We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mini Break plus bread making course”
other traveler has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
HappyCust...
ScotlandUK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mini Break plus bread making course”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a fab couple of days at Munro's B&B. The proprietors Andy and Joan are first class, from the moment we arrived they were lovely. We stayed in room 6, it is huge, decor and furnishing are exquisite (could be compared with a room at a 5 star hotel) the bay views from the huge widow are fabulous. Breakfast was really well organised, ordering the night before and saying what time you would like it ready meant no waiting and everything was freshly cooked. We went to the bread making course, run by Andy, it was a fantastic day, really enjoyed making pizza's, soda bread and loaves, there were 6 of us on the course, everyone got on really well, Joan made us all a lovely lunch and everyone left with the days baking.
We ate in a restaurant called 29 in the town, it had been recommended to us by fellow guests, the food was excellent and the menu changed daily, ingredients all locally produced. Bonus you can take your own wine.
We will certainly visit Munro's again and will recommend to friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_betmu...
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bread and B&B”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Great stay with the added bonus of Andy and Joan's Bread School. Lovely B&B with commanding views over Rothesay Bay. Bed and breakfast both very good. The Bread School was a lot of fun but did make you want to make your own, bread, soda bread, pizza and foccacio. We were doubly fortunate as the other pupils were really good company. Give it a try, you wont regret it thanks to Andy and Joan, great hosts and teachers.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillimacS...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful escape from reality”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I bought the deal as an anniversary present for my husband (I hoped to get him interested in breadmaking now he has retired). Andy and Joan were very welcoming and we had a wonderfully relaxing break away from problems at home. The breadmaking course was informal and relaxed and my husband even managed to make edible offerings. I am still waiting for my homemade pizza though!!
Bute was a fantastic escape from reality, and I am sure we will be back (hopefully in better weather!!)

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew h
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bed & Breakfast & Bread - Tremendous”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Just got back from a wonderful stay at Munro's on Bute and cannot recommend it highly enough! Andy and Joan are so friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble and we've never felt so welcome. Initially enticed over by the bread making course, the stay was complimented by the great hosting and location of Monro's. The bread making course meant we spent time other guests and our hosts, which was really nice, and not something you get at your average B&B.

The bedroom (room 2) was lovely, clean, nicely deccorated, a great sea view, and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast was excellent, as was the bread making course. We can now make focaccia, actual focaccia! Amazing.

Can't rate Monro's highly enough for a stay, and if you have the time do the bread making course also, well worth it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb171986
PAISLEY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic bread course, gorgeous B&B!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Returned from a 2 night stay at Munro's and had a fantastic time! Warm welcome from Andy, shown to our beautiful room (room 2 is a suite)- very modern, immaculately clean and seafront views!

Breakfast is served fresh with delicious home made bread!

We had booked into the bread making course which was absolutely superb and I would highly recommend! (See photos) Joan and Andy are so friendly! We also were joined with another 2 couples who made great company over the weekend.

Would definitely return, what a great weekend!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottishm...
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

From start to finish, a wonderful weekend. Our hosts were very welcoming, friendly and accommodating. We made some fantastic bread and had some wonderful and entertaining conversations with both fellow guests and our hosts, Andy and Joan. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niamhm80
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing couple of days away”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My boyfriend bought me 2 nights away with a bread making course for Christmas. it's the best Christmas present ever.
The B&B is a beautiful, cosy and welcoming building and our room was stunning. Gorgeous views over the bay, lovely shower room, huge comfortable bed....
When we arrived we were greeted as though we were old friends, despite never being there before.
The bread making course was great. I love baking and picked up loads of tips. My boyfriend did the course too, last minute due to bad weather and even though he has no interest in baking he thoroughly enjoyed it as well.
I can't recomment this place enough and would definitely stay again. Bute is beautiful too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing