We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Ardyne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ardyne
Ranked #5 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The lovely owners David and Kate just made our stay. The views from the Guest House were sensational with the Ferry passing by. Wonderful breakfasts and our dogs were very welcome.
David and Kate kindly booked our restaurant and told us all about the Island. Nothing was too much trouble. The Island of Bute was made for us by the Ardyne Guest house and we could not recommend it more highly. Thank you both so much for such a memorable visit.

Room Tip: Marvellous views from the front rooms. My room was at the back and was really quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at Ardyne, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for you very kind comments about us and The Ardyne. We are really pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Ardyne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Ardyne is a fantatic place to stay... David + his lovely wife make you so welcome... The rooms are spotless, Seaview bedrooms are a must,,, the veiws are outstanding. The breakfast choice is suberb... i would recommend this B+B , to anyone+ look forward to staying again..

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview, its stunning.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuggiemac249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at Ardyne, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments about us and The Ardyne. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great place to stay.
Lovely room overlooking the Clyde with the ferry and other boats passing by added to the wonderfull view over the water towards the mainland.
David and his good lady were the hosts with the most!
Nothing was a problem for them.
The breakfast menu was superb, what a choice of excellent food well cooked and presented to a very high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at Ardyne, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments about us and The Ardyne, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come back for another visit to Bute.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were met by the owners in the garden, and from the beginning it was clear that this guest house had everything we looked for! The owners David and Kate managed to let us check in two hours before check in time, and we left our bags in the magnificent room with an amazing view. The room was large, with it's own dressing area and huge windows overlooking the beautiful Isle of Bute and the "fjords". We strongly recommend that you pay just a bit more for staying in a room overlooking the seaside. We had room number 10, which is a bargain!

We had great tips from the owner of what to do in Isle of Bute, so if you've never visited before, ask Kate and David. You just have to visit the sweet, little museum when on the island.

The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had. Eating salmon and eggs overlooking the sea and hills was an experience worth the money alone.

All in all one of the best hotels/b&bs we have ever stayed at. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at Ardyne, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments about us and The Ardyne, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have used the Ardyne on four separate occasions over the last few years and once again it did not disappoint.
We managed to get an earlier than normal check-in which was really beneficial as we were attending an afternoon event in Rothesay.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable with all the required facilities for a short/long stay.
The breakfast choice is excellent and nothing was too much trouble for David and his staff.
Suffice to say that on my return home today, I have booked up again for next year.

Room Tip: Sea views are first class.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrisHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at Ardyne, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ardyne and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The owners here were very helpful, I was not prepared for cycling around I had forgotten a back pack and they lent me one.

The hotel is a little further out, but this means unobstructed views and only a short walk in the centre. My room looked straight out to the sea, there was nothing to block in so I can look from my bed.

I heard them say they want to renovate the place, well it's ok as it, anything they need to do is cosmetic, maybe they can start with some blinds in addition to the white curtains in the room. The beautiful, large windows are great for looking out from, but the days in north Scotland can be very long.

I wouldn't say the breakfast was huge, but then I prefer small portions so I can go and enjoy the fresh fish on offer and cakes at Mount Stuart house.

The review asks me to fill in details on fitness centres and pools, obviously there isn't one, so I hope this does not reflect in the reviews too much.

Room Tip: Sea front of course
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at Ardyne, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments about The Ardyne we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You were free to choose as much or as little as you wanted from the breakfast menu so we are disappointed that you thought that the breakfast was small.
Regards
David Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

we were met by david at the door who showed us to our good sized room. i aksed what the house rules were " there are none". a look at the room info shows otherwise. i never was warned that forgetting my door key might lead to a £25 bill before! Not that i ever have nor did this time. We had pre-booked gluten free in advance and i was very reassured when kate contacted me twice about this to check what we could eat. the first day they had forgotten though we had GF bread the next.maybe not the best place for veggies either. Coffee was good, views gorgeous, room so cold i put clothes over me in the night. If there were blankets i didnt find them. The sink was in the room well away from the toilet which was odd and inconvenient. We didnt have a bargain break booking so was a bit disappointed, esp as an item was sure i lost was dismissed rather coldl. Big contrast to where i usually stay in edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at Ardyne, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We are disappointed that you were not entirely happy with your stay with us. There are blankets and extra pillows stored in the wardrobe and a there is a heater in the room as we would not like any guest to be cold. If any items are left by guests we always find them when cleaning the rooms and make every effort to return them to their owners.
Regards
David Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
961 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardyne

Address: 38 Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range: $83 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardyne 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mid terrace Victorian Villa situated right on the seafront with stunning views of Rothesay Bay, Loch Striven and the Cowal Hills beyond. A very comfortable 10 bedroomed Guest House. All rooms are en suite and singles, twins and Super King rooms are available. Breakfast is served in the dining room which overlooks the fabulous view. We serve a selection of breakfast items and wherever possible we source our ingredients from our island producers. You are guaranteed a warm welcome at The Ardyne where we strive to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ardyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardyne St Ebba Hotel
Hotel Ardyne St Ebba
Ardyne Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing