We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Commodore Guest House
Ranked #6 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had stayed at the Commodore in years past but not since Hazel and Harry had taken it over,we had done both self catering and bed and breakfast and had liked the place,but what a transformation! New showers,new beds and fresh decor.
Hazel and Harry are good hosts helpful and friendly when I spoke to Harry on the 'phone I explained that I needed a ground floor room with twin beds and a shower this he said would be no problem plus we had a wonderful sea view.The bed was the best I have ever slept in at a b&b and the shower was terrific and easy to get in and out of ( as I have arthritis every bit helps ) the breakfast was good ,so we hope to return.PS the selfcatering cottages which Hazel showed us have been well done up and nicely furnished and very much updated from what they were like before when we stayed in them.
.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of this guest house have wonderful views over Rothesay bay you can watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brackenscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Hazel & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    22
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
56
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thanks very much for an enjoyable two nights in your guesthouse. The weather was snowy and cold but the welcome was warm!! The room was warm and clean with everything we needed and breakfast was delicious. We would definatelly stay there again if we venture over to Bute again, but perhaps in Summer.
Thanks again, JoAnn and John

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had the most amazing weekend and so glad we found The Commodore. Hazel & Harry were so lovely and helped us and the boys get organised plus you were made to feel at home.
After a long travel up from London it was so nice to receive a warm welcome, get into a nice warm room, have a cup of tea and have a quick nap in the cosy bed! :)
It was close to the Estate where the wedding was taking place and we were given good advise about where to eat and things to see.
The rooms were clean and the breakfast was perfect. If we ever come back to lovely Bute we will be booking in at The Commodore.


Thanks again Hazel & Harry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you Laura for your super review, as always it is a pleasure to have such nice guests stay with us, and you all looked so wonderful in your wedding attire We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Harry & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Dear Hazel, Harry and Matthew,

I take this opportunity to say thanks for the hospitality shown to our family on this special weekend for our Mum’s 80th birthday. All 19 of us had a great time and once again you surpassed all expectations on this our 6th year visit. You even managed to decorate the place for us, which I must say, was beautiful done. It was also much appreciated by John and Sue to allow them to bring their wee dog “Rosco” as otherwise they would not have been able to attend and can't thank you enough for that.

Looking forward to next year already

Kind Regards

David, Lesley and Jenna xxx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyJenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, as always it was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at the Commodore, we just love having such a fantastic family staying with us and Rosco what a super wee dog, thank you all again and we are already looking forward to having you all stay with us again. Hazel, Harry & Matthew. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic stay.. This family always go the extra mile. Very clean.Thank you so much for making mums 80th birthday such a special one. All 19 of us had a fab stay. Hazel is very relaxed and loves to ensure our annual weekend is enjoyable. Both Hazel and Harry aim to please as much as possible Lovely family. Breakfast delicious..That is us had our sixth annual weekend. Cant wait for our next one.

Sarah

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your super review, what a brilliant weekend and the costumes were amazing, as are all of your family, see you all next year. Hazel, Harry & Matthew x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

It's lovely 3star guest house. I lived with my family for 4days. I didn't expect much from guest house but here offered every basic daily uses. Additionally I must mention it was traditional breakfast. We all love it. Room was very clean with special price. We enjoyed sightseeing as well as we had wonderful stay here, Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subaru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your super review, it was lovely to meet you and hopefully we will meet up again soon. Thank you. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a comfortable stay at the Commodore for one night. Chose a sea view room which was well worth requesting to watch the comings and goings from the bay. Very quite despite the main road location. Hotel location ensures easy access to the ferry and the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p2_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, its always nice when our hard work is appreciated, we hope to see you again in the near future. Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#11 of 18 in Rothesay
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Guest House

Property: Commodore Guest House
Address: 12 Battery Place, Rothesay, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Guest House is Visit Scotland 3 Star Graded and is situated on the Rothesay Sea-Front with panoramic views over Rothesay Bay, Just 3 - 4 minutes walk from Rothesay's Main Pier and Town Centre, we are ideally situated for that midweek break, long weekend or a longer stay. All out rooms are tastefully furnished to a high standard complete with Double Glazing, colour DVD/Televisions and free internet access. Each bedroom has a full en-suite with shower facility. We provide complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits which is replenished daily, also provided in each room is a hair-dryer. Try our Famous Hearty Scottish Breakfast, with Free Range Eggs from our own Commodore Hens. We are totally Non Smoking throughout The Commodore and The Commodore Self-Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Commodore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing