We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical St Blane's”
Review of St Blane's Chapel

St Blane's Chapel
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
upstate, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical St Blane's”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A hidden gem on the circuit trail around Kilchattan Bay. Made it my lunch stop and enjoyed the company of the ghosts of the monks who founded the place,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hikeurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    33
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and stunning.”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Well worth the small walk up the hill to reach the chapel. It is so quiet up there and it is so peaceful and a perfect way to while away a couple of hours. Both my husband and myself are keen photographers and we got some beautiful shots up there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“WORTH THE HIKE”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a lovely place. It has an amazing almost surreal atmosphere. It is a bit of a hike up the hill, but when you round the corner and see the sweet little chapel, so pretty and even though partly in ruins so well kept.....it is lovely. the nicest time to go I think is in spring when the daffs are out. it is a riot of colour with a fabulous view. So well hidden and off the beaten track. Peace and calm.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquil spot”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a very secluded spot steeped in history. It was approaching late afternoon when my husband and I visited and some of the views from the path leading up to the Chapel were absolutely stunning. It was a peaceful location with some interesting history attached. We didn't stay long but I am glad we went.Very atmospheric.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jolindenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is one of my favourite places, it always brings a sense of calm and tranquility. The views are stunning and worth the muddy walk up the hill. There are lovely walks around it, over the hill to Kilchattan Bay or down to Dunagoil Bay, it's a beautiful part of the world.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Blane's Chapel also viewed

 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to St Blane's Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing