We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay & Excellent breading making course!”
Review of Munro's B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Munro's B & B
Ranked #1 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay & Excellent breading making course!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I arranged for a weekend away at the end of January, to help try and escape some of the post Christmas/winter blues. I can't take any credit for the choice of bed and breakfast or the bread making course, as this was all down to the her. But I am more than happy to rave about both. Firstly being an ever reluctant visitor to B&B's, I was absolutely blown away with the standards of Munro's, it honestly felt more like a small boutique hotel than a B&B. The quality of our room (No.3) with its great four-poster bed and breathtaking views over the bay, where only surpassed by the warm & welcoming downstairs guest lounge, with its wood burning fire, large comfortable couches and book collection that will keep you happily entertained for hours made for a perfect winter escape.

The bread making course was equally enjoyable, being delivered in a relaxed and open fashion, giving everyone the chance to talk, laugh and pick up a few hints and tips along the way, made for a truly great day.

Joan and Andy who run the B&B and bread making course, could not have been more entertaining or better host. I cannot complement both of them enough for their fantastic service, they made visiting their B&B's feel more like visiting a friend’s house.

I already have and will continue to recommend Joan & Andy's B&B's along with the bread making course to my friends and family, and would say if you are looking for an escape with something different thrown in, then Munro's B&B along with the bread making course would be well worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwalsh1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for the simply stunning review. This is exactly why we do things the way we do - to create a relaxed "friend's house" atmosphere. The sort of place we'd like to stay at ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
154
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a voucher deal including the bread making course. Joan and Andy were very friendly and could not have been better hosts. When we arrived we were offered tea and biscuits and they lit the fire in the lovely living room for us. They recommended a number of places in town to eat and even arranged a taxi for us.

It is the little things that make this place just that bit better than the rest. Such as leaving out wine glasses so we could enjoy a glass by the fire after a lovely dinner, allowing us to use their WiFi and just being pleasant and sharing their knowledge of the island.

Breakfast was lovely, with homemade bread and good quality ingredients. The room we stayed in (room 6) was spacious and had a lovely wet room. The beds were comfortable and the room well decorated. The building is old but has great character.

The bread making course was informative but conducted in a relaxed way. We enjoyed a lovely lunch as part of the deal and were made to feel very welcome.

I would highly recommend this B&B for a weekend in Bute. Note this is not actually in Rothesay but if you have a car this isn't an issue and a taxi into town is only £4-5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. It makes being in this business all the more worthwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

lovely couple of nights, and fun and useful bread making course - don't worry Joan & Andy, we will keep on making & baking bread from now onwards! made us feel very at home in their warm and comfortable B&B. Great views, delicious breakfasts, and great company. Nice, friendly black labs too.

Room Tip: we were in room 2 - great sea view and big, comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write a review of your stay with us. It means a lot to us and the business to get really positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at Munro's. Cannot fault anything with this lovely B&B, the bread making course was excellent and we are certainly enjoying our efforts!
The room was beautiful, the breakfast was amazing, Joan and Andy were attentive and friendly and overall a warm and welcoming stay was to be had.
Definitely recommend Munro's and we will be back again. Thanks again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Keep up the breadmaking...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay in Munros b&b and completed the delightful bread making course. Joan and Andy were great hosts. I loved the warm friendly atmosphere and the bread we made on the course was excellent. I would certainly recommend this trip. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sockfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the great review. It's a great help to get positive feedback. Keep baking!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inveraray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great spot with good view and excellent breakfast - loved the home made bread.

Cost slightly more than places I usually stay, but worth it - although minor niggle with bathroom plumbing is not what I would have expected.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becsbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the review. We've sorted out the plumbing issues in that room. Thanks for the feedback..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Combine a commanding view of Rothesay Bay with consistently excellent service, welcoming and knowledgeable hosts, great food, and a posse of friendly black labradors and you have all of necessary ingredients for a great B&B to visit, and to return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPatOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Good to see you guys once again and thanks for the lovely review. It's nice to know that we are your accommodation of choice on your trips to Scotland from the US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
1.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munro's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munro's B & B

Property: Munro's B & B
Address: 17 Ardmory Road, Rothesay PA20 0PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Munro`s Hotel Rothesay
Munro`s Bed And Breakfast
Munro's B & B Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing