We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
142
24
7
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
142
24
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town centre lovely hosts stayed two nights rooms were very clean full scottish would definitely stay here again pleasant stay tea and coffee ferry port hazel harry accommodation bute ashes isle bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 180 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2018

This is a great guest house literally two minutes walk from the ferry and the town centre and yet with great sea views over the bay. The owners could not have been more friendly and welcoming and the "full Scottish" was delicious. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a range of tea and coffee and lots of nice little touches such as shower gel, tissues, nail file and shower cap provided. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Commodore.

Room tip: Worth the extra for a sea view.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Manager at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank You for your honest genuine review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at The Commodore and we look forward to your return visit one day. Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We had a simply wonderful overnight stay. We could not have asked for more kindness shown towards us and provision of accommodation. This is a lovely place to stay where nothing is too much trouble. We all thoroughly recommend it and will return. Thank you so much Harry and Hazel; what a superb team.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Manager at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank You for your genuine review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your return in the future, just love Guests like yourselves that see and appreciate what we do here at The Commodore, Harry, Hazel & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this lovely guest house for three nights with our dog Hazel and Harry the proprietors couldn’t be more friendly and helpful would definitely stay here again and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Thank You for your super kind and genuine review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you had a good journey home, we will see you again in the not to distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Commodore guest house 1 night whilst on the Isle of Bute - well placed on the esplanade overlooking the sea- few minutes drive from the ferry port- room was nice with en-suite and tea/coffee- breakfast was really nice. Well priced.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank markprsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, General Manager at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thank You for your genuine review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, maybe we will see you again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

I recently booked the Commodore for accomodation of my family and friends gathering for the scattering of my husband’s ashes. Hazel and Harry were lovely hosts and couldn’t do enough for us.
There were 20 guests for the weekend and we had a luxury buffet on Saturday evening prepared by Hazel and Harry with Bute lamb and Scottish smoked salmon.
All the rooms were clean and fresh. The breakfasts were very satisfying and tasted great.
All in all we will be remembering this weekend with fondness for the occasion and the hospitality we received, thankyou

Room tip: Sea views are terrific
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Fluffyval55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, General Manager at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Yes it was a super weekend even though it was a scattering, everything went well. Thank You for your kind genuine review, maybe we will see you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews