We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't have been better”
other traveler has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Nicola H
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A great welcome, great view, great breakfast and great service - what more could you want?!? Nothing was too much trouble – from finding out ferry times and booking restaurants to heating up baby food - would highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy G
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a fab b&b! My husband and I along with two friends and their husbands were over for a wedding at Mount Stuart and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay - Joan and Andy were great hosts - really helpful with knowledge about the island and they do a fantastic breakfast! We'd taken some champers over to have just prior to leaving for the wedding and they chilled it for us and even provided an ice bucket and champagne flutes! Simple touches but they really helped to turn a weekend into a holiday. The rooms were lovely - we were in room 6 - a lovely large room with views out across Rothesay and back to the mainland. If the weather is nice there is a lovely decked area where you can sit and enjoy the sun. A fantastic place to stay and hope to go back to do some more exploring. Would also recommend No. 29 - a local restaurant - fabulous food!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonJax24
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bread-tastic...!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place to stay...even with our Springer Spaniel....More like a home from home than a guesthouse, we were made to feel so welcome by Joan and Andy. Our room was terrific with loads of room for us both and the dog (who slept in her own bed that we brought with us) touring around the Island was great and the views of Arran and the surrounding area was very photogenic as my snaps can show...
We enrolled in the bread making course,( which I was given as a gift by Jackie) and we had a great time. very relaxing day and you even get to eat what you bake at the end...wonderful...
All round, a very enjoyable stay with very lovely people...
Thank you.
ps...We will be back..!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triboelec...
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazingly warm welcome for all the family....including the 4-legged members!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I spent the weekend of his birthday at Munro's B & B on the Isle of Bute and came away with a wealth of memories which belie the fact that we were only there for three days. Living in Glasgow with a busy job (him), an engineering degree (me), a full-time nursery place (our "wee tiny") and endless hours spent munching the furniture (our newly acquired puppy!), the trip to the island was a well-needed break and a small slice of heaven! From the start of our stay we were treated as friends in Joan and Andy's wonderful guest house, the homely atmosphere generated not just by their warm welcome but by small touches such as photos of their three gorgeous daughters, giving the impression that this really is a family home. Our room on the ground floor was immaculate and tastefully furnished, with a cosy and spacious double bed, under-floor heating and an invigorating power shower in the bathroom, and a sofa and chairs in which to enjoy the best part of the room: the beautiful sea-view from our window. On checking in we were given a menu from which to choose our breakfast and couldn't resist going for the hearty full English, complete with egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans. We also inquired after a good restaurant for dinner and were extremely grateful when Joan and Andy were able to book us a table in one of Bute's most popular restaurants despite it being a Saturday night. Breakfast the next day included proper cafetiere coffee, homemade bread (they run regular bread-making courses!) slices of honeydew melon and organic yogurt, and freshly laid eggs from the resident hens. It was served in their wonderful conservatory, again with a gorgeous sea view. After breakfast we spent the morning browsing the extensive bookshelves in the guests sitting room, which boasts a wood-burning stove, before venturing out to explore the island. The stay was not just magical for us but also for our puppy who we were allowed to bring with us and who thoroughly enjoyed scampering along the seashore. The fact that Munro's allow dogs is amazing as many guest-houses wouldn't (although the place is spotless!) We couldn't recommend Munro's B & B more highly and feel we have truly found a place which will make a regular escape from city life for us!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week in Scotland and our stay at Munro's was without question the highlight of the trip. Joan and Andy are wonderful hosts and the views from the house are truely spectator. Anybody planning a visit to Rothesay/Bute should stay here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Just back from a blissful Easter weekend on the Isle of Bute. Andy and Joan are effortlessly charming, warm, and engaging. Munro's has old world charm, twinned with contemporary flair and is a perfect place to rest your head when staying on the island. The breakfast, served in the sunny (it really was!) conservatory is the most wonderful start to any day spent exploring beautiful Bute. Can't recommend Munro's, and Bute, highly enough!

Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loulolly
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The best B&B ever!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Not long back from a wonderful stay in this beautiful Victorian house on the Isle of Bute. The hosts, Andy and Joan are so welcoming, warm and friendly. Breakfast was one of the highlights of my stay, freshly prepared using local produce and the home made bread was delicious. Breakfast was served in the conservatory overlooking the sea with the hills in the distance. You can watch the ferries coming and going and keep an eye on the ever changing weather! Munro's is situated about half way up a hill so the views from the house are amazing. Being slightly out of the main town of Rothesay is a bonus because It is so quiet at night - no traffic or noisy revellers! Joan and Andy know the island well and are happy to recommend places to visit, things to do and where to eat. No 29 provided the best meal I had during my stay on Bute - fabulous food and service! If you're planning a visit to the island don't hesitate to stay anywhere else but Munro's. You won't be disappointed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing