We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
This main room is flooded with light from four tall windows offering spectacular panoramic views !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This main room is flooded with light from four tall windows offering spectacular panoramic views !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This main room is flooded with light from four tall windows offering spectacular panoramic views !
Academy Apartments entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy K
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing apartment”
Reviewed December 27, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just returned from spending Christmas in this beautiful apartment. The apartment is comfortable , lovely and warm and with everything provided for a great stay. Nicely furnished, well equipped kitchen and the most amazing views from the double aspect windows.
There was always something to see, from the constantly changing sky, ferries coming and going and some deer in the garden below.
We loved the candles provided, a nice touch . We have spent many Christmases in self catering apartments over the last few years, this was by far the best. Thank you .

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Academy Apartments - the best self catering option in Rothesay”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Having read other reviews of the Academy Apartments you might think that they can't be that good......rest assured they are ! We felt at home immediately in the clean and comfortable lounge/kitchen area with those fantastic views. The bedrooms and bathroom maintain the high standard of accommodation. Katrina made the booking process as easy as you could wish to have and quickly responded to our booking request and subsequent questions. All of the little personal touches e.g. availability of tea, coffee, hand wash, books, cd's, dvd's etc made our stay a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing experience and one we will definitely repeat.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenDoch...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Apartment with Breathtaking Views”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I can't recommend this apartment highly enough. Everything was great and the fact that Katrina, the owner, provided so many extras was really appreciated and helpful.
A real home from home and so clean and comfortable. Great duvets and pillows, something which is often a real disappointment.
My friend and I will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Not applicable - everything was spot-on
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richjen15
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best holiday apartment on the Isle!”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If Bute is the place for your holiday, this apartment will be perfect for your stay. It is very clean and comfortable, has everything you need and boasts one of the best sea views you could wish for!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing sea view!
Liked least: The Isle is lost in a time warp and is only suitable for anyone looking for a complete escape from the hussle and bussle of life
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb holiday apartment”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent walking holiday on the lovely island of Bute. The superb views from the apartment and its location all enhanced our first visit to Bute. We would certainly recommend this very well equipped and spacious accommodation as an ideal holiday base (good to have electricity and all linen included). Cannot wait for a return visit!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb views from the apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddykins
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit.”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a few days and we both thought that this was one of the best rentals we had ever had. The owner communicated very well and kept us informed of procedure regarding our rental. The flat is very well appointed and the views are to die for. We were blessed with excellent weather and it was a joy to sit at the table and eat breakfast watching the ferries arrive and depart the Island. My only complaint would be that the double bed mattress is a little firm for elderly persons with arthritis.
We would not hesitate to use this property again.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view.
Liked least: the double bed mattress.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
702helen
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It was a lovely flat with a magical view. Even in bad weather, the view of the sea and the hills was spectacular. We saw a wonderful display of rainbows including a double rainbow which looked amazing.

The property was very clean and well equipped. Katrina was welcoming and did everything she could to make our stay comfortable.

Note, if you have trouble with walking this may not be suitable as it is a steep road to go up to get to the flat but that's what creates the view. Also well located for shops.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing