We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friends”
Review of The Kames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kames Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Dropped in for lunch with friends who were old customers at the hotel. Very welcoming. Good selection of drinks. Swift service and well cooked meals. I had a Scottish beef burger with home cooked chips. Very delicious. Coffee to finish. Would love to return when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had a great weekend at the Kames hotel. Lovely room, stunning views, great breakfast, exceptional hospitality,Situated on the kyles of Bute the scenery was breathtaking. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was lovely, I had a homemade veggie burger which was probably the best veggie burger I've ever had. I also had the cheese board which was also great. Can't recommend this hotel enough. Can't wait for our return trip :) xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the hotel as a belated valentines treat and was not disappointed. The welcome was warm and friendly, the hotel location is stunning, overlooking Bute. We had room number 4 which is probably the best at the hotel, 1st floor with a large bay window that allows/gives you excellent views of the bay. We found the hotel bar to be friendly relaxing and welcoming with local Loch Fyne ales on draught which was a bonus, Saturday afternoon / evening was just a chill out zone. Ate in the hotel on both nights and found the food to be good quality, traditional and wholesome, as were the breakfasts on both days, with a large variety on offer, from the traditional full Scottish to a fresh grilled Loch Fyne kipper. Will be recommending to all out friends and going back later in the year for more of the same! Oh and yes, the dogs loved it too!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McBoxergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Having visited the Kames Hotel too many times to count over the past 20 years to take advantage of their excellent food, last weekend marked my first overnight stay.

First, let me say the Kames Hotel is ideally placed to provide stunning views down the Kyles of Bute and over to Bute itself, weather permitting of course. Situated on a hillside the hotel looks down to a pebbly beach about 100 yards below and along towards Tighnabruaich, its pier (visited by Waverley in the summer months) and the moorings beyond. There are few better locations in the area, so my first piece of advice when booking is to make sure you ask for a front-facing room, otherwise you'll be staring into a hillside.

My second piece of advice with regards to booking concerns the hotel's use of third-party websites like Booking.com. In my case I naturally visited the Kames' website to book my stay only to be told by their online booking system that no rooms were available. By chance I searched the wider web and came across booking.com that was offering rooms. My advice to the hotel is to point users at booking.com if your own system reports no rooms available. I suspect you may be costing yourself business with the current approach.

The food on offer at the Kames is excellent, as it always has been on all previous visits. It's relatively basic fare, e.g. burgers, fish and chips, steak pie etc, however it's very well cooked and extremely tasty. There's a specials board too that offers extra choice. In my view the food is pitched perfectly against the setting and exactly what the majority would expect.

The breakfast menu is equally tasty. You can choose from the basics like cereal and toast up to fresh kipper, scrambled eggs or full-cooked breakfast. No complaints here either, it's all cooked really well and tastes great. As an extra plus the staff are happy to bend the menu to suit the guest.

With staff in mind it must be pointed out that they're all lovely. There's a feel to the place as though you've been invited into their home, as though it's not really their job and as such they're happy to chat as well as serve. This is great. The service is good and friendly. My only suggestion would be a bell or something similar to get the attention of staff at the bar through in the lounge. The main bar is usually very busy and so you're often left standing for a several minutes before someone walks past and notices there's someone waiting to order food at the smaller bar in the lounge area. It's not a problem nor a criticism, but it would be better for everyone if there was a means of signalling your presence.

The room I stayed in was perfectly adequate, however the rooms ought to be the next area of the hotel to receive attention. We're still in the off-season, so maybe there are plans afoot for the rooms but mine had loose tiles at the entrance to the bathroom (watch those bare feet!) and water staining on the ceiling of the bedroom. The ceiling may well be the result of recent storm damage to the roof, I'm not suggesting by any means that it's how the rooms are normally presented, however it was there and so I'm mentioning it here. Besides that, the beds were comfy, the room was serviced each day and the heating was on all the time. I think I saw a previous review stating the rooms were cold - no such complaints from me, the heating had been on for some time before my arrival so my room was lovely and warm.

In summary, my stay was fantastic and I've no hesitation whatsoever in returning or recommending it to others. I speak from experience when I say this area in summer is one of the most beautiful places on earth, so give it a try.

Room Tip: If you want a view you need a front-facing room. Rooms at the back face the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked into the Kames Hotel second week in February for a two night stay and received a good rate for a double room with sea view on a B&B basis. The room was very comfortable with a lovely view over the Kyles of Bute. Breakfast was very good which set us up for the day. We ate in the hotel too on both nights and can highly recommend the steak burger and chips. The staff were very helpful with any suggestions on walks and places to see in Tighnabruaich.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was one of the larger ones with sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Rooms fantastic, setting great, food brilliant.

Discovered the Kames Hotel earlier in the year, this was a returning visit. The rooms are affordably priced and neatly finished.

The staff are welcoming and friendly and the breakfast is of excellent quality and locally sourced.

On another note, the hotel is extremely dog friendly - probably the best we have encountered.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and have already booked another weekend away.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at the Kames hotel in October for a few days and liked it very much. I was very lucky with the weather, which adds to my positive impression - getting out of the hotel and having a great view over the Kyle of Bute towards the Isle was a great start every day. But the hotel itself was great as well: The room was very well kept, the service very good. The bar can be a bit crowded at times but I enjoyed the atmosphere. It was a good thing that you weren't surrounded by travellers only but also by locals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hans_G83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.7 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
481 reviews
3.1 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
713 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,542 reviews
22 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
15 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kames Hotel

Address: on the Shores of the Kyles of Bute, Tighnabruaich PA21 2AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range: $94 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kames Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character hotel right by the water in one of the most scenic spots in Scotland. The perfect place to unwind and relax and take in the breathtaking views. Eat our delicious home-cooked food, sample our local ales and collection of single malts and enjoy some local banter in our lively pub. A warm and traditional welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Kames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing