We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valerie Ledbury”

Craigewan Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigewan Guest House
Ranked #15 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
ledbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valerie Ledbury”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Craigewan on the Isle of Bute is the best B and B we have stayed at on our many visits to Scotland. The rooms are wonderful just like a 5* hotel, tea coffee with fresh milk, and all the little extras shampoo, shower gel razors and many more.The breakfast are wonderful all you would expect on a luxury cruise.Nothing is too much trouble for Beryl she will make your stay very special. As for the smell of smoke and bleach, we have been going to craigewan on many occasions over the past four years, and we have never smelt anything, only the warm and friendly welcome of Beryl and her family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valerieledbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay with Beryl. The B&B is situated on a side road, about a 10-15 minute easy walk from the centre of Rothesay, not difficult to find. It is only a small B&B (I think it has 2 rooms) and we were the only guests staying at the time. Our double room was really big and had a lovely view of the rolling Bute countryside from its large bay window. There was even a little balcony you could sit on if the weather was kind. Breakfast was very tasty- I particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. Beryl was always on hand to help with anything you wanted, and to give advice on where to go and what to visit while on Bute. Have already recommended you to the in-laws who are thinking of visiting Bute next year.

Room Tip: The room with the double bed has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firenze12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I returned again to spend another week at Craigewan G.H. The welcome back Beryl & John give you make you feel it was worthwhile re-booking. The accomodation was just as clean & warm. Agree with Valerieledbury, the breakfast are wonderful, such a variety of fresh fruit & home made mamalade. Beryl makes a generous packed lunch, which kept me going every day whilst I fished the local lochs.
I got about a bit more this stay & visited several scenic sites, including climbing to the Isle's peak & visiting the very secluded Wee Dhu loch, just below. I saw an Osprey hunting over Loch Ascog; where the bluebells were are out in the woods, along with many other wild flowers.
Even the weather was better this time & it was very enjoyable sitting in the front garden reading the Sunday papers, in the the warm spring sunshine.
Thanks again for an other lovely stay, I have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Bolivar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We booked this B&B due to the ratings on Tripadvisor.
The B&B is located in Rothesay but a bit far out from the Town Centre and therefore it was a bit difficult to find it. Well, we rang the owner and we got directions from her and we found it within a few minutes. Unfortunately it is not possible to walk into the Town Centre as this would take too much time to get there.
When we arrived we were nicely welcomed by the owner but unfortunately the hall downstairs smelled strong after smoke as the owners are obviously smokers. There were airfresheners but they only helped a small bit. This wasn't really pleasant for us as we are not smoking at all and we don't like the smell of it at all.
The room itself though didn't smell after smoke and the room was quiet spacious, clean and nicely decorated.
The bathroom was spacious too, very modern and very clean. There was a very strong smell of bleach in the bathroom which was a bit irritating but at least we knew that it was freshly cleaned.
We were given some good advice from the owner about where to eat and go out for dinner.
The breakfast was plenty and nice and we felt welcomed in this B&B.
We can recommend this B&B to people who don't mind staying out of the Town Centre.

Tipp: If you are looking for somewhere to eat got to the Kingarth Hotel. Nice atmosphere and good food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnuk-Schnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The most perfect bed & breakfast ever. The room was beautiful with lots of little touches, good hospitality tray, lots of lovely complimentary toiletries. The room had a great view over looking the fields. The breakfast was fantastic lots of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts,great Scottish cooked breakfast.Beryl was a fantastic host and told us all about Bute and even loaned us a booklet on Mount Stuart House which we wanted to visit and is definitely a must when visiting this Island.The Value for money is excellent it is no way a 3 star B & B definitely worthy of 4 stars or even 5. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front double en suite room which was lovely, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ledbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Craigewan is a wonderful place to stay,5* accommodation at 2* prices. The bedrooms are wonderful like staying at the Ritz. Beryl and family make you so welcome, like going home.

I can not recomend it highly enough. Breakfast is a wonderful experience, fresh fruit blueberrys, strawberrys, raspberrys , peaches ,plumbs, plus apples bananas and oranges.
A wonderful full scottish breakfast is also served.

Miss this little jewel at your peril while staying on Bute.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerieledbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I have stayed here for four years & keep returning as Beryl is such a welcoming host, nothing is too much trouble. The dble room mentioned in a previous review has now been converted & has an en-suite toilet & shower. This conversion has been done to a high standard & does make a big difference.
Breakfast is always very generous & the only time I have Strawberries on my cereal every day!
I come for the Fishing, there is trout & general course fishing available.
It only takes 10-15mins to walk into Rothesay & dinner can be taken at vairious places there.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Bolivar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.8 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#11 of 18 in Rothesay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigewan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigewan Guest House

Property: Craigewan Guest House
Address: 26 Auchnacloich Road, Rothesay, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Craigewan Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing