over Rothesay Bay. We currently do not have private car parking however on most occasions parking very near to the hotel is not an issue. Our rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floors and unfortunately we do not have a lift. I am not sure what went wrong as our reception staff will always offer to get luggage to a room if required.Being a small hotel we do not employ a full time porter however we do have very willing staff that can be summoned to the task on request..We generally receive excellent housekeeping reviews so your comments regarding the towels are naturally disappointing. A new member of staff dealt with your room and whilst this is not a satisfactory excuse, your comments have been taken on board and understand you reasons for the rating given.Hopefully you will return and enjoy our normal standard of service which I can personally ensure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I took a trip down memory lane and went on the ferry to Bute with my niece and daughter, hadn't been there since I was a child. We had a great day trip. We were looking for somewhere to eat in Rothesay and asked at the visitor's center and this was one of the places recommended and we did enjoy a lovely meal here. The saddest part was, we were the only people in the restaurant. I really hope they manage to promote Bute and get more people to visit. It's an easy day trip, lots to see and do. I had the steak pie and it was delicious. I hope more people try the Victoria, they won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
884 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
292 reviews
7.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
2,068 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing