We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food and fabulous staff”

Victoria's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Victoria's Restaurant at The Victoria Hotel
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and fabulous staff”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited Bute for the first time and were disappointed as it seemed quite run-down. However, we went to Victoria's for lunch and sat in a gorgeous restaurant with stunning views across the loch. The food was delicious, my parents are quite picky and they were singing it's praises. The staff were really pleasant especially the waitress who was new to the job. I had the cranachan dessert - extremely tasty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figaro15, Manager at Victoria's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for your excellent review. Yes, the town does have a few buildings that need attention however over recent years several have received a face lift and there are ongoing improvements arranged for others. The island itself has many attractions and wonderful scenery. Don't be put off by a few run down properties - come back again and observe the improvements. Look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Upstairs downstairs”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a sunday lunch with jazz concert in the main restaurant upstairs and a lunch in Ghillies the downstairs bistro bar during our month on Bute. Both meals were really excellent, both served very well and with a friendly manner we have found so prevalent on Bute. The decor contrasted from the room with a view to the modern style of the Bistro bar. I would be happy to return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard-Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service and quality”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My mother in law wife and I ate here this evening. Faultless at a very reasonable price. Good qual food and wine and superb service (especially young lady with long dark hair in pony tail). Def return

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
“EXCELLENT FOOD & SERVICE”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

On a recent trip to the Isle of Bute my husband and I ate at this restaurant twice. The scallops and fillet steak were superb and it is highly recommended.
The view is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A touch of elegance”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The very efficent and friendly stafff gave us a warm welcome . The dining room was beautiful and the tables well spaced We chose from the 2/3 course fixed price menu which was good value and we enjoyed some lovely food, well prepared and well presented. The wine was of excellent quality and we actually prefer to pour the wine ourselves, unlike another reviewer, as this gives us more control over when and how much we drink. A very nice evening

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria's Restaurant also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Kilchattan Bay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to Victoria's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing