We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal in bar”
Review of The Kames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kames Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice meal in bar”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Enjoyed a nice bar meal during July visit. Decent value for money. Service was pretty good and nice atmosphere in bar. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area. Menu not huge but enough variety on display including fresh fish courses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    77
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
140
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Cowal Peninsula. What a place. On tourist maps, the Kames Hotel is advertised as promising a warm welcome. It also promised coffee and meals and the like. On 31st July 2013, we found this place, which is in a most scenic spot. The sun shone. The picnic tables were outside. It was just before midday- late morning coffee time, in fact. Through the door, I saw it, the coffee machine, ready to spring into action. But... the floor was being cleaned, so we did not go in; the staff were arguing loudly about who bore the responsibility for answering a mobile phone. I (on my heels, so that I did not dirty the floor), went in to ask whether we could trouble them for a coffee. No. They were not open. Maybe in 5 or 10 minutes, but not then. The complete absence of hospitality or thought or flexibility is absurd and a sorry disappointment when compared with its rivals and its beautiful surroundings.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband, the dog and I were looking for a place to lay our heads near Tighnabruaich for one night and we booked in to the Kames Hotel. We booked in to a family room, sea view, £45 per person B&B. Lovely room for the money, beautiful views. Bathroom very small but we were only there for one night so no big deal for us, powerful shower. Nice toiletries. We arrived lunch time-ish, check in was quick and pleasant, taken up to our room and offered help with our bags. Came down for lunch, my prawn cocktail starter was very substantial and lovely bread. My husband had a smoked fish starter with horseradish cream which was quite small. We ate outside in the sunshine, very pleasant, chatty and cheery service. Had dinner in the bar area as outside was full. Nice dinner, Good size portions. Varied menu. Good choice of specials. My husband has scallops and risotto, 9 or 10 scallops, very generous. Breakfast menu provided great choice, we went for the full Scottish which was very good, very pleasant service. Very nicely decorated restaurant. The only downsides for us was the room we were in was directly above the main door and patrons leaving the bar after having a few beers were rather noisy so we got to sleep at 1.30am and the duvets were 10.5 tog and when were were there the temperature was up at 28 degrees c, summer duvets would be a good idea BUT the staff are delightful, this hotel is great value in my opinion, we were made very welcome and an added bonus for us was the dog was welcomed with open arms. We will go again and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine-Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate in the hotel on two occasions last weekend and each time the food was lovely. Large, varied menu, good home cooked food and all served by friendly staff. The location is lovely with a view to the water from the front.I can recommend the fish and (homemade) chips - delicious, as was the pasta dish, the steak pie and the burger(there were 4 of us). I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went today sat 6 th July for tea n scones , lovely wee pub/ restrauant / hotel, parking not good , but very busy , not enough staff , prices for meals like rest of area a bit expensive , our scones were tiny but lovely n homemade . £3.50 a we but overpriced but a nice place n clean .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is the second time we've visited The Kames and once again we were'nt disappointed, the hotels spotless, looks over the sea to the Isle of Bute and is a friendly welcoming place to stay.
The owners are helpful, the bar friendly with a good choice of beers and spirits and you get a great breakfast to set you up for your days activities.
Better still we had previously cancelled a booking earlier in the year due to weather which was a discounted deal, the hotel transferred this to our new date at no additional cost or loss, how many would do that, do yourself a favour give the Kames a visit you'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook sea and Isle of Bute
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We've stayed at the Kames 3 times now, on the first occasion Shelley and Pat hosted a very intimate and beautiful wedding for us. So OK, we're a bit biased. On each occasion the food has been very good (check out the specials board), and the room very good too. The views from the front rooms and the dining room are stunning. Nothing is too much trouble, and the selection of malts is exceptional. If you're staying in the area, look no further. This hotel is brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.6 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
472 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
437 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
113 reviews
23.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kames Hotel

Property: The Kames Hotel
Address: on the Shores of the Kyles of Bute, Tighnabruaich PA21 2AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character hotel right by the water in one of the most scenic spots in Scotland. The perfect place to unwind and relax and take in the breathtaking views. Eat our delicious home-cooked food, sample our local ales and collection of single malts and enjoy some local banter in our lively pub. A warm and traditional welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing