We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd(Rothesay)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colintraive Hotel(Colintraive)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kames Hotel(Tighnabruaich)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal an Lochan(Tighnabruaich)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
135
23
6
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
23
6
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappier circumstancesfull scottish breakfastferry terminalon arrivaltwin bedsbiscuitsplace to stayhaggishome from homefantastic stayrooms were very cleanstayed for nightsb and bwonderful hostsfeel very welcomeshort breaktea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 171 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay in the little flat with a view of the sea just over the road from us. It was also within a minute or two of the shops. Although compact, the flat was beautifully clean and well appointed. There were many very nice touches such as sea pictures on the walls and dried flowers which made it feel homely. Everything we needed was there and Hazel could not have been more helpful to us. we would certainly stay there again very happily on another occasion.
Paula and Jane

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Thank you for your super review, it was a pleasure to have you and Thank you for leaving the Flat so clean, hope Lady Prudence had a good journey back to London, we look forward to your return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were a group of five friends traveling to Millport who, foolishly, boarded the wrong ferry and ended up trapped on the island overnight. Hazel and Harry stepped in to save the day after overhearing us discussing our situation on the ferry. They rented us one of their self-catering cottages, allowing us to cook all the food we had with us and stay up without annoying other guests. The cottage was designed for two but we all managed to squeeze in and had a very cosy night with all the bits and peices we needed provided. They were also incredibly helpful in advising us what to see/do on our unexpected visit.

If we ever end up on Rothesay again, this is where we will be staying. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thanks Guys for your review, we hope you had a good day on the Isle of Bute and enjoyed Millport when you eventually got there, and thank you for leaving the cottage so nice and clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My sister and I and our husbands were over in Rothesay to scatter my dads' ashes. When we arrived @ the Commodore Hazel and Harry were very welcoming. Lovely clean and fresh rooms. Beautiful outlook over the Bay. En-suite was perfect. Would return to Commodore, in the future. Breakfast was simply Fabulous, served full Scottish Breakfast with haggis that was wonderful. Thank you Hazel & Harry. Anne Inglis

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View simply amazing.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneI710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your super review, it was a pleasure having you all staying with us, it makes such a difference when our efforts are appreciated, Thank you once again & we look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

our 2 night stay in a clean, well set up family room overlooking the water was very enjoyable. Hazel & Harry were friendly, welcoming and a mine of information. The cooked breakfasts were more than adequate and well presented. A very quiet, central position within walking distance of the township with restaurants, hotels etc. If we ever go to the Isle of Bute again we will stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, it is always nice when guests take the effort to leave a review. Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Hi, I stayed here recently and found the accommodation to be very comfortable, clean and hosts very friendly and helpful!

If returning again, I would stay here without doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you for your super review it makes such a difference to us when guests appreciate our efforts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews