We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Pub Grub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oystercatcher

The Oystercatcher
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Oystercatcher is a pub and restaurant on the banks of beautiful Loch Fyne, now open under new management. We offer meals prepared with fresh, local produce and stock a wide range of Scottish craft beer, small batch gin, and whisky in our bar.
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Pub Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a lovely evening meal at the Oyster Catcher.
Nice to see a menu consisting of local products including fish.
Dog friendly in the bar area which is great.
Good selection of beers - just wish I wasn't driving..

Well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJT_9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    74
    19
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very basic pub grub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Would have gave it zero if possible. Came here for a meal with some friends. Menus limited food all freezer based burgers fish scampi lasagna all with frozen chips. Seating inadequate tables to small dogs drooling beside you as you eat. Prices over inflated. Very basic but they have a captive audience. One word of caution don't order the special desert described as hot cross bread and butter pudding as all that arrived was a hot cross bun with custard on it. Looked like it came out of a morrisons pack of six.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“lovely crab salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

i went here when i was staying in the area and my husband and I had a crab salad between us £12 but it was more than enough for a light lunch with a bottle of wine sitting on the beach in glorious sunshine ohhhh i could have been abroad its good when the weather is nice and its such a nice place i wish they had rooms there i would stay for a week

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank arabia1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We thought we would go back and give this place another go, unfortunately it was even more disappointing. As it is off season the menu has changed and there was no local fish or seafood at all. The meals were standard pub grub all available from the freezer - lasagne & chips, fish & chips, burger & chips - with the addition of a sunday roast option. Such a shame as the location is stunning and with the addition of a select few dishes using local produce, cooked well, it could be a real gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location,poorly run and service is awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Service and food not great, it seemed like they did not want to make any money by giving nice friendly service and good food. Never has been very good. If run by a professional, it could be a goldmine, given the lochside location and views.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oystercatcher also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Strachur, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing