We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first visit here, but what can I say...It's the only place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivybank Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivybank Villa
Ranked #6 of 19 Rothesay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not my first visit here, but what can I say...It's the only place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've been here before and this will be my only choice of where to stay whenever I visit Rothesay once or twice a year. Tina is just so warm and friendly and Tom is not just an obliging guy, he cooks a mean breakfast too. I have read one or two of the negative reviews and wonder if these people are talking about the right place. The entrance is welcoming, the rooms are lovely and clean, the location is ideal and the views are superb. The dining room is set almost like that you'd expect from a 4 star hotel but without the corporate atmosphere hotels can bring and the centre of town is literally a two-three minute walk from the front door. Thanks again Tina & Tom.

Room Tip: The four poster suite evry time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Citiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    12
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The weather was awful as we arrived at Ivybank Villa but we were soon cheered up when greeted by Tina who showed us our rooms. We were delighted. They were immaculately clean with every amenity you need for a short trip. The breakfasts cooked by Tom were extremely tasty and filling and we didn't need any further food until dinner time! Tina and Tom were always friendly and helpful, even finding telephone numbers for us! The view from my room over the Cowal and Rothesay was so beautiful that I couldn't get enough of it. The Villa has some double rooms, an amazing family suite and the most beautiful four poster bedroom with a magnificent en suite. We will definitely visit again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Cowal view room is magnificent but I would go for the 4 poster bedroom next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This wonderful Georgian style house has panoramic views of the Island as well as the Kyles of Bute. The bedrooms were lovely, clean and comfortable (the beds were really comfortable) and the en suites a decent size and the owners Tom and Tina couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.. It was lovely to wake up every morning to a view of the sea and harbour. Breakfast was generous and more than enough to set you up for the day. It's quite and peaceful and the garden is really lovely. If you want to leave the rat race behind then the Isle of Bute and IvyBank Villa is the place to go. Everyone on the Island was more than helpful with ideas for where to go to see seals and other wildlife, everybody even the busman was willing to help with directions and ideas...it's a bit like stepping back into the past as far as the pace of the Island goes...You should go for a 'time out', 'chill out' holiday

Room Tip: all rooms quiet but ones at front have sea views and ones at back have garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethtaylor451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went to Ivybank with two friends this weekend. We had a great stay at Ivybank. Tina and Tom were friendly, hospitable and helpful. Their love of the Island comes through in their recommendations for things to do. Their period Victorian house is very clean and well maintained, with nice gardens and a fantastic view over Rothsay. It's a two minute walk down the hill through the gardens to the town. We had a lovely time and I'd highly recommend a stay there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pamorchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

It took 4.2 hours to get there from Manchester, but getting off the ferry we was minutes from the most idyllic B&B. I have to say its been one of our perfect getaways, and we'll be back without question. You won't be disappointed, trust me. It was a beautiful island and plenty of things to see, especially being able to stand less than 4 metres away from the seals on the beech..amazing.

Room Tip: Just upgrade to have the master room.... Perfect sea views and Cadburys flake bath tub! Ignore the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstar37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Ivybank VillA was recommended by a friend of ours who lived in Rothesay. Right in the heart of Rothsey town but elevated enough to provide a great view of the harbour and surrounding hills etc, We had a short but very pleasant stay over the May bank holiday.. .

The Ivybank is a very pleasant comfortable and clean guest house which also does wicked a breakfast! The owners are friendly and very helpful and are more than happy to advise you on how to get about to the local sites. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely use again when we visit this beautiful little island!.

Room Tip: Get a front room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

On first arriving we were warmly welcomed by Tom and Tina (not forgetting "Pip" the dog). We were shown to our rooms one a spacious suite the other a cosy room but both with stunning views over Rothesay harbour. The position was ideal slightly away from the centre but a two minute walk down the steps into the town - ideal for walking off the delicious hearty scottish breakfast cooked by the hosts!! The Isle of Bute was as stunning as ever and the weather was kind to us - long walks along the beaches and plenty of visits to the local teashops. Definitely be visiting again next year - if only to see if Tom has finished his "waterfall". Well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonksquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#1 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivybank Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivybank Villa

Property: Ivybank Villa
Address: westland road,, Rothesay PA20 0HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivybank Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Villa (listed) Beautifully restored to its former grandeur, with numerous period features both internally and externally. Set within secluded landscaped grounds of two acres. Totally central yet extremely private. Wildlife friendly gardens with Deer,owls,bats,woodpeckers,hedgehogs and fish.built by Lord ButeArgyll, and first recorded occupancy in 1795. Panoramic sea and mountain views from all rooms but one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivybank Villa Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing