We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, lovely food and views”
Review of The Kames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kames Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, lovely food and views”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We walked up with the dogs from our hotel in Tighnabruaich to have dinner. Everyone including the dogs was given a warm welcome. The locals were friendly and the food hearty. Views from the bar across the water were lovely as the sun went down. Highly recommend a visit if you are in the area. They also have outside seating for the warmer days that would afford you an even better view!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    77
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
139
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel provides a great all round package. The rooms are good, the location is fantastic and the steak and ale pie is the best you will get anywhere. Once you have had a stroll on the beach relax with real ales in the bar (or outside if it is warm enough) and choose from the menu which always has lots of choice from the specials board.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

(the bar)
Great location with nice views over the water.
A little cold in the bar area but dog friendly so suited us.
We had a couple of nice lunches from the bar menu.
Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJT_9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited the Kames Hotel on a groupon deal, having never been to Scotland before. After driving 8 hours to get there, we couldn't have been happier with the comfortable room, hot shower, friendly service, and delicious food!

Portions are impressive, prices are decent, and everyone was amazingly friendly and helpful.
Plenty of parking space too!

Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Kames Hotel is lovely. Big old fashioned type of property that has been done up in a nice style. We had a superior room, right at the top of the building that had the most wonderful views.

We have two dogs and they were definitely made welcome by the staff and guests. The dogs are welcome in the guest rooms and in the bar. There are some lovely walks near by and a short drive from the hotel takes you to a beach that is simply to die for.

The staff were great - lovely people who were warm and welcoming to us. Chatted about the area and gave us ideas for walks and trips to make.

The bar at night was lively and the local people were really friendly - the pub food was good quality and tasty.

You need a car to get around and some of the roads could be challenging but overall a great wee hotel that can't be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We Were pleased with a good warm welcome at this scenic hotel after a fairly gruelling drive there, which did seem to take forever!! The room we had was small, unfortunately I had not thought to ask for a loch view when booking as had every one else!!! Note to self next time!, and we will be back! Very comfortable bed and altho room small we coped!! The garden view would have been great had we not known what the other was like!!! Food was good although not much change to the specials whilst we were there over three nights, but again it was adequate. Only one gripe on the first evening, when we booked our table it was next to an extremely noisy girly party of four, and one particular lady was so raucous, we had to move! But that was not the hotels actual fault and others told us that she was well known for this...perhaps the management should explain to her that it does ruin other peoples evenings.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view when booking and be prepared to upgrade. There is not a swimming pool or fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

On arrival at Kames we were greeted by the owner very helpful, He gave us a upgrade to a sea view room at no extra charge just because it was queit at that time of year. breakfast was good full scottish, kippers, porridge plus all the cearels jams etc.the room was BIG and warm with a fab view. the pub well what can i say three bars in one Whiskey bar followed by the main bar then the pool bar, it is full of local people every night great atmosphere, food in the bar was fab all locally caught. will return to Kames sometime in the future.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet but ask for a sea view fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.6 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
465 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
425 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
109 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kames Hotel

Property: The Kames Hotel
Address: on the Shores of the Kyles of Bute, Tighnabruaich PA21 2AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character hotel right by the water in one of the most scenic spots in Scotland. The perfect place to unwind and relax and take in the breathtaking views. Eat our delicious home-cooked food, sample our local ales and collection of single malts and enjoy some local banter in our lively pub. A warm and traditional welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Kames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing