We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront Bistro - CLOSED

The Waterfront Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: ******This freehold business is for sale due to ill health***** At The Waterfront, we are owner-operators who cook the majority of food ourselves, to order, using quality fresh ingredients wherever possible. We have a small dining area which can get very busy during summer evenings. We are licensed & accept UK chip & pin credit & debit cards. We look forward to welcoming you.
cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

A very busy restaurant on a Bank Holiday Monday evening. You can't book but we two were happily given a table for four. The husband and wife run the place without any extra help and we did wait a while for our food but it was excellent when it arrived, albeit that my tasty and tender ribeye steak came with about double the pepper sauce I would have liked. My wife's duck breast was served without the skin which Is a first for us but again, was tasty and tender. On busy nights you will have to wait a while for your food but it's worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiremanontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    48
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great restaurant but......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

All tables taken at same time & kitchen struggled to cope. May have been a blip but 2 hours with no starter I feel some gesture should have been given as opposed to sorry you had to wait tonight. You'll be happy if you like massive helpings!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander058, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise again for the length of time you waited on an unexpectedly busy evening, when our waitress was on holiday & our chef disabled. Friends came to help us & did their best to help us to get people fed & watered, or we would not have been able to open.
I hope you enjoyed your meal & will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Small ,Cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Visited twice whilst on a short break at Isle of Bute, A welcome venue for good value meals. Well presented food all freshly cooked, and plenty of it served with a smile. A good wine list and a nice selection of Bottled Fyne Brewery real ales to choose. Can't go wrong dining here.!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spoilt for Choice - Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Enjoyed a fantastic meal here with friends on Friday Night. Took ages to decide because the menu was so varied and inviting. We were all very happy with our selections and I was particularly
impressed with the Catfish with Lime and Ginger Butter. All the portion sizes were extremely generous but the menu was so tempting that we did indulge in dessert and coffee. I would strongly recommend a visit to this gem of a restaurant. This was my first trip to Bute but will certainly not be the last - please don't change a thing about your restaurant until I get back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely food, lovely staff and a very welcoming atmosphere, would recommend this place to everyone who is looking for good wholesome home made food

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank zargessa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Bistro also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing