We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of No. 29 Bute - CLOSED

No. 29 Bute
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Great quality home cooked Italian food
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

our first visit to no 29/ will definately be returning next time we holiday on bute. i had feather blade of beef. the most melt in the mouth beef i have ever had. the only bad point was the resteraunt was a little on the chilly side this could be because we arrived not long after it opened aand we were the first customers in.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    18
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have visited No.29 on several visits to Rothesay and have always been most impressed. The menu changes regularly and is always of the highest standard. The food and service would not be out of place in any European capital although the reasonable prices would be! Definitely our top pick in Rothesay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can have your turkey and eat it or you can have sea bass or venison .... Best Christmas dinner ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Thank you to Jonathan and his super friendly team for taking time out from their families on Christmas day to create and serve the most fantastic 6 course Christmas dinner I have ever eaten, and I've had a few in my time! The crab cakes were crispy on the outside and soft and delicious on the inside, the tempura langoustines and smoked ham hough were a marriage made in heaven, the cute little cone of Champagne sorbet was fabulous and cleansed the palate perfectly in preparation for the whole stuffed seabass! Need I say more?! Yes, because the moist chocolate brownie drowning in a puddle of melting, homemade chocolate chip and fresh mint ice cream was the perfect fifth course! We all had coffee but could not be tempted by the super selection of petits fours (too full of good food) so they were carefully and artistically arranged in a box for us to take home! We were a table of 9 ranging in age from 19-87 and we all hugely appreciated the food, the ambience and the opportunity to dine out on Christmas day. So once again, thank you No 29 and see you in 2014!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jangus978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“N0 29 Isle of Bute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have been twice and each time was terrific. We had Beef cheek which was superb and far exceeded the Beef cheek served at the Witchery in Edinburgh which we had to send back because the potatoes were stone cold. No 29 has a lovely, though not extensive menu and is served by one of the owners who is very friendly and knowledgeable. My husband has Coeliac disease and they were able to accomodate his dietary needs without any problem. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Was looking forward to eating there as we had read good reports on Trip Advisor. What can I say? Pretentious menu that even the waitress didn't fully understand! Food was ok but completely overpriced for what you got. Service was dreadful and far too many tables as restaurant is not big. The waitress could not get by to serve. Will not rush back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy1963Glas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 29 Bute also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing