We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hospitality at its best”
other traveler has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
RomaPHILE...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is first class hospitality. The owners are very friendly and helpful and really work hard to make your stay in Rothesay as enjoyable as possible. Munro's is perched high on an escarpment and the views of the firth are spectacular. Our room was upstairs and overlooked the water. The bed is very comfortable and the rooms are quiet and well furnished. The bathroom is small but the fittings are modern and work well.

My one criticism is that the wifi is not very good on the first floor. Suggestion for improvement would be a wifi signal booster on that floor so that guests can access wifi without going downstairs.

Munro's serves an excellent breakfast with plenty of cooked options but what really sets the breakfast apart is that they make their own bread. I had the cooked breakfast the first day but stopped on the second and third because the bread was so delicious that I wanted to have room to feast on it. The style of bread changed every day we were there.

The conservatory, where breakfast was served, was a great place for lively discussion among the guests. We didn't know any of the other guests before we arrived but it was a very hospitable place to stay and the guests respond to that hospitality.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sands324
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B I would recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay was lovely, with welcoming hosts. We had one of the smaller rooms, which was perfect, spotlessly clean and cosy, with a good en-suite. The breakfast selection was excellent and served in the conservatory with beautiful views, which was the icing on the cake. It would be hard to beat!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajdmouse
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great rooms, great service and great breakfast and outstanding views - all for a very reasonable price.

Despite some iffy weather, we had an excellent time including Oscar dog. Bute is very underrated as a destination - absolutely love it.

For foodies, the island is quite limited in quality eating places but Harry Haws and the Kingarth Hotel are worth a visit, as is the tearoom at Ettrick Bay,

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol b
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second time I've stayed and just as lovely as last time”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a return visit for me ( I stayed here with my husband in October and returned recently with three friends) The same warm but professional welcome, really enjoyable and informative bread making course, fantastic views and a lovely breakfast with warm home made bread. This place with its stunning views laid back on the surface but obviously working very hard behind the scenes hosts, log burner and hotel quality beds is a find on beautiful Bute.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy G
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great b&b”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

lovely place great views. Breakfast delightful. We stayed a few days, it's not far from the town centre , taxi was £5 , not to bad. Everybody on Rothesay are very helpful and kind. Looking to be back next year

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharan O
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Doon The Watter"”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed a few days visiting Rothesay and were lucky enough to base ourselves at Munro's B&B. Room and bed very comfortable, bedding and bathroom spotless and started the day with a excellent cooked breakfast. Nice relaxed feel about the B&B and would happily stay there next time in Bute.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisatcr...
South East of England.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful wonderful Scottish Gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would just like to agree with my brothers review below (Andy 1st July) a fantastic B & B situated on the Isle of Bute. Been before and will definitely be back again. Room,breakfast, owners,location, everything,brilliant, thanks Andy and Joan for a great stay, to be honest Mr Abramovic invited me on to his boat for the night, but there was no way that I would miss the chance to stay at Munro's once again.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing