We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munro's B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Munro's B & B
Ranked #1 of 19 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at Munro's for two nights in mid February on an Itison deal. We got our first sighting of the big white house from the ferry across from Wemyss Bay so that gives you an idea of its outstanding location. We were the only guests at that time and were given the magnificent Room 6 which is huge and has truly wonderful views over the sea. It would be very easy to do nothing else but spend hours in the armchairs in the huge bay window watching the ferries coming and going. Joan and Andy are very friendly and this made for a truly relaxed atmosphere. There is a lovely guests' lounge so you don't need to feel confined to your room. The breakfast was very good but the extra touch was the delicious loaf of home made bread - white one day and wholemeal the next. We had not been to Bute for many years and were agreeably surprised by the whole island - plenty of coffee shops, restaurants etc. - and money being spent to keep it looking good. Would certainly recommend Munro's and Rothesay for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 914Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
150
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked in at the very last minute to Munro's (unexpectedly made the last ferry over from the mainland) we were given a warm welcome by Joan who got us settled in our gorgeous room (no. 6) and who also sorted out somewhere for us to get dinner. The views from our room were fantastic to wake up to & the cooked breakfast was the best I have had in a long time & the black pudding THE best I have ever had! Andy was also a fantastic host sharing his knowledge of the local pubs with us (which we tried out that evening & had great fun), all in all it was a great stay & we just wish we could have stayed longer. We have recommended munro's to guests for our wedding in April & will certainly be going back ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a great 2 night stay at Munro's. Joan and Andy we lovely and friendly from the moment we landed. They gave us lots of tips on where to visit etc. We stayed in room 6 with wonderful sea views, wet room with heated floor & huge king size bed! The breakfast was the best quality breakfast I have ever had in a B&B and fresh homemade bread every day a bonus. Looking forward to returning in the Summer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TGrethe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Myself and my husband first visited Munro's for the Easter break and enjoyed ourselves so much that we returned during the Summer and for New Year! Joan and Andy are most hospitable hosts and the views from Munro's rate amongst the best on the island. All of the rooms that we have stayed in have been of a very high standard and the breakfast would put any five star hotel to shame. On our previous visit we as a family took part in a course at the Bute Bread School which is also run by Andy and Joan at Munro's which was terrific fun and enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Munro's B & B and had a great time at this establishment. As we were the only guests this weekend, we were given the choice of bedrooms and were delighted with room 6 which has a wonderful view over Rothesay Bay. With two comfortable armchairs provided so that the view can be enjoyed at leisure, we spent several hours admiring the vista. From the moment we arrived until the time we left, we received a very friendly welcome with the hosts, Joan and Andy, going those extra few yards to ensure that our stay was comfortable. My husband is a coeliac and Joan and Andy baked him a gluten free loaf on each day of our stay ( a service that we have not found anywhere else ) and even gave us the recipe to take away with us! This weekend could have been a poor experience as the weather was absolutely foul with the ferries being cancelled and rain and wind storms for much of the time we were there but, in the end, we thouroughly enjoyed the experience and would like to return on another occasion.(especially if the weather were better!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JemimaP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Good food, hospitality, comfortable bedrooms, stunning views over the bay.
Family and friends took over all rooms as a wedding party. Place was buzzing with bridesmaids, bride, kilts, photographer, make up artist etc Our hosts were very accommodating even delaying our breakfast next day after a late night.

Room Tip: ground floor large with bay windows though room directly above has a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We recently stayed at Munro's B&B on the Isle of Bute. The hosts were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The room no 6 has a lovely sea view. The bed was huge and really comfortable. The breakfast was delish served with still warm freshly baked bread! We felt that the weekend deal we bought was fantastic value for money. We would return to stay in Munro's again if we were on the Island.

Room Tip: Room 6 is on the ground floor so no stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliethoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
1.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
5.8 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munro's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munro's B & B

Property: Munro's B & B
Address: 17 Ardmory Road, Rothesay PA20 0PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Munro`s Hotel Rothesay
Munro`s Bed And Breakfast
Munro's B & B Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing