We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great short break”
other traveler has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
J_J3030
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great short break”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Agree with everything in the last couple of reviews. Thanks Andy & Joan - we felt relaxed from the minute we arrived and have no hesitation in recommending your B&B. Thanks also for telling us about Caol Ruadh Sculpture Park where we stopped off on our way home - a very pleasant place for a wander, even in the drizzle.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodybark
East Neuk of Fife, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked here for 3 nights to attend a wedding on the island and we weren't disappointed with our choice. Although further out of town than we thought there were frequent buses into town from the bottom of the road or if taking the car, free parking was easy. The house itself has stunning views of the bay and you can sit outside on the decking to enjoy the ever changing scenery as ferries go to and fro. We were in Room 2 which was spacious and comfortable although the wardorbe could have done with having a full length hanging space to accommodate my wedding outfit! The house is charming and quirky and the residents lounge would be a nice place to sit although we didn't need to use it. Breakfasts are tasty with the home made bread being the star of the show although the (very) fresh fruit salad was delish as well. Cooked breakfast is made fresh and was also scrumptious - ordering the night before is a good idea as it means they can be prepared for what you want. Munro's is in a very quiet location which was much appreciated. Thanks to our hosts for a lovely stay.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkayell
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea views, spacious rooms and lovely breakfasts”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Delicious breakfasts (notably home-made bread) in a sunlit conservatory over looking a beautiful garden with a backdrop of sea views across Rothesay Bay to Cowal and the firth to the mainland coast. Comfy sofas in the lounge downstairs with library and local information; Spacious bedroom (room 3, upstairs) with kingsize bed, ensuite shower room, large table and chairs and tea/coffee-making facilities and the same wonderful eastward views. Ample parking space and quiet location added to a relaxing weekend stay.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the lovely review. Hope t see you again in the future.

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimStanle...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Munro's was a real gem. Within (very pleasant) walking distance of Rothesay, the B & B is a lovely big house with uninterrupted views overlooking the sea. A real plus point for us was the fact that it is located in a very quiet and peaceful residential area along the coast, offering easy access to the restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops in Rothesay town centre, without the hustle and bustle. Breakfast was delicious and very generous, from the full fry-up to fantastic yogurt, fruit, porridge and fresh bread. Andy and Joan were very hospitable and welcoming. Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again at Munro's

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowGi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant, chic, friendly...”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent a couple of nights here; Andy and Joan are such a lovely couple, very relaxed and informative. They also have great taste; their home is full of interesting bits and pieces and there is a wood burning stove in the living room which I resolve to return to in the autumn! Room very comfortable with king size bed, nice toiletries etc; breakfasts delicious with homemade fruit salad, porridge or a cooked breakfast if you prefer, as well as lovely homemade bread, good coffee etc.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the lovely comments about our house and the great review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderers...
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Sea Views”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Munros for 3 nights in mid June. The B&B is in a quiet residential area just a short distance from the centre of Rothesay overlooking the sea. It is possible to walk into the centre of town, but it is quite a distance, wear sensible shoes if you intend to walk! We had Room 6 which is a large room at the front of the house on the ground floor and has fantastic sea views. The room was well appointed and clean and the bed was huge and comfortable. We had an ensuite shower room which was also very clean. There is a very nice garden and decking area looking out to sea, where you can relax with a book or just admire the view. Andy & Joan are good hosts and were friendly and accommodating, even setting breakfast up on the deck for us, which we enjoyed as the weather was so nice. Breakfast was good and Andy's home baked bread delicious. We really liked the island of Bute and the town of Rothesay and enjoyed our stay at Munros. We ate at Harry Hawe's, the Victoria Hotel and No 29, all of which were very nice. We also had an excellent take-out lunch from Musiker which is a great café located opposite the castle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you again the next time you're up in Scotland.

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie W
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend away on Bute”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A great few days spent here. Joan and Andy were great hosts and I would highly recommend their b&b to anyone wanting an idyllic getaway. The views from the garden/terrace/room were amazing. A great place for children too, I cant wait to go back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you again the next time you're over on the West coast.

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing