We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Knowledgeable Host”
other traveler has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Susan G
Woburn Green
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Host”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We arrived at Munro's to be greeted by Andy, one of the owners. He was very helpful with regard things to do in the area and a very cheerful person.
We stayed two nights with friends. Our rooms both had views over the water and were well appointed and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was on a pre order basis and you chose between three times to have breakfast from 8-9pm.
If one had to be critical the shower in our bathroom over the bath would have been better centrally mounted and a bit more powerful and the TV in the other room had a few issues.
Overall, Andy alone more than made up for this and we would recommend Munro's.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Hi,

Thanks for the review. Sorry about the TV issues, we've sorted out the problem now. Hope to see you again sometime.

Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Let's just say I have had no hesitation in recommending this to our friends”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Panoramic sea views from the breakfast conservatory, helpful and friendly owners, modern ensuite and spacious rooms. We were made to feel instantly at home after arriving on a cold winter's evening, and it was a fine base for exploring Bute.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps we will see you again some time.

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolu...
dorset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bute-iful!”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were made to feel very welcome! Andy and Joan were so hospitable and warm. Breakfasts were healthy and delicious and served in the conservatory with wow factor views over the water. The rooms were very clean and light. Our hosts were great at suggesting good spots for walks, supper and everything else we needed to know. Best B and B on the island and so handy for either ferry.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are pleased to enjoyed your stay with. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan S
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Bute!”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were lucky with the weather and had glorious sunshine for our whole visit on Bute. All l can say is not only did we strike it lucky with the weather.... Munro's is a jewel amongst B&Bs. Cosy, comfortable, clean and welcoming. Andy and Joan were excellent hosts and the breakfasts are to die for. We will definitely be returning later in the year.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Hi,

Thanks you for the wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you all. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel A
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ms Hazel Anderson”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Once again a lovely weekend at Munro's B & B in Rothesay.
Lovely accommodation, such friendly and welcoming owners who just couldn't do enough for us to make our stay special.
Will be returning before the end of the summer to enjoy their hospitality and real value for money accommodation with fantastic views over the Bay.
Thank you Joan & Andy

Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules A
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We spent two nights at Munro's and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was comfortable and clean,and the owners were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was served in a conservatory with a wonderful view of the sea. I recommend the poached eggs. Really good.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you again in the future

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P D
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning views with wholesome breakfast in the Consevatory”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed 2 nights, last weekend in February 17. Bedroom warm as toast and en-suite hot bath and shower room has cosy under floor heating. Stunning view from 1st floor bedroom window. Wholesome delicious cooked breakfast accompanied by freshly baked sourdough bread. Excellent vegetarian options. Served in Ground floor conservatory overlooking Rothesay Bay. Freshly brewed coffee. Guest sitting room has great library and wood burning stove. Oh and they have two beautiful black labs and a cat who like to pop out to say hello. Gentle and friendly. Thanks for your hospitality Joan and Andy.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing