We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munro's B & B”
Review of Munro's B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Munro's B & B
Ranked #1 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
1 review
“Munro's B & B”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very friendly, relaxing place to stay, with excellent service and attention, Munro's was the perfect place for a short break in autumn. Loved the warm stove in the guest lounge, and the view from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. It's great to get good feedback from our guests..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
155
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were only on a flying visit to Bute but we are glad we managed to fit in our stay at Munroe's. We had a very pleasant room with a great view of the water. The beautiful weather in November helped but I imagine even when it is wild and wet it is still striking. We had a nice comfy sofa so we were able to enjoy the last episode of Downton Abbey under a knitted blanket with a complimentary hot chocolate. We obviously live life in the fast lane. The bad was large and very comfortable. Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming and the pot of tea in front of the fire when we arrived was just the ticket. We were given good information about places to eat in the evening and how to spend our day there. We were very grateful for that as our trip hadn't been planned in any detail. Breakfast was excellent and the home made bread was a real treat. The view from the conservatory was wonderful and got us off to a very good start to the day.
My husband is more likely to be picky than me and he did spot a couple of areas in the bathroom which could have benefitted from a bit of tlc. Me? I just noticed it was very clean and wow - there was a whirlpool bath! Oh, how I enjoyed that!
We would definitely book to stay at Munroe's again. We loved our stay there and the Island as a whole is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolindenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
A great review, thank you. We've tackled what we guessed were the issues with that bathroom. Hope to see you guys again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed at Munroe's B&B in Rothesay on the Isle of Bute. Everything was excellent. The Room was great with wonderful views to the Mainland. They made us so welcome going out of their way to help. Breakfast was really good and the homemade bread was wonderful. Well done.

Room Tip: Although slightly more expensive I would recommend Room6 on the ground floor. The wet room is so mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunrosRothesay, Owner at Munro's B & B, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for a wonderful review. Yes, room 6 is one of our most popular rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just back from a lovely 3 night break at Munro's B&B, Joan and Andy are great hosts, lovely house with stunning views, Andy makes a really good breakfast.
Nothing was to much bother for them, i would definitely recommend it. Rothesay is a great
place to visit. We also got good weather which was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineAlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a lovely return stay at Munro's B & B this month having visited initially in February this year when we liked it so much we knew we would be back. The accommodation and hospitality provided by Joan and Andy would be difficult to surpass. In addition the hearty breakfast selection was fab and really set us up for the day ahead. We enjoyed our time in Rothesay and would recommend visiting Mount Stuart for the day, which is only a short trip in the car from Munro's. We found Joan and Andy to be informative and knowledgeable about the island, places to visit and eat out and this was really helpful in planning our days. We would love to return and stay as we found lots of nice walks around the island which we knew our walking shoes would be a must for, hope to go back again next year ps with walking shoes packed.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a bay view which is splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NursieNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were attending a wedding on the Isle of Bute and this was an excellent, value for money location.
A very pleasant view, friendly patrons and a great breakfast.
Fortunately we had excellent weather - but even in wet weather it is a good location - if you are dressed appropriately.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Friday 13th is supposed to be unlucky, but Friday 13th July 2012 was a great day for us and our overnight stay at Munro's was delightful. Room 6, with a bay window overlooking a sea dotted with little white sails, was most comfortable, everything thought of, with a modern wetroom bathroom, and a delicious breakfast. There is a big sitting-room for guests, with a wall full of books to read. Most important of all was the very friendly welcome from Joan and Andy, who really consider what their guests like to have and provide a wonderful breakfast. We loved Rothesay, with its views over the sea, and good places to eat, and useful shops for the traveller's needs. I would love to go back for a longer stay and would return to Munro's with much pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a bay window and wonderful views across the water, east to the mainand and south towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
1.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
925 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
297 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munro's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munro's B & B

Property: Munro's B & B
Address: 17 Ardmory Road, Rothesay PA20 0PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Munro`s Bed And Breakfast
Munro`s Hotel Rothesay
Munro's B & B Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing