We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful retreat!”
other travelers have booked this property
Springbank cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Springbank cottage
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Springbank cottage
Living room
Living room
Real wood /coal fire
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Family bathroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Single bedroom 1
With optional pull out bed
Single bedroom 2
Garden gate showing path and steps
Garden path showing steps
Garden with sea  views
Garden with sea views
View of cottage from track showing height
View. from front door
View from bedroom window
View from bay below the cottage
View from Ardbeg point
(five minute walk)
Rothesay Town from the ferry port
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LouiseInF...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blissful retreat!”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Springbank Cottage was perfect - well-equipped, spacious and peaceful. The garden is really pretty and the views second to none. Jane the owner was great with communication around our booking.

Bute is a great holiday spot: clean sandy beaches, good cafes (check out veggie eatery Musiker), historic castle, nice swimming pool, picturesque walks and gardens ... the list goes on.

It was our kids' first holiday here and they absolutely loved it! Would definitely recommend the island and Springbank Cottage - sure we will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironlady2
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday helped by staying at this beautiful cottage”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay on the island in this beautiful cottage. Jane has provided everything you could possibly need for a comfortable visit.
The cottage is immaculate and very welcoming. The views over Rothesay bay are beautiful, especially as dusk descends. The garden is lovely and so relaxing to sit in whilst taking in the views.
We did find the climb up to the cottage a little strenuous but that shouldn't be a problem for those of you who are younger and fitter, but to be honest its well worth the climb for this gem at the top.
Now we've found springbank cottage we wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bute”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! Very peaceful cottage overlooking the bay. We were able to watch the boats come and go over a breakfast on the sunny terrace.
We were able to walk from the door, and also use the car, bus or taxi to explore the the outlying picturesque beaches. The Scalpsie seals were a particular delight and were a highlight of the holiday.
The cottage was well equipped, warm and comfortable. The wi-fi was good.
The owner Jane was a wealth of knowledge and had a very comprehensive library of local information.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RWeigall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in this lovely cottage. The cottage has a most welcoming feeling about it. It is beautifully and tastefully furnished, clean and comfortable. Everything we needed was provided to make our stay an enjoyable, relaxing and peaceful one. If we had any enquiries Jane was always most helpful and friendly in answering them. We look forward to our next holiday there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecil H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
856 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had not been to Bute before, but were impressed with the island on our first visit. Springbank Cottage is a delightful property - very comfortable, homely and relaxing. Only a few minutes drive from the main ferry in Rothsay. The main bedroom on the ground floor was spacious, clean and welcoming. Everything you would need in the kitchen. Upstairs pretty bedrooms with delightful views.

The spacious lounge was light and airy - a good place to sit and read in an evening. There was also a piano to play.

We really enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in front of the main entrance enjoying the spectacular views. We were lucky this August with some good weather at the time and it was a joy to sit out and have breakfast, watching the ferries come and go out of the harbour. The terrace and garden were secluded - a lovely place to sit and read also.

Wonderful location - peaceful and relaxing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueoboe
2 reviews
“Peaceful getaway with wonderful sea views.”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Spring Bank.
It was conveniently located half way between the beautiful Port Bannatyne with its mountain views and quay side cafe and in the other direction, the shops of Rothsay.
The view from the garden was fantastic and we loved watching the sea change with the weather.
Great cycling too and we explored one end of the island to the other.
A great holiday in a lovely house with fantastic views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing