We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and a great location”
Review of Cannon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannon House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and a great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for one night at the Cannon House Hotel and really enjoyed it. We had Room 1 - complete with piano! - which was huge and had great sea views over the harbour. The hotel is five minutes walk from the ferry pier and central for all downtown Rothesay has to offer. It's also a great base for exploring other parts of the island.

Innkeeper, Mel couldn't have been friendlier - and we got to meet baby Preston too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliet83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
44
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived without warning and quite late, but were taken in and looked after excellently - we got a great room (the first hotel room I have ever experienced with its own piano) which was very spacious and decorated with a lot of good taste. Creature comforts such as coffee and tea-making facilities WERE available in the room, as well as wifi. The bar is small but nice and the lounge is comfortable and inviting, offering coffee, tea, chocolate, biscuits, books and games, as well as a compelling view over the harbour.

Our hosts were young professionals who have recently taken over the hotel/B&B and are obviously committed to providing a great and personal stay for their guests. The hotel overlooks the water and the comings and goings of the ferries. The house is big and of venerable age, but it's being renovated and outfitted with very good taste and attention to detail. It was clear to us that the hosts' approach is "tell us if you have a special request, and we'll do everything we can to fulfil it", and the enthusiasm and friendliness was infectious and irresistible. Breakfast was delicious, and there was plenty of it, served with a smile.

We can only say thanks and wish the owners good luck as they progressively fashion the hotel according to their design, building up their reputation for providing a warm welcome and an enjoyable stay. We will certainly return again if we have the opportunity to visit the Isle of Bute in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Cannon House Hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of things but still quiet and peaceful within. Mel, the owner, was just lovely and very helpful with good local advice and managing to meet my gluten free vegetarian breakfast requirements with no notice (sorry Mel!) - and it was delicious! The room was spacious and well presented, very clean. I don't really like staying away from home as I don't sleep well but actually it was very comfortable and quiet so I slept fine. Great view across the bay too. Mel's local knowledge was very useful not having been to Bute before and she took lots of time to share this with us - it really helped us make the most of our stay, seeing the real highlights.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can- its worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsC180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had stayed here on two previous visits, and was looking forward to being here again. Unfortunately, the hotel is under new management, and things are NOT the same. I felt that the new management either did not know the business, or did not really care. The decor is "tired" and the housekeeping is OK but not brilliant. The lack of tea making facilities was a disappointment. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. A great let down.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel has recently changed ownership and bears no resemblance to former reviews. There is no longer a restaurant offering evening meals which was a great disappointment. Much worse,however, is that no tea-making facility is available in the bedrooms. Self-service is available in the dining rooms but who wants to trail up and down 2 flights of steep stairs for an early morning cuppa! The decor is tired and is more shabby than chic. Upside, the staff are friendly and obliging.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we came to Bute for Masonic weekend. Melanie, Alison were just the best - We would reccomend this to everyone!! Thanks for letting us stay we had a blast! Reception and room carpet need deep clean but that didnt effect our stay we loved it and the people our hosts were the best and we will be back x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_lo1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well I actually did not stay in the hotel although I was booked. There had been a slight confusion with the date. However, the owner actually offered me the spare bedroom in their own apt for next to nothing. After travelling around the world in my work, I have never run into this kind of hospitality or ability to sort out a problem. I was very impressed with her kindness and offer to arrange something so I would not be on the street. Since I had friends in town, I was able to stay with them. If the hotel is anything as great as its owners, I'm sure people will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bswuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannon House Hotel

Property: Cannon House Hotel
Address: 5 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cannon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Cannon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannon Hotel Rothesay
Cannon House Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing