We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Springbank cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Springbank cottage
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Springbank cottage
Living room
Living room
Real wood /coal fire
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Family bathroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Single bedroom 1
With optional pull out bed
Single bedroom 2
Garden gate showing path and steps
Garden path showing steps
Garden with sea  views
Garden with sea views
View of cottage from track showing height
View. from front door
View from bedroom window
View from bay below the cottage
View from Ardbeg point
(five minute walk)
Rothesay Town from the ferry port
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RWeigall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in this lovely cottage. The cottage has a most welcoming feeling about it. It is beautifully and tastefully furnished, clean and comfortable. Everything we needed was provided to make our stay an enjoyable, relaxing and peaceful one. If we had any enquiries Jane was always most helpful and friendly in answering them. We look forward to our next holiday there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecil H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
856 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had not been to Bute before, but were impressed with the island on our first visit. Springbank Cottage is a delightful property - very comfortable, homely and relaxing. Only a few minutes drive from the main ferry in Rothsay. The main bedroom on the ground floor was spacious, clean and welcoming. Everything you would need in the kitchen. Upstairs pretty bedrooms with delightful views.

The spacious lounge was light and airy - a good place to sit and read in an evening. There was also a piano to play.

We really enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in front of the main entrance enjoying the spectacular views. We were lucky this August with some good weather at the time and it was a joy to sit out and have breakfast, watching the ferries come and go out of the harbour. The terrace and garden were secluded - a lovely place to sit and read also.

Wonderful location - peaceful and relaxing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueoboe
2 reviews
“Peaceful getaway with wonderful sea views.”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Spring Bank.
It was conveniently located half way between the beautiful Port Bannatyne with its mountain views and quay side cafe and in the other direction, the shops of Rothsay.
The view from the garden was fantastic and we loved watching the sea change with the weather.
Great cycling too and we explored one end of the island to the other.
A great holiday in a lovely house with fantastic views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaygeet
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect holiday cottage for our week's holiday, our first trip to Isle of Bute.”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This elevated cottage was as good as the photos suggested, very well furnished with high ceilings and large windows giving wonderful sea views and good WiFi. Together with it's pretty and private garden with 2 seating areas to catch the morning and evening sun, it's now one of our favourite holiday cottages. Having bought the OS orange explorer map we had a lovely week exploring and seal spotting. Favourite trips were Mount Stuart, an afternoon on The Waverly paddle steamer (porpoises spotted) and the coastal West Island Way walk on the south of the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsamund
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hide away cottage in a great locationx”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A large well appointed cottage with a beautiful garden. The views from the property are delightful .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive I
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage with splendid views”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Springbank Cottage for 4 days recently on our first ever visit to Bute.Very nicely furnished cottage in an elevated position with splendid views over the sea.Large gardens with outside seating available.Surprised how peacefull the island was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views from the cottage
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing