We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In our Ancestors footprints”

Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In our Ancestors footprints”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The actual Stones themselves are not unusual as standing stones go, situated about 100 yards on the left hand side of the Dunagoil Road, they are easily reached, but venture just beyond the last of them and in front of you is a dark forest of closly planted trees, so close together, not a lot of light penetrates from above. Standing there in the silence it would not be hard to let your
imagination run riot, and take you back to those far off days, well worth a visiit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Standing Stones”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Stones are sited en route to St Blane's Chapel and it is sensible to link the visits. Again the link is with the past and the history is readily available locally

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've been on a diet and I blew all my weight watchers point on the fish and chips. I enjoyed every minute of them and I lost 2.5lbs this week!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“they are stones. they stand”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

remember to take your midge stuff if you visit these as some are in coniferous woodland. Or try the Kingarth pub, its great

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great to see, it's what you make it”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Kingarth standing stones, which comprise three impressive standing stones, the most interestingly shaped one of which unfortunately is propped up by a rusty metal rod. Careful angles can avoid this showing when taking photographs.

These are en route to St Blane's and can be visited in less than 5 minutes (very short, easy walk from the parking space and info noticeboard) before continuing down the road, however on the advice of a local man we met while walking we decided to take a circular walk down an open track alongside the fields via Kilchattan bay and back along the forest track which can be found via steps over the drystane dyke at the back of Kilchattan community orchard; this follows the dyke back to the road you first turn off to park, or once nearing the road you can find your way through the woods like we did. This took us about an hour and was a pleasant walk, well worth doing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DizzyFishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingarth Standing Stones also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to Kingarth Standing Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing